Speaking from a Down point of view the best Players are always going to get special attention on and off the field. i remember a few years back Benny the great getting very harsh treatment against Tyrone (no disrepect to Tyrone intended) in the first half in Omagh and when he was coming out for the 2nd half and was struck twice on his way to the full Forward line and when he got there mcmeniman was niggling at him too I will give you 1 guess who got booked? newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 30/12/2010 10:14:22 838007 Link 0 |
mikeoc brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/12/2010 10:17:01 838008 Link 0 |
What do you mean 2011 starts in 2 days? what being going on for the last 2 months, warming down??? allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 30/12/2010 10:56:11 838015 Link 0 |
paddywack09 rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 30/12/2010 13:15:52 838032 Link 0 |
I found the programme very interesting and it captured the complex character that is Paul Galvin. He has a very intriguing personality and he doesnt care what anybody thinks. I do not think he comes across that well on TV and definetly does not have the voice for radio. I would have liked to see what the Kerry players think of him however considering I imagine he is compleely different to them. There is no doubt of the quality of the player and the part where he stated he watched the 2007 AI final to find he could not keep up with the cork half back and that he worked on his flexibility to make sure that didnt happen again shows the sheer determination he has. Class player and the type of player the GAA needs if he could curb his temperment wothout disrupting his game. Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 30/12/2010 13:36:34 838041 Link 0 |
Is there going 2 be a repeat of this show at all. I missed it the other night and forgot 2 record it. 12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 30/12/2010 14:04:29 838054 Link 0 |
personally I'm not that interested in the whole celeb thing. Whether a player is a farmer or a fitter, married to a model or a layer(or both) is not, to me, that interesting. I really admire Galvin on the field and like the way he plays on the Edge, i would be more interested in a documentary that show why people on the disciplinary comittee get so het up about him and why they, in my view, seem to exagerate the seriousness of his offences. But It's good to give a player an outlet such as this even if it isn't everybodys cup of frapachino. ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 30/12/2010 14:28:02 838065 Link 0 |
he said regarding the sunday game panel who dont have all irelands that they should not be listened too. stupid comment. does that mean supporters arent allowed to comment and make judgement. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11697 - 30/12/2010 14:31:00 838069 Link 0 |
The gaa are biased against kerry so it's only fair i repay the favour. mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 30/12/2010 14:40:35 838076 Link 0 |
IF he said that, it may have been in relation to the holier than thou county man of your own yew, he could have said an awful lot worse, if indeed he said that at all. ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 30/12/2010 14:44:14 838078 Link 0 |
Do you have to have an all Ireland medal to know the game? And sure if you know the game well you would know what actions fall outside the rules of the game and know enough not to get caught at them. I have no sympathy for him I am afraid although I do believe him to be a brilliant player. derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 30/12/2010 16:18:10 838107 Link 0 |
yes his offenses warrent their punishments, but without doubt the sunday game highlighted Galvin too much, like what about the incident with dick clerkin throwin his hands in galvins face, at the end of the day no man shou;ld be allowed to do that to another player, but they do and get away with it, people can say what they want, but galvin probably is in the top 3 best players in the country no doubt about it, the man changes games single handidly, also he will be targeted next season, that is a guarentee and no doubt hel react, a defense mechanism as he stated himself, but you better believe he will be targeted again. LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 30/12/2010 17:06:00 838135 Link 0 |
come on he gets what he deserves if u lash out u get punished no point in blaming the sunday game panel just look at it this way if he didnt commit these incidents then they would have nothing to talk about him so if he wants people to treat him proparly he knows what he has to do concentrate on football. hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/12/2010 17:27:12 838145 Link 0 |
Great player but this is a guy who craves media attention, thought the programme was a little cringy to be honest. jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/12/2010 17:33:47 838150 Link 0 |
Weird stuff i have to say. By the by, did galvin not fishhook someone and stuff irrespective of what was done to him before hand? Take your punishment like a man. How did his school let him wear them jeans btw?? Do teachers not wear trousers, shirts and ties? Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 30/12/2010 17:46:04 838156 Link 0 |
Fine pair a bandy legs in them skinny jeans tho Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/12/2010 17:50:13 838159 Link 0 |
Met the man himself in town there a couple of weeks ago & i have to say that my thoughts on him changed completly!! would have always thought of him as a great footballer, have to say he's a sound man. he stood away from his friends that night & chatted to us for 10-15mins. on the show itself, watrched the 1st 10 mins or so from behind my hands as i was expecting a cringe fest but i really enjoyed it! fair play to him for wanting to do "something different" away from the teaching & if fashion is the way to go..then why sneer the man over it!!Fair play to the man. brianfantana (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 30/12/2010 18:23:40 838178 Link 0 |
Brolly once you are in the countryside the rules run away with themselves. Thought ya woulda known that by now Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 30/12/2010 18:48:51 838186 Link 0 |
In my opinion he is very camp. Hanley2 (Longford) - Posts: 420 - 30/12/2010 19:16:17 838196 Link 0 |
Have to agree that it is pretty absurd to criticise media intrusion into your private life during a documentary you agreed to make with rte cameras following you around for a year. If he didnt want to be in the media spotlight he shouldnt go on tv so much! bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4656 - 30/12/2010 20:24:09 838222 Link 0 |