Darts World Championships

hope barney or king win it but more than likely it will be the cocky one

In fairness , I think someone who has won 15 world titles (contesting 16 of the last 17 finals) , 11 world matchplats , 9 world grand prixs , 3 grand slams , 5 premier leagues , 5 desert classics , 3 european championships , 4 uk opens , 4 us opens and the players championship , Along with another 97 smaller tournament wins , Along with some records like hitting the most televised 9 darters , hitting two 9 darters in the one game and scored world record average of 119 against kevin painter in the uk open has every single reason to be cocky going in to tournaments , against even the second best player in the world

He knows he is the best , Everyone on this planet knows he is the best , all you have to do is look at the honours he has won , so you can excuse him being cocky , and besides i dont believe in cockyness anyway , i believe its just having a ridiculous amount of confidence in your ability , being cocky is a very good frame of mind to be in when your playing a big game , once your professional enough to follow the cockyness up with a win .. something taylor 99% of the time does .. then i dont feel there is anything wrong :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 15/12/2010 11:48:23    833253

Would like to see Barney win it but i think Webster is a good bet.

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 15/12/2010 11:53:17    833257

Taylor is no more cocky than say Roger Federer. But when it is someone from the UK or Ireland it is deemed as cockiness, whereas it is deemed as confidence for sportstars from anywhere else. Fair play to Taylor, he's great to watch and has raised the standard of Darts no end, so i think he's entitled to be confident / pleased of what he has achieved.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 15/12/2010 12:06:00    833265

More to the point, good luck to Michael Mansell from Tyrone in his prelim match. If he wins then he'll play Van Der Vort.

Personally i think that King will get it, but one thing for sure is that this will be the most watchable PDC championship for years as there are so many that could win it due to Taylors "dip" in form!

As for the BDO, it's a lot more open than you think. Waites was R/u in the Grand Slam and went out in the Q/fs last year and i don't think he'll get past the semis, Martin Phillips is the winner of this for me!

thesilverfox (Tipperary) - Posts: 94 - 15/12/2010 12:26:31    833280

I find it hard to look past taylor and i wouldn't take a lot of notice of that loss to adrian lewis,the double start caught taylor out badly and lewis had 6 scoring darts on him in a lot of the legs. Lewis on top form is untouchable but he usually displays his best form in the early rounds. Simon Whitlock was outstanding last year but i doubt he'll repeat it,he played the best darts of his life in the run up to that final. Barney looks like he knows his best days are behind him,a few years ago barney vs taylor was the match but he's slipped well down the pecking order. As for challengers to taylor,james wade is the obvious choice,he has outstanding talent and the motivation is there to do it in the world championship. I dont know the draw,when's the earliest he can meet taylor?

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 15/12/2010 14:11:28    833330

Fairly predictable opening night, apart from Beaton losing. Taylor wasnt at his best, but its all about getting the job done in the early rounds.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 17/12/2010 20:26:56    834802

Stompe gone already !!

Big shocks in store this year methinks !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 17/12/2010 21:21:49    834842

Adrian Lewis should be backed.

whitegoodman (Tyrone) - Posts: 439 - 18/12/2010 10:56:28    834894

Tongo, that stompe prediction really payed off!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/12/2010 12:31:43    834924

Yeah i know! That's the beauty of sport.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 18/12/2010 15:21:55    834988

Stompe is a very erratic thrower not surprised about his exit, I was mightily impressed by Lewis last night did the job well, highlight was Jaws almost breaking his hand when smashing the dart board I doubt he will get past the next round .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 18/12/2010 16:36:36    835035

Phil Taylor all the way. Ted Hankey for BDO, however it makes me cringe every time i hear the BBC commentator say how good it is and that the crowd is so good, and how can they call the winner of this mickey mouse tournement a world champion ill never know.

