Galvinised

This is getting far too much air time, he was getting paid for doing this and in my opinion its a ploy to get referees to be more lenient towards him

newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 05/01/2011 09:49:38    839931

Dellboypolecat

moomoo It was his actions on and off the field that brought the media about to be fair.

Thay has noting to do with what you just said....

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/01/2011 10:06:58    839936

Didn't see it and not sure I could bothered. I have very little interest in the personal lives of players. Does he actually talk much about football?

From what I'm reading and hearing about it, there is a lot of non-GAA stuff contained in it but to be fair thats prob cos he was suspended while it was being recorded so there was very little football, they had to put something in the documentary.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12453 - 05/01/2011 10:35:31    839947

Fair play pig.ignorant and kildare4sam...

He is absolutely a winner and a very determined man. Allow me say this - taking him on his merits as a footballer, if the majority of the/any population went to the lengths he goes to to succeed and constantly re-evaluate themselves to succeed again in any field, we would all be winners.

Mickey Harte: "if it ain't broke, break it and fix it again" - just what Galvin did when he saw that defender pull away from him in the sprint - pure professionalism.

Must comment on the fact that he is his own man, which is obviously extremely difficult for a county footballer in Kerry.

The man has goals and puts in the effort to succeed.

As a club footballer, I took a lot from it and would consider it very motivational as would a good few I spoke to about it - he's at a level above 99 percent of GAA footballers (club players as well, that is)

AND, to all you nay-sayers, perhaps a LITTLE too far with the skinny jeans all the time, but he knows his fashion and looks good. Classy dresser.

Don't be afraid to look good

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 05/01/2011 12:14:00    840011

heres an unseen clip of mister galvin on the late late

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cF30ocfHIU4

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/01/2011 13:08:20    840057

moomoo

839936 Dellboypolecat

moomoo It was his actions on and off the field that brought the media about to be fair.

Thay has noting to do with what you just said

It has something to do with it to be fair .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 05/01/2011 15:50:06    840198

Whats the big deal with coppers??

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 05/01/2011 16:09:50    840213

Very funny hill16no1man! Some people are taking it very serious!

spicer (Cavan) - Posts: 89 - 05/01/2011 16:21:05    840224

orlaith its full of coppers and country people so its well known by those visting dublin.

spicer cmon take a joke mate although its probably an improvement on the way he talks haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/01/2011 17:59:20    840296

That clip is like a corkman putting on a louth accent. My own accent is very similar to galvin's and it's nothing like that.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 05/01/2011 18:23:56    840326

Paul and most people on here talk about his so called radcial dress sense but where was he recorded shopping at????? TOPMAN!!!!!! nothing wrong with Topman but Topman is Commercial Road when it comes to Fashion and when he featured in the magazine, he was wearing clothes from TK Max, again nothing wrong with this but hardly a trendsetter and maybe he takes himself to seriously when it comes to his sense of fashion when he says it is a passion and he shops at Topman!!!! but on the football side, i have a new found respect for the guy, by far the most technically gifted player in the GAA and as a person, seems like someone I would get on with but Paul please, you are no Victoria Beckham when it comes to fashion!!!!!!!!!

ryanafl1983 (Derry) - Posts: 19 - 05/01/2011 20:48:55    840443

ryanafl1983
County: Derry

840443 Paul and most people on here talk about his so called radcial dress sense but where was he recorded shopping at????? TOPMAN!!!!!! nothing wrong with Topman but Topman is Commercial Road when it comes to Fashion and when he featured in the magazine, he was wearing clothes from TK Max, again nothing wrong with this but hardly a trendsetter and maybe he takes himself to seriously when it comes to his sense of fashion when he says it is a passion and he shops at Topman!!!! but on the football side, i have a new found respect for the guy, by far the most technically gifted player in the GAA and as a person, seems like someone I would get on with but Paul please, you are no Victoria Beckham when it comes to fashion!!!!!!!!!

I agree with most of that, but while he is undoubtedly one of the best players about, he is by no means "by far the most technically gifted player in the GAA", he's not even the most technically gifted player in the Kerry half-forward line.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12453 - 06/01/2011 10:26:35    840518

oh boy..can someone change the record...?...it's really sad to see people on here eulogising a guy, who's behaviour on the pitch has been petulant to say the least...it's obvious the guy is more concerned with himself than playing for a team...the media pandering to all his attempts at self-publicity...at least he resembles victoria beckham in that respect...brenda power had a very interesting article about him in last weeks sunday times...should check it out, and it would explain a lot of things around his behaviour...???...but listen cut the nonsense, and stop eulogising him...he cuts a fairly pathetic figure in truth

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 06/01/2011 11:41:50    840553

I wonder if this documentatry affected his performances? Was he playing up to the cameras when he fish-hooked Cadogan?

god (Westmeath) - Posts: 90 - 06/01/2011 12:47:46    840616

i think he just needed sometime time and wanted to catch a few trout down in waterville and was missing the fishing so used his clever fishing tactics on Cadogan....anyone in agreement?

gaamad1996 (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 06/01/2011 13:37:02    840647

I think the guy wants to carve out a media career. Best of luck to him on that score. He trains hard, he plays hard, and he deserves the same respect as any other inter-county player from any of the 32 counties.

What has always annoyed me is the whole conspiracy theory thing that goes on inside the heads of some people. There are now, and have been in the past, many Cork players who 'played on the edge.' When they are, or were, caught out whilst acting the bowsie, I didn't hear half as many people playing the victim card. Some players have consistent records of making trouble at county and club level. Such players will be caught out, and will serve suspensions. Those suspensions will be partly based on the players disciplinary record. That is as it should be, and Mr Galvin doesn't deserve any special favours in that regard.

Outside of the GAA disciplinary system, people will always encounter prejudice based on their own past actions. Gardai will watch repeat ofenders carefully, and whilst that scrutiny MAY be 'unfair,' it is a part of life and people need to learn how to deal with it like adults.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 06/01/2011 13:58:52    840669

Dellboypolecat

839900 hurlingfan101 Tyrone players where also singled out and did not see those starting up shows .

I never meant to imply that I was defending Galvin for going on tv about his suspensions.. Totally agree with you that there were others singled out for attention..

hurlingfan101 (Mayo) - Posts: 9 - 10/01/2011 19:05:17    843330

I think he's looking for more and more coverage, no wonder people start on him all the time. He looks for it all.

biffo1 (Cavan) - Posts: 148 - 10/01/2011 20:42:43    843484

you can say what ever you like about the man but at the end of the day everyone of us wouldn't mind him lining out for your county

safehands101 (Cavan) - Posts: 111 - 10/01/2011 20:49:23    843496

Oh no,, hes a great nifty footballer. I'm just trying to say that he looks for too much coverage from the media that another GAA player would look for.

biffo1 (Cavan) - Posts: 148 - 10/01/2011 21:03:33    843519