Will they strike over this???? http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/on-the-brink-of-devastation-2439290.html" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/on-the-brink-of-devastation-2439290.html .......................... By Eamonn Sweeney Sunday November 28 2010
'Five potential players are in Australia, two in Canada and one each in Scotland and Spain. In addition, eight have lost jobs since the downturn. Three remain unemployed. One has returned to full-time education and the remaining four are working in family farming, a family-owned pub and a family-run car repair business. No doubt the rewards are much reduced from their previous employment.
"Nearly all our players would have had their earnings greatly reduced since the downturn. Five of this year's panel are involved in the building industry. They could well have had their earnings halved. Four are farming. They all held full- or part-time off-farm jobs during the boom. Last Christmas Day, a party of 32 had dinner together in the Gold Coast in Queensland, Australia. Eight of them were potential Kilmacabea players (three have since returned home). In the past, trips Down Under lasted a maximum of a year. Now it tends to last a minimum of two and in some cases seems to become permanent.
"Fund raising has become much more daunting. For years it yielded a steady income of about €25,000. Last year it dropped to €18,000. This year it will not exceed €12,000. Our club was badly hit by emigration in the 1980s. One year early in the decade there were only two players in their 20s playing with the club. In that decade financial demands on the club were much less than they are now. We did not have any grounds of our own. We were tenants in a community-owned field. Even in the early '90s £3,000 ran the club for the year. Now we need about €30,000 a year. About half of this is a loan repayment as a result of buying out the field and upgrading it and building a new clubhouse. Secretary Kilmacabea GAA Club
"We have lost two players to emigration to date. Our greatest fear is the number of players completing college who will have little prospect of jobs. I can see eight at present who will probably have to leave this country to get work. If they go, we will not be able to field a second adult team in football or hurling. Fundraising is taking a big hit at present. Secretary St James GAA Club
"I have always doubted the ability of a lot of the really small clubs in West Cork to survive another 1980s-style recession. Small rural clubs are going to be hit really hard if this continues. We may lose all our college graduates if this depression continues. We are down about three players due to emigration so far.
"We ran a golf classic this year and were down 15 teams from our last classic two years ago with businesses just gone to the wall. This was our main fundraiser for the year and we found the conditions extremely challenging." Secretary, Bandon GAA Club
"A little over a third of our adult players are third-level students and these young men face uncertain times as to whether they will gain employment in this country once they graduate. One is fearful of what will become of the current graduates once they qualify and there is possibly less opportunity in the trade/farming/fishing sectors than there was in the '80s. Secretary Ilen Rovers GAA Club
"We have lost three players who have emigrated over the last 12 months to the UK, Canada and Australia and are likely to lose more in the coming 12 to 18 months. Unlike the 1980s, there are less opportunities elsewhere which is keeping people around presently. The recession has also affected our club because in recent times young people do not have the same enthusiasm to play games as they did before. Fundraising has become much more difficult." Secretary Ballinascarthy GAA Club
wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1736 - 28/11/2010 12:00:12
Did you read the entire article? I believe Eamon Sweeney lives in Cork so this why West Cork clubs were contacted. The piece itself is more about politics than sport but I don't think anyone would question the effect emigration is going to have on the GAA as well as plenty of other things and really I have to say I'm not in the mood to joke about it.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/11/2010 12:51:52
who said anything bout joking? If they shout strike over how they wear their socks..anythings possible down there
wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1736 - 28/11/2010 13:01:16
well perhaps the cork lads moan a lot but its usually for the betterment of the county .. cavans best club players dont even want to play for their county,, i wonder are you still bitter from the hammering ye got in the park? yes were moaners but moaners with league and ai medals in back pockets
booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 28/11/2010 18:56:32
so you admit it..yer a pack of whingers..
wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1736 - 29/11/2010 09:50:29
There were 50,000 people on the streets of Dublin on Saturday; "whinging". I could be wrong but I don't think they were all from Cork. This article is indicative of what is happening everywhere. It is a desperately sad situation that we are ALL in. To start a thread like this is infantile at best.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/11/2010 11:04:59
Sure aren't the Cavan ones always whinging about having to spend a few euros miserable so and so's....
nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 29/11/2010 11:23:34
well perhaps the cork lads moan a lot but its usually for the betterment of the county
Sorry boss the two strikes were for all about cork how were they for the betterment of the country.... if anything they threw the league into tormile for 2 years and gave the gaa bad press.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/11/2010 11:36:17
By bad I misread.... "betterment of the county"
I thought that was the betterment of the country..... fair enough do it for the betterment of the country but don't be annoying the rest of the country with the moaninf stuck in the media every chance they get...... hopefully things have changed some players have started to blame the manager already again hopefully they all don't row in behind them.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/11/2010 11:45:46
Hag, we do what we do down here for the betterment of Cork GAA. We'd be more than happy to keep it within the county bounds but the national press are always interested in what we're up to. This ain't our fault, we just happen to be THE most sucessful GAA county in Ireland, box office baby. Some people will always be jealous of us, but we'll deal with it and keep plugging away, picking up All Irelands here and there.
As for the Sweeney article, one of his better ones, and indicative of what's happening countrywide.
dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 29/11/2010 12:01:01
BY God 'tis Cold out today! I wish it wasn't so cold. I'd say it's Frank Murphy or Donal Ogs fault!
Why aren't keyboard's arranged in a more logical way? Why is the shift key so small? I'm going to write a letter to Dell about it.
Why are the national media obsessed with Cork? Is it because we win so many AI's? Sure with our population (and that appearantly well known formula that irrefutably equates population with success) we should be winning more. We would be if it wasn't for Murphy/Donal Og (delete as appropriate to your own specific simplistic bias)
Why is the sky blue? 'Twould be a lot nicer if it were purple!
Why can't I be from Cavan? Cavan people never moan. I'm surrounded by moaners down here. I think I should start a thread moaning about moaners!
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 29/11/2010 13:24:33
Great to see not a mention of the T word so far!
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 29/11/2010 13:26:11
Don't start me on the T word!
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 29/11/2010 14:33:41
nacellsbeaga,
At the minute the whole country is complaining about the lack of ability of a certain Offaly man !! Yes we are all complaining and whinging about him !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/11/2010 14:53:19
Culchie County: Cork Posts: 368
Why can't I be from Cavan?
A question everyone has asked themselves at some stage in their lives. We can't all be from Cavan!
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12451 - 29/11/2010 15:06:00
Breffini, We can't all be from Cavan, 'cause you guys wouldn't share the oxegen:)
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 30/11/2010 12:49:08
Culchie County: Cork Posts: 370
825076 Breffini, We can't all be from Cavan, 'cause you guys wouldn't share the oxegen:) ................................................. nah, it's cause we wouldn't want people with the worst most annoying accent ever around
wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1736 - 30/11/2010 13:04:21
Breffini, We can't all be from Cavan, 'cause you guys wouldn't share the oxegen:)
Culchie, I believe oxegen is in county kildare so is not up to cavan people to share it. Perhaps you meant OXYGEