Dublin's 6.30am training sessions...

Well lads, what do you make of them?

Great in some ways, innovative etc..

But you do wonder how management can justify it to their own families, for the love of the game and basic "expenses"?

Make u wonder.,.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 07/01/2011 10:40:46    841210

Are they doing it again this year? Tough going that!

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 07/01/2011 10:55:38    841223

Keaney did the right thing after hearing that time ...."emmmmmm i think i might stick with the hurling..."

gaamad1996 (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 07/01/2011 10:56:26    841225

Does 6.30 am even exist, don't think I have ever seen it!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 07/01/2011 10:58:22    841229

You have to admire the commitment of that, particularly for an amateur sport.

If they end up with an AI title, I'm sure the end will justify the means

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 07/01/2011 11:01:35    841234

Do they train evenings as well on top of that? If they do then I think it's a bit much.
I can see the advantages of doing it though. Working in Dublin you're up pretty early anyway, an hour or 2 earlier isn't going to make much difference. At least in the evenings you're free for family time/relaxation etc. I'd imagine it'd build good team spirit aswell provided every man was committed to it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9972 - 07/01/2011 11:02:26    841236

Lockjaw as far as im aware .. yes they do ..

Personally i think it shows unbelieveable commitment as one poster already said, they are a bunch of fellas who are determined to gain that experience in order to play in (and win) an all ireland final in the coming years , If they want to do this they certainly are instilling the right mentality into themselves .. the getting up early now may feel like a lot of hassle and hard work , but if they get their rewards in years to come and do win an al ireland , then it will all be worth it ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 07/01/2011 13:46:06    841377

I am sure the summer seems a long way off for them right now especially for those players who aren't gaurenteed to make the panel for the championship. Fair play to them boys who are just trying to avoid being cut for the league/championship campaigns.

I don't think they train every evening after a morning session but it still shows great commitment for boys who have full time jobs/education to get on with.

It's one of those things thats great about the GAA!

BigBallFan (Antrim) - Posts: 32 - 07/01/2011 14:22:34    841407

lads if they trained all night it wouldnt matter - as i have said for years dublin have one good player in brogan and the rest well lets just say it would be a compliment to call them average, i will lay the dubs as always on betfair and i will make a handy few grand as i have done for donkeys years :)

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 07/01/2011 15:33:47    841484

Fair play to them, it'll toughen them up on them cold mornings. Anyway, training is always better first thing in the morning when you've had little to eat, it means you use up any excess fat thats being stored in the body, paving the way to become fitter even quicker. Trust me, Gilroy knows what he's at.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 07/01/2011 15:55:07    841507

6.30 a.m. training sessions ???? Who wakes up the poor trainer ?? Thats an unearthly hour for amateurs to be training !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/01/2011 15:59:56    841518

old yellar

841210 Well lads, what do you make of them?

Great in some ways, innovative etc..

innovative ?? Loughnanes clare hurlers were doing the early morning thing 15 years ago.

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 07/01/2011 16:01:53    841522

hopefully it bears fruit come the business end of the year. Goes to show the commitment it takes to even think about getting to the highest level , players & management alike.

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 07/01/2011 16:09:03    841530

liathroidboy

841484 lads if they trained all night it wouldnt matter - as i have said for years dublin have one good player in brogan and the rest well lets just say it would be a compliment to call them average, i will lay the dubs as always on betfair and i will make a handy few grand as i have done for donkeys years :)

Ha-Ha… Very good BB.

I'm sure there's been some amount of cash made on the back of Mayo's failings… If I was you I'd stick closer to home BB

That's if you are interested in making money on the back of a team losing that is…

The might of Longford might strike again... you may also have to play Carlow in the 2011 Qualifiers… stick with Mayo Bro you should know that better than most!!

I mean for a born winner such as you to be afflicted with a… well… lets say "disappointing birthright" it must be hard going for such a man as yourself... you know a winner.

Stick with Mayo… It'll be a very fruitful year for you and your gambling's.

A far safer bet…

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 07/01/2011 16:14:40    841537

Cavan_Slasher; Gilroy and Whelan sleep in the bushes in Fairview Park!

DubsExileInNaas (Dublin) - Posts: 171 - 07/01/2011 16:15:58    841540

Mayo are training at 5:30 in the morning

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 07/01/2011 16:46:00    841577

Jimbodub I'd love if we knock ye out of Leinster. I'd also love if I won euromillions.

Hanley2 (Longford) - Posts: 420 - 07/01/2011 16:46:23    841578

Hanley2
County: Longford

841578 Jimbodub I'd love if we knock ye out of Leinster. I'd also love if I won euromillions.

Well man.. best of luck with both.

I mean that... and dont forget about little aul me when you're picking up your winnings. ;) It'll go a long way to making me feel better after the Longford defeat...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 07/01/2011 17:06:06    841606

iathroidboy

lads if they trained all night it wouldnt matter - as i have said for years dublin have one good player in brogan and the rest well lets just say it would be a compliment to call them average, i will lay the dubs as always on betfair and i will make a handy few grand as i have done for donkeys years :)

ARE U THAT STUPID THAT U ACTUALY BELIEVE THAT

if they only had 1 good player how do you figure brogan got the ball in a scoring position every time it is a gameplan if u have a guy good enough to take scores from inside forty five yards and on the form he was in most teams put two guys on him and couldnt stop him why not make him the guy who gets the scores,
there was a lot of guys doing the hard work out the field winning the dirty ball and turning over ball to get it inside to him
as for your laying i presume you only layed on winning the all ireland as along with kerry they lost the least amount of championship matches in the last decade

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/01/2011 17:11:40    841617

as for the early morning training its only for january and if they only train in the mornings its good thing as u have the rest of the day after work to yourself

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/01/2011 17:15:02    841625