Red C poll President of the ROI

Norris is the favourite so far with 27%. Bertie Ahern has 12% and is said to have polled very well with the young people of Ireland. So much for the smart economy.

http://www.redcresearch.ie/documents/PaddyPower-PresidentPollReport-Jan2010.pdf

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/01/2011 13:21:58    842937

nobody has been nominated yet so it renders it pretty irrelevant

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/01/2011 14:57:47    843017

dhorse
County: Laois

nobody has been nominated yet so it renders it pretty irrelevant

Its pretty relevant. Its the pre nomination nomination poll for the presidency of the Republic of Ireland.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/01/2011 15:33:45    843062

I would vote for Norris for the simple reason that his election would be a kick in the teeth to the conservative church loving people of this country.
I cannot, however, see any way of him getting a nomination.

I am quite amazed/embarresed that 1 in 5 of SF supporters would vote for Bertie.
The fact that he polled 12% overall is quite worrying in relation to the mindset of the Irish voter.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 10/01/2011 16:13:46    843087

paddyogall

Its pretty relevant. Its the pre nomination nomination poll for the presidency of the Republic of Ireland.

OK. that's a new one on me. will any of the respondants to this survey have a say in nominations..
As the presidency itself is pretty irrelevant, the pre nomination nomination poll is somewhat less relevant to say the least.
Have FG anybody in line for it?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/01/2011 16:18:14    843090

Dr.Shephard
County: Leitrim

843087 I would vote for Norris for the simple reason that his election would be a kick in the teeth to the conservative church loving people of this country.
I cannot, however, see any way of him getting a nomination.

I am quite amazed/embarresed that 1 in 5 of SF supporters would vote for Bertie.
The fact that he polled 12% overall is quite worrying in relation to the mindset of the Irish voter.

I think bertie has no chance of being nominated, after the general election FF will be trying to get as far away as possible, a smokescreen of course, from the old guard, They will only be contesting it to fly the flag, possibly even trying for an agreed canditate. Micheal D might not be a shoe in if Norris could get on the paper.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/01/2011 16:30:24    843100

My faith in the Irish electorate is already at a very low ebb, but if Norris is elected president I will leave this country, ashamed to call myself an Irishman. The thought of him representing us abroad is nauseating, I despise everything about him and what he is, and what he stands for.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 10/01/2011 16:31:15    843102

Sergeant_Slash

843102 My faith in the Irish electorate is already at a very low ebb, but if Norris is elected president I will leave this country, ashamed to call myself an Irishman. The thought of him representing us abroad is nauseating, I despise everything about him and what he is, and what he stands for.

what is he?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/01/2011 16:36:54    843103

Sergeant_Slash

843102 My faith in the Irish electorate is already at a very low ebb, but if Norris is elected president I will leave this country, ashamed to call myself an Irishman. The thought of him representing us abroad is nauseating, I despise everything about him and what he is, and what he stands for.

What exactly do you despise him for?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 10/01/2011 16:41:11    843110

Just a point of order but is the official title not the President of Ireland? Maybe Paddy wants the joy it gives him to say 'run along' if someome from the 6 counites expresses an opinion.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 228 - 10/01/2011 16:49:37    843125

10/01/2011 16:31:15
Sergeant_Slash

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 10/01/2011 16:52:42    843126

Omar.d

843126 10/01/2011 16:31:15
Sergeant_Slash

Agreed, it would also potentially render any opinions on muslim intolerance somewhat hypocritical. Perhaps he simply stole his bun?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 10/01/2011 17:11:20    843150

My faith in the Irish electorate is already at a very low ebb, but if Norris is elected president I will leave this country, ashamed to call myself an Irishman. The thought of him representing us abroad is nauseating, I despise everything about him and what he is, and what he stands for.

Allow me to give my own opinion on what the Sergeant said, and lay out my reasons for opposing his nomination.

1. First of all, Norris is temperamentally unsuited to the role of President. The President's job is to represent Ireland, not himself or herself, not his or her party, not his or her politicial viewpoint. Can anyone here honestly say that David Norris, loud, opinionated, eccentric, argumentative, is suited to being an impartial ambassador for our republic? You can say what you like about Mary McAleese, but the woman has represented all of us, I say again, ALL of us, very well these past 14 years. With Norris, it would be about him, not the country, and not the office.

2. The man was born in Africa somewhere, the son of a British soldier, and an Irish Protestant. He speaks with a pronounced British accent, and clearly regards Elizabeth Windsor as his queen. Good for him. But his accent, opinions and identity is not that of the Irishman on the street. He's Trinity College, Anglicised to the core, and when he represents us abroad, what will foreign leaders think of him? Their first reaction will be very simple; why is an Englishman representing Ireland here?

3. I truly abhor the way he uses the media. I was at the Student Media Awards in 2009, and guess who walked in in front of me, and later gave a speech? David Norris. He's spent years building up his media contacts, so as to advance himself politically. His campaign thus far has consisted of him being invited on to every TV and radio show in the land to tell us why he would make a good president. Ah well, you say, sure that's what the media is for, isn't it? Well yes, but then why hasn't Fergus Finlay, Mairead McGuinness, Sean Kelly, Michael D. Higgins, Brian Crowley and John Bruton all been given similar exposure? The answer is that the media wants Norris to win, it's a media driven campaign, and I don't want my president selected by them. I want him or her selected by the public.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 10/01/2011 18:24:16    843282

Dr. Shephard

Why do you hate 'conservative church loving people' so much? Are the people who go to Mass on Sunday, who volunteer for St. Vincent De Paul, who raise money for the poor in Africa, all that bad?

You seem to have some issues if you vote for someone just to irritate someone else. What age are you, 15? 20? You need to let this bitterness go kid.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 10/01/2011 18:30:02    843293

All Im saying folks, is, as an ultra conservative, my political and social views differ a little from those of mr norris. Well, lets be honest, hes not exactly a bastion of right wing politics is he? Therefore I cant back anything he stands for.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 10/01/2011 18:30:27    843294

Seamus89
County: Kilkenny

Dr. Shephard

Why do you hate 'conservative church loving people' so much? Are the people who go to Mass on Sunday, who volunteer for St. Vincent De Paul, who raise money for the poor in Africa, all that bad?

You seem to have some issues if you vote for someone just to irritate someone else. What age are you, 15? 20? You need to let this bitterness go kid.

First off, I don't hate church loving consevative people. I just don't like their views and condescending nature. I know loads of them well who take the moral highground on everything. They think that the church is the highest power in the land.
I personally organised an event which raised almost E6,000 for the people of Haiti after the earthquake.
You don't have to be a conservative church loving person to raise or give money to charity.

As regards the presidency, I don't think it makes much difference who is elected as the role is mainly ceremonial and they have very little powers and are reluctant to use the few that they do. As I don't view it as particularly important, then I don't really have a criteria that I feel a candidate should meet in order to get my vote. So therefore I will vote for Norris, as president, will not be socially acceptable to those who in condescending manner tell us what is and isn't right.

By the way it is a good few years since I seen 20

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 10/01/2011 18:45:41    843314

Norris is on record as describing the Easter Rebels as terrorists. I don't think it appropriate he could preside over the centenary anniversary of the rebellion as Head of State.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1795 - 10/01/2011 18:48:06    843315

Artisan

When did he describe them as 'terrorists'? I know Eoghan Harris has described them as that, maybe you're mixing up the two senators? I'd like to know if Norris did call our patriot dead by that word, it will be another good thing to hurl at this subject of a foreign monarchy.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 10/01/2011 19:03:49    843326

Would not vote for Norris. He is grand as a senator but too much of a self promoter and too frivillous to be President for me.

I'd vote for Michael D. Higgins. He represents a lot of what I think is good about Ireland, his interest in the arts, his interest in sport and above all his campaigning for social justice. As a voter I would be slightly inclined towards Labour and Higgins would be my favourite Labour TD.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 10/01/2011 19:04:49    843329

Norris would make an excellent President, excellent knowledge of the law and politics. Always stood up for people who have no representation despite huge criticism from right wing religious types and ultra nationalists. Would never be afraid to promote Irish interests abroad unlike the usual kow-towing irish politicians

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 10/01/2011 19:05:41    843334