Why do people dislike Tipperary?

I've often wondered why other counties have (sometimes an unhealthy) hatred of Tipp is it to do with the border issue or something? Having said that whenever i'd go to a Tipp match, never really had any problem and was able to have the craic and banter with other fans. I know every county has its minority of troublemakers, but i've never had a reason why Tipp would be any worse than other counties.

moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 10/01/2011 15:18:31    843049

nonsense get out of your paranoid bubble

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 10/01/2011 15:26:59    843057

There's only one person I know who hates Tipp & he's from Limerick but only just - he's barely on the other side of the border and married to a Tipperary woman, so I assume it's a territorial thing

As far as I can see, Tipp have always enjoyed their victories to heart and taken their defeats on the chin and their fans are among the nicest I've ever met, the ceol agus craic with them is legendary, at least in my experience, long may it continue

I don't see any basis for your post at all

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 10/01/2011 15:53:55    843076

Do you feel a need to be hated? As for the border thing, it's couple of hundred Ks away and for most purposes it's non existant anymore.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/01/2011 16:12:44    843085

Does anyone hate Tipperary?

They have big rivalries with their neighbouring counties but that can be said about every county.

Have I missed something? Your post seems to assume that a lot of people hate yous? Are yous not very nice? Should I hate yous?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 10/01/2011 16:26:03    843098

Did they go around high 5'ing the air after every free or sideline cut again...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/01/2011 16:30:28    843101

Is this one of those things where you put out a rumour about yourself to get a bit of publicity cause it certainly looks that way, can't ever remember anyone hating Tipp.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/01/2011 16:54:16    843127

The original post was correct.

Arrogance. After the 1989 final I was in the pub with hundreds of Tipp fans, and they didn't even acknowledge that Antrim played hurling. Considering I was the ONLY person in that pub who had actually seen Tipp win FOUR all Ireland's, they couldn't grasp that either. Why would someone from outside Tipp, especially the north were they don't play the game, be going to watch the hurling final?

For years and years that arrogance was always to be found among their supporters and indeed mentors. Thurlesblue on these boards is not an isolated incident.

Tipp players and managers, different. Nicky English loved his trips to the North to play Queen's as a student and is a regular visitor to the north to offer advice and support. Babs as manager, I remember him at Casement encouraging the local youngsters to puck the ball around, and then tossing a number of sliotars to the kids to keep.

So alas maybe I meet the wrong supporters.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/01/2011 16:55:05    843129

patrique

843129 The original post was correct.

But do you HATE Tipp. Although our poster has never encountered it, he just assumes somebody hates Tipp, strange.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/01/2011 17:08:46    843148

Maybe people have short memories or maybe they are young, but Patrique is right. I can remember Tipperary being hated in Limerick going back 20 years ago. I went to school with Tipp lads. As soon as they beat Galway in 89 there was not a question that Antrim had a chance. There was talk of 3 in a row even. I could not stomach watching the game & went playing socer instead. Yes, I know that was heresy back then, but losing 7-4 in a soccer match was better than watching what unfolded in Croke Park.

In 1991 things were almost as bad. Again going into the game, Kilkenny had no chance. The fact that Tipp had massacred Limerick in Munster only served to make loads of Limerick folk where I live shout on the Cats. Tipp win and again the fans were talking about 3 in a row. I remember being in a pub in 1992 watching Cork defeat Tipp. Every single person in the pub was roaring Cork on. That's how I remember it back then. Some of the Tipperary fans back then were impossible to listen to. It was almost a relief to see them lose to Galway in the 93 semi and when Limerick beat them in 95 & 96 it was a great feeling to be keeping them down.

However, somewhere along the line it changed. Maybe the younger lads began attending more or what have you but I remember when the 2001 final came around very few Limerick people were begrudging them their victory. I think Nicky English also had a lot to do with it. He was totally different to the likes of Babs for example. Babs would talk down counties like Offaly, Limerick & Clare and only ever showed respect to Cork and Kilkenny. English built his team and took nothing for granted and a lot of the supporters bought into that.

Fast forward to the 2009 & 2010 finals and I think a lot of people were willing Tipp to victory. In the pub I watched the 2010 final in, 90% of the Limerick fans were shouting for Tipp. Personally I was just hoping for a great game, we got it and Tipp were deserving winners. People like Liam Sheedy & English as well as Ken Hogan are not the kind of men to disrespect the opposition. Supporters see that and appreciate the hard work.

You have to remember what happened in the 70's & 80's to understand why the harted was there. Tipp didn't win a championship game from 1973 to 1983. By 1987 Babs was talknig about 3 in a row on his way to the semi final. So I think he set the tone of arrogance and people resented that. Also, under Babs when Tipp played, winning was not enough, they had to destroy sides. It wasn't enough to just win they wanted to hammer everyone in sight. In contrast, under Sheedy, Tipp mauled Limerick in 2009 and you got the impression that they still had respect for us. Under Babs, Tipp only showd Limerick respect in 2007.

