Galvinised

Well, what did people think of the show?

Personally, I thought he came across very well. Never spoke ill about anyone, except maybe the "two or three lads on the Sunday Game who you could throw a blanket over." He also seemed like a very good teacher, it's a pity he left it, but good luck to him in his future career.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 29/12/2010 10:28:40    837847

Well I didn't the programme itself was very well made or told us a lot but I suppose there's a few things we can learn from it:

The media have been making repeated intrusions into GAA players' personal lives and we as GAA people and these players neighbours and supporters shouldn't support this in anyway by listening to or purchasing these publications
Paul Galvin is obviously somebody who feels he peforms his best when his back is against the wall.
Someone with 4 All-Ireland medals knows more about GAA than someone with one.

The fashion stuff will probably get a lot of the comments but to be honest I don't mind it at all. Irish people get their backs up when some lazy American movie makes some stereotyping movie about the country but it seems we don't have a problem about applying these same stereotypes to the GAA. With such a huge membership it's in fact the broadest church imaginable and if he wants to wear that stuff more power to him. It might help a few more people to re-assess the GAA to move on with the rest of us.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 29/12/2010 11:29:24    837855

Can't see it in UK, anyone any ideas on where else to watch it apart from Rte Player?
Youtube? Anyone recorded it?

To keep with the discussion, I was never a major fan of his, but I watched him on the Late Late and thought he came across well. Intelligent guy with good mindset and a philosophical view of the game. The fashion thing is made far too big a deal out of. It shouldn't even be worth a mention. I am glad he's not a bit worried about conforming to the usual GAA stereotype and confident enough to do his own thing.

Galvin Abú

gaagaablackshp (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 29/12/2010 11:40:14    837857

really enjoyed it was brilliant but i didn like the way the media were trying to ring his parents house that was just wrong i really think the media do blow him out of proportation my own opinion

Seandun (Louth) - Posts: 55 - 29/12/2010 11:57:41    837860

The man has won it all as regards the Football part of the documentary so who is entitled to pass comments on that. He talks the talk and walks the walk and is a very influential player that any county in Ireland would be delighted to have in the team/panel!

More power to the man and fair play to him for doing a documentary like that!After the coverage he has got by the media over the last few years no-one would blame him for giving them the fingers and telling them where to go!Its a step too far what the media were doing, calling parents,ringing him and texting him!He is entitled to live his life in privacy like everyone on this forum!Afterall the man is playing a sport he loves which as it happens is amatuer so why should he have to put up with the scrutiny that people like premiership players have to put up with?They get paid more in a week than most would earn in the year.I wouldnt thank them for their news bearing that in mind!Whereas Paul Galvin and the likes does it purely for the love of the game and the passion to represent the county!There should be legislation brought in top deal with issues like this and protect the private lives and prevent issues that amatuer players have to put up with after hearing pauls story.

As regards the fashion issues the man is entitled to do what he wants. Ive seen a lot stranger on the streets of London and no-one looks twice at them!(dyed hair,tranch coats,pierced all over,tattos everywhere and wearing boots that a jeep or tractor wouldnt be fit to pull)

Anyways thats my bit.All ill say now is Galvin ABU!!

aido24 (Mayo) - Posts: 32 - 29/12/2010 12:31:55    837867

Enjoyed it a lot actually, he's some athlete. Wouldn't be into his dress sense at all but each to his own. Interesting to see how a so-called amateur has to put up with a lot of crap & untruths from so-called professional journalists. He gave his hurling club Lixnaw a decent plug too!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 29/12/2010 13:12:01    837875

A great player ,any County would love a Galvin in there squad, only caught a short segment of the programme hope to catch the repeat or even on RTE player.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 29/12/2010 13:33:49    837878

Enjoyed bottom line is would you like him on your team.. Id say 10 outta 10 every time! Fashion thing bar the skinny jeans and bowties you would see alot of people wearing similar gear!

spicer (Cavan) - Posts: 89 - 29/12/2010 13:54:35    837885

It really goes to show what he has to put up with on and off the pitch. For the papers to be ringing his parents and his work to find things out about him is just wrong.

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 29/12/2010 14:29:57    837891

I think that Galvin has had it hard and he feels that the CCCC is out to target him. What he has done in not gettibg bogged down in it all has probably kept him in the game. Someone who was not as strong mentally would have retired. Keep it up Galvin and hope to see you against Down this year

Nanderson (Down) - Posts: 83 - 29/12/2010 15:48:49    837907

Brilliant show last night! Just shows you how much he is being tortured by the media, I was nearly crying watching it, Poor wee mammy and daddy of his. He was going on like he had a hard life the way he was talking though when he was pallfering the paths of New York! Poor Paul in NEW YORK watching the Munster final then going to hang out with Jay-Z awwwh! Anyways He has a quare dress sense, Did you see the jeans at training. God I must watch it again and again.. and again :)

Paul Galvin Abu :)

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 29/12/2010 15:59:27    837909

Great show, really enjoyed it.