77981301 (UK) - Posts: 79 - 18/12/2010 16:50:10    835045

I think its about time SKY used subtitles when Sid Waddell is commentating I don't understand a bloody word he say's! Hamilton v Smith must be the worst game of darts I ever seen

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 18/12/2010 20:31:39    835172

County: UK

Ted Hankey for BDO, however it makes me cringe every time i hear the BBC commentator say how good it is and that the crowd is so good, and how can they call the winner of this mickey mouse tournement a world champion ill never know.
----------------------------------------------------------

That comment makes me cringe to be honest! The BDO World Championships are the original World Championships and have more right to call their Champions World Champions than the breakaway PDC. The BDO players are mostly part time and they can more than hold their own against the PDC boys, (remember Scott Waites?) and while about 8 years ago the standard difference was massive but not now.

There are a lot of players in the PDC, and from what i have seen a lot of players that would struggle in the BDO to be honest! The simple fact that no one has won the PDC World Championships without winning the BDO World title first shows you that it is not a "mickey mouse" tournament.......any more! How many different winners have their been in the PDC and BDO since the split in 1993/94? The answer will tell you which Championship is actually exciting due to the fact that more players can win in!

Saying that, this years PDC Championships are the most open since the split, i could name you 7 players that could win it with Wayne Jones and Mervyn King being my favourites however i am really impressed with how Mark Webster is playing now!

thesilverfox (Tipperary) - Posts: 94 - 19/12/2010 13:20:56    835286

fortyfive

I think its about time SKY used subtitles when Sid Waddell is commentating I don't understand a bloody word he say's!
----------------------------------------------------------------

Agreed, i think he's the most over-rated commentator in the world of sports commentry! I can only catch every 4th word, my mothers a Geordie and she can't understand him either!!!

I think he plays up to all the hype and is a far cry from the good commentator he was in the past, listen to him here commentating on the first ever World Darts Final that Leighton Rees won -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fbEe-82d7o

Well????

thesilverfox (Tipperary) - Posts: 94 - 19/12/2010 13:26:42    835288

Can't believe that was sid.
I think he's good craic,
"he's about as predictable as a wasp on speed."

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 19/12/2010 13:34:48    835290

keep an eye on mark walsh and nigel heydon

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 19/12/2010 13:51:55    835294

The BDO have four or fiev decent players, who could certainly mix it in the PDC. I think Adams, Waites and O'Shea would be top ten players, Hankey and Fitton would be top 30, but neither are consistent enough. And Hankey couldnt handle the crowds. The fact that Anderson and Webster, a former BDO world number one and former BDO world champ, havent really hit the big time in the PDC shows it isnt the cakewalk people think it is. There is certainly greater strength in depth in the PDC. People like Adams seem to be doing their level best to prevent the sport being united though.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 19/12/2010 17:13:07    835366

Yes taylor is cocky when he goades his fellow pros to practice, practice,practice,practice and practice some more and it still wont be good enough to beat him well thats just being disrespectful to your fellow players ive never heard federer being so disrespectful to his fellow pros so to compare the 2 is ridiculous and i dont care what country the guy is from, the fella IS the best player in the world we all know that, he doesnt have to tell us every time there is a camera around

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 19/12/2010 18:23:43    835391

Look the Pdc is far better than the BDO. Since the split the following players have won the BDO,John Part, Richie Burnett, Steve Beaton, Les Wallace, Barney, Ted Hankey, John Walton, Tony David, Andy Fordham, Jelle Klaasen, Martin Adams and Mark Webster. 7 of those players moved to the PDC, and with the exception of John Part and Barney none have come close to winning the PDC world title. Others to move include SImon Whitlock , Gary Anderson, Mervin King, Co Stompe Ronnie Baxter, Kevin Painter and the list goes on. WHy did they all move? Maybe it is because it is a badly run organisation with a poor standard of players. Only for the Pdc darts would be on the TV once a year.

77981301 (UK) - Posts: 79 - 19/12/2010 18:41:59    835401