Tipp are a great hurling county, but they were hated, believe you me.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 10/01/2011 18:19:22    843273

Tipp fans do rub people up the wrong way, some of the abuse handed out to Davy fitz was unbelievable and it's wasn't just kids at it. That said most counties have some gobsh1te supporters, guess tipps are just louder than most

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 10/01/2011 18:43:47    843310

Maybe people have short memories or maybe they are young, but Patrique is right. I can remember Tipperary being hated in Limerick going back 20 years ago. I went to school with Tipp lads. As soon as they beat Galway in 89 there was not a question that Antrim had a chance. There was talk of 3 in a row even. I could not stomach watching the game & went playing socer instead. Yes, I know that was heresy back then, but losing 7-4 in a soccer match was better than watching what unfolded in Croke Park.

In 1991 things were almost as bad. Again going into the game, Kilkenny had no chance. The fact that Tipp had massacred Limerick in Munster only served to make loads of Limerick folk where I live shout on the Cats. Tipp win and again the fans were talking about 3 in a row. I remember being in a pub in 1992 watching Cork defeat Tipp. Every single person in the pub was roaring Cork on. That's how I remember it back then. Some of the Tipperary fans back then were impossible to listen to. It was almost a relief to see them lose to Galway in the 93 semi and when Limerick beat them in 95 & 96 it was a great feeling to be keeping them down.

However, somewhere along the line it changed. Maybe the younger lads began attending more or what have you but I remember when the 2001 final came around very few Limerick people were begrudging them their victory. I think Nicky English also had a lot to do with it. He was totally different to the likes of Babs for example. Babs would talk down counties like Offaly, Limerick & Clare and only ever showed respect to Cork and Kilkenny. English built his team and took nothing for granted and a lot of the supporters bought into that.

Fast forward to the 2009 & 2010 finals and I think a lot of people were willing Tipp to victory. In the pub I watched the 2010 final in, 90% of the Limerick fans were shouting for Tipp. Personally I was just hoping for a great game, we got it and Tipp were deserving winners. People like Liam Sheedy & English as well as Ken Hogan are not the kind of men to disrespect the opposition. Supporters see that and appreciate the hard work.

You have to remember what happened in the 70's & 80's to understand why the harted was there. Tipp didn't win a championship game from 1973 to 1983. By 1987 Babs was talknig about 3 in a row on his way to the semi final. So I think he set the tone of arrogance and people resented that. Also, under Babs when Tipp played, winning was not enough, they had to destroy sides. It wasn't enough to just win they wanted to hammer everyone in sight. In contrast, under Sheedy, Tipp mauled Limerick in 2009 and you got the impression that they still had respect for us. Under Babs, Tipp only showd Limerick respect in 2007.

Tipp are a great hurling county, but they were hated, believe you me.
--------------------------------------------------------
That's rubbish and typical of Limerick. I remember those Limerick matches in 95&96 and believe you me everything you say about Tipp above I saw in Limerivk 10 Fold.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 10/01/2011 19:15:44    843355

Amazingly Bobo is spot on but if, as dhorse asks, you need to be hated then just apply to Croker I'm sure they have a form.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 10/01/2011 20:32:01    843473

I remember a Limerick man telling me that he disliked Tipp. He said that if they could beat you by 100 points they would and never let up. I asked him what was wrong with that as it showed that they had a will to win and impress their selectors. He said that they did this so that they could rub it into you and slag afterwards about their margin of victory. He believed that when a game was well won the opposition should lay off !! I think Tipp have the right mentality !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/01/2011 20:55:08    843509

Tipp aren't half as bad as Mayo. And at least Tipp can win things.

farmer2 (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 10/01/2011 20:55:09    843510

In his book Sambo McNaughton was scathing of certain Tipp players after the 89 final. He said they arrogantly dismissed the Antrim players when the whistle went and brushed them away disdainfully. Many of the Tipp fans were the same and it hasn't been forgotten about in Antrim, there is quite a big dislike for them here though I would say Nicky English was very gracious. The Tipp players know who they are.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 10/01/2011 20:59:32    843516

10/01/2011 20:59:32
Ulsterman

In his book Sambo McNaughton was scathing of certain Tipp players after the 89 final. He said they arrogantly dismissed the Antrim players when the whistle went and brushed them away disdainfully. Many of the Tipp fans were the same

That is the point I was trying to make. If we had been from Kilkenny they might have been shouting at us and ribbing us, but no, we were ignored. Disdain is the correct word for it.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/01/2011 21:04:36    843520

Patrique, I watched the game in Rosslare harbour as me and a few mates were waiting on a ferry to France and can remember quite a few partitionist remarks in the bar about Antrim until one of the mates threw the biggest slabber out the door and he landed on his arse. The cousins were all at the game and they too said there were a few 'incidents' in and around Croker after the match with Tipp fans who were goading and laughing at Antrim. There is quite a bitterness about them in parts of Antrim to this day.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 10/01/2011 21:19:21    843538

As I said on another thread I couldn't care less who likes us or otherwise. I think the Tipp fans in the 60's were intolerable and the generations of Tipp fans since carry that legacy on their shoulders.

My attitude is that we have been in the doldrums for the best part of 40 years and with this has brought a new found humility to Tipp fans. I take nothing for granted in sport and I am just so grateful we won the all-ireland this year. For me stopping the five in a row never entered the equation it was all about us winning one.

Hurling is more important than Tipp but Tipp still contribute an awful lot to hurling and would be missed if they were gone.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/01/2011 21:26:15    843554

sambo you must be joking the pot and kettle come to mind

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 10/01/2011 21:35:56    843567