LilySavage (Kildare) - Posts: 114 - 29/12/2010 16:11:52    837910

a great way to stop media intrusion in your life................get a team of cameras to follow your every move

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 29/12/2010 17:22:50    837922

Was a good show for sure gave a good insight to his life...Hes a great footballer though hes got a really bad temper
No gaa player should have to put up with any of that abuse at the end of the the day they are amateurs!

gaaman091 (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 29/12/2010 17:39:25    837927

I found it a great documentary. He was really honest and didn't trot out any of the usual cliches. I must admit though (and i'll probably get abuse for this) i found the part where he was watching the munster final in new york very sad and melancholy. Here you have the greatest footballer in the country missing out on one of the biggest games of the year and for what? What this guy has to put up with including constant provocation from cork players and booing from supporters is unbelieveable. The gaa dont realise the worth of this man.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 29/12/2010 18:47:33    837951

mikeoc

837951 I found it a great documentary. He was really honest and didn't trot out any of the usual cliches. I must admit though (and i'll probably get abuse for this) i found the part where he was watching the munster final in new york very sad and melancholy. Here you have the greatest footballer in the country missing out on one of the biggest games of the year and for what? What this guy has to put up with including constant provocation from cork players and booing from supporters is unbelieveable. The gaa dont realise the worth of this man.

Is this serious?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 29/12/2010 20:13:41    837966

Of course not loyal.

farmer2 (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 29/12/2010 20:49:30    837973

Thought it was a good show and I would be a fan of Galvin, think he is a great player. However, I felt he contradicted himself bigtime! In the programme, he talked about how annoyed he was that he was being in the papers all the time and that Jack O'Connor and the other Kerry players must be getting sick of all the media attention. What are people taking about now? This RTE documentary! I think he loves the attention and loves being the bad-boy of the GAA. Also felt that instead of being in New York watching the Munster Final, He should have been at the game, supporting the players who he feels he let down.

paddywack09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 150 - 30/12/2010 09:23:49    838000

I didnt see the show, but want to make a few points

- I cant stand the tabloid media and their intrusion on peoples lives after which they will probably write lies anyway. However people on here seem to suggest it is ok if you are a soccer player because you get paid loads, well it is not in my opinion. Amateur or professional sportsmen, we are all human beings and nobody deserves that sort of intrusion in their lives.

- If you are going to go around knocking books out of referees hands or attempting to eye gouge people you are probably going to get banned. Not because you are Paul Galvin, but becasue you commited the crime. I admit that the CCCC seem to decide on their actions based on the Sunday Game reaction which is a disgrace on behalf of the CCCC, but when you see the opinions of people on these boards it seems that the majority of the country takes their opinion from the Sunday Game also. Saying that if he didnt commit these fouls then he wouldnt get the bans, simple as. Added to that he seems to think he is the only one victimised, when there is a list of players/counties with the same genuine grievances. Just to note its not that he shouldnt have got bans, but others get away with things not highlighted on the sunday game.

- And finally, whats with this fashion thing? - Ive never seen him wear anything other than a Kerry Jersey.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 30/12/2010 09:51:09    838004

Derry_ledd
County: Derry

838004 I didnt see the show, but want to make a few points

- I cant stand the tabloid media and their intrusion on peoples lives after which they will probably write lies anyway. However people on here seem to suggest it is ok if you are a soccer player because you get paid loads, well it is not in my opinion. Amateur or professional sportsmen, we are all human beings and nobody deserves that sort of intrusion in their lives.

- If you are going to go around knocking books out of referees hands or attempting to eye gouge people you are probably going to get banned. Not because you are Paul Galvin, but becasue you commited the crime. I admit that the CCCC seem to decide on their actions based on the Sunday Game reaction which is a disgrace on behalf of the CCCC, but when you see the opinions of people on these boards it seems that the majority of the country takes their opinion from the Sunday Game also. Saying that if he didnt commit these fouls then he wouldnt get the bans, simple as. Added to that he seems to think he is the only one victimised, when there is a list of players/counties with the same genuine grievances. Just to note its not that he shouldnt have got bans, but others get away with things not highlighted on the sunday game.

- And finally, whats with this fashion thing? - Ive never seen him wear anything other than a Kerry Jersey.
-------------------------------
Took the words out of my mouth Derry ledd, what is this 'fashion thing' that everyone speaks of, does he like to wear ladies underwear or shell suits, whats the story, I'm intrigued?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/12/2010 10:13:22    838006