Bullets sent to Celtic manager and player!

Goodfella do you lack the ability to search for videos? You don't have to be computer literate I assure you, it's fairly easy. Here's even a clue for you, there's one site in particular that's fairly popular. Go have a look, there's a good boy. Breff I feel myself and Bad are playing the Devil's advocate to an extent. What football discussion is there on a thread where all the poster's simply criticise Rangers exactly? By challenging their views and giving examples where what they are saying could be applied to their own club that stimulates debate. As for Rangers not being criticised I had assumed you were joking. I can find numerous posts, from Ulsterman in particular, where he goes off on one about Scotland's most successful side. They aren't discussions, they are venomous hate-filled rants. Personally I find you offer nothing positive in discussions, your bland and cautious posts wouldn't be missed at all and add nothing of note. I would never have said that to you however because everyone is entitled to give their opinion whether you agree with it or not

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/01/2011 16:51:57    844101

Breffni39

844083 What positive about it then jimbo?

Well from a Admin side of things it's creating a bit of a buzz... plenty of talking… logging on to see a reply or if a post has got through...

Kind of like what we're doing... and well I'm guessing that's a good thing for an internet forum? Keeps the hits going up..

From my own side of things what I find positive on this site is just how enjoyably messed up it is... you can really get involved in silly gibberish...

And that's to be encouraged. It keeps the kids off the streets or at least that laneway beside Coppers…

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/01/2011 16:58:12    844110

PP your idea of interesting means offending, insulting or winding people up. I personnally don't find that interesting in the slightest. For me hoganstand is an outlet for discussion on GAA, Soccer and a few other subjects, not some sort of cyber-playground. I won't be apologising for attempting to contribute in a positive and constructive manner. You and your ilk simply take the easy way out by criticising everything and playing "hilarious" WUM games.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12408 - 11/01/2011 17:12:08    844131

Goodfella do you lack the ability to search for videos? You don't have to be computer literate I assure you, it's fairly easy. Here's even a clue for you, there's one site in particular that's fairly popular

Hilarious Pomeroy, is this from the guy who was 'unable' to hear the singing of a certain song on a video I recently posted of Rangers supporters!?

Anyways when I argue something I tend to try and back it up with facts and evidence that I can produce myself. You on the other hand are arguing something and are expecting others to find the evidence for you!!! That is classic.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 11/01/2011 17:15:06    844132

Well for whatever reason admin decided these videos aren't to be shown. Can I deduce from your post that in fact you were unable to go this site and find the video yourself? What step was it that stumped you? Truth is these videos are widely available to view but because they paint Lennon in a bad light you refuse to acknowledge them

'You and your ilk simply take the easy way out by criticising everything and playing "hilarious" WUM games'

I thought the problem was that I wouldn't hop on the bandwagon and criticise Rangers, which would have been easy to do. But yeah I disagree with you so I'm a Wum. I was waiting for that to rear its head, it's the easy way out of an argument for someone who can't debate further

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/01/2011 17:26:33    844150

PomeroyPlunkett

'You and your ilk simply take the easy way out by criticising everything and playing "hilarious" WUM games'

I thought the problem was that I wouldn't hop on the bandwagon and criticise Rangers, which would have been easy to do. But yeah I disagree with you so I'm a Wum. I was waiting for that to rear its head, it's the easy way out of an argument for someone who can't debate further

Thats not why I'm calling you a WUM. I'm well able to debate. I'm calling you a WUM for saying I'm agreeing with you when you know I'm not and several other things you are prone to like regularly going off-topic and regularly mentioning aspects of my personal life ie wumming - you can't deny it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12408 - 11/01/2011 17:36:36    844162

In essence we are agreeing with each other, we both recognise Celtic have fans throughout cities in Britain. Perhaps we may disagree on way they have those fans. As for the personal comments I would call it banter. People have made disparaging remarks about students to me and I laugh them off or respond with remarks about their chosen career. I don't take it personally as you clearly do, I see it as a bit of craic. I don't know you so how I can offend you is beyond me, perhaps you need to stop being so sensitive

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/01/2011 17:48:27    844175

RoverTin
The Master. That is an old story. At the time everyone was rightly outraged by the abuse this fella got. What is it about you Mayo posters? We all wish we were as enlightened as yourself paddy and ballboy. Unfortunatley we neandertahls can only look on in awe at such a fine, upstanding lecturing bunch.

I dont see the significance of it being old, it still happened didnt it? The age of the story isnt the issue is it? Are you saying that if we wait a month or two the guy who sent the bullets will be innocent? What sort of excuse is that? 'Oh that's old' so what!
As for 'us Mayo posters', I cant speak for the other guys you have mentioned but I am trying to get people on this thread to apply the same rules onto themselves that they so readily push onto others. If they wish to brand all unionists in this light then isnt it only fair we ourselves get the same treatment? The idea being pushed on here is that this is what all unionists are like, so, obviously, the link I posted must reflect what all of us are like.

Oh, and its 'neanderthals'

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 11/01/2011 19:42:27    844269

This is really sad lads. There was one or more" fools and idiots" but probably not more than three who were involved in this incident. It does not make all rangers and Unionists guilty. Truth is it is indeed very bad taste but probably harmless. If there was any real menace they would not be giving prior warning. And I have just realised I am also a fool and an Idiot because I couldnt care less about Celtic or Rangers. Why am I posting this?

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 11/01/2011 21:04:20    844346

derryman I agree, probably was one or two idiots and I dont think there was any real threat myself, good story for the media though. I hear Paddy McCourt was sent stuff too now, at least he wont feel left out!!

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 12/01/2011 09:10:44    844456

PomeroyPlunkett

844175 In essence we are agreeing with each other, we both recognise Celtic have fans throughout cities in Britain. Perhaps we may disagree on way they have those fans. As for the personal comments I would call it banter. People have made disparaging remarks about students to me and I laugh them off or respond with remarks about their chosen career. I don't take it personally as you clearly do, I see it as a bit of craic. I don't know you so how I can offend you is beyond me, perhaps you need to stop being so sensitive

I don't take it personally or get insulted. How can you think I'm too sensitive if you don't know me? My comments are in the context of you complaining about debating ability etc. You can't complain about it when you are guilty of it yourself. Thats all I'm saying.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12408 - 12/01/2011 10:29:16    844497

Who said that this is what all unionists are like ? I didn't see that mentioned anywhere in this. Just as there was a post when the player in Fermanagh got abuse, and rightly so, then someone else posted on this to debate the sending of bullets to players. Both are equally wrong. Yourself and others think that you are taking some sort of moral high ground by pointing out other things that happened. Thanks for correcting the spelling mistake. It's great that we have the super intelligent Mayo posters to keep us all right.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 228 - 12/01/2011 11:02:40    844512

Good post derryman,the great pity in my opinion is that the media highlight this nonsense and the halfwit or wits that sent these will be thinking that they have the power to influence decent people.

jackieblue (Antrim) - Posts: 521 - 12/01/2011 12:34:34    844615

So PP, yer man mc court was just sent one as well. In your wisdom of declaring who deserves it or asks for it, did mc court also deserve it??

One club is as bad as the other. Anyone who doesn't care about either and hates sectarianism should start supporting aberdeen to make a point. come on the dons!! If only aberdeen started playing hurling...

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 12/01/2011 13:49:46    844706

Sorry Breff but you seemed to take it personally when you practically begged myself and another poster to leave you alone. Anyway once again you've purposely dragged a discussion off on a tangent so let's just leave it. Hurlin in no way did McGinn and McCourt deserve to be sent bullets, they done absolutely nothing wrong. Lennon didn't either of course but in his case you reap what you sow

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 12/01/2011 15:33:34    844828

hurlinspuds

So PP, yer man mc court was just sent one as well. In your wisdom of declaring who deserves it or asks for it, did mc court also deserve it??

One club is as bad as the other. Anyone who doesn't care about either and hates sectarianism should start supporting aberdeen to make a point. come on the dons!! If only aberdeen started playing hurling...

why would anyone in Ireland want to follow the Aberdeen sheep shearers? If you are looking for a Scottish club to follow then it must be the harry rags. As the song goes "there's a famous Glasgow football team. We don't play in blue and we don't play in green"
No funny handshakes, no paranoia and most of all no sectarianism.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 12/01/2011 15:48:32    844843

'No funny handshakes, no paranoia and most of all no sectarianism.'

I could have sworn Partick Thistle had a song that ended in '**** your Pope and **** your Queen'. That's got to be classed as sectarian surely? And Thistle we all know you're a Celtic fan so please stop this pretence. I understand you are slightly ashamed of it and thus pretend to support another club but your posts speak volumes

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 12/01/2011 15:55:46    844848

PomeroyPlunkett

844828 Sorry Breff but you seemed to take it personally when you practically begged myself and another poster to leave you alone. Anyway once again you've purposely dragged a discussion off on a tangent so let's just leave it.

To be fair, ye were chasing me round threads with constant off-topic posts. It was kinda un-nerving to see someone get so worked up at the boring contributions of someone they didn't even know, and join up with someone else they didn't know as well. Very weird, but sure we'll move on.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12408 - 12/01/2011 15:58:14    844852

Now I was just thinking yesterday that PP has a bit of a point as no one could actually like Neil Lennon. Doesn't mean he should be threatened obviously but I could sort of understand where PP was coming from.

I said to myself sure no-one sent McCourt bullets. But some idiot has now ruined that theory.

Very sad behaviour from a dying breed.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/01/2011 20:55:18    845167

patrique

Did the fact that McGinn was sent bullets the same day as Lennon not already quash your theory ? Or did you find that "understandable" as well ?

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 12/01/2011 21:45:59    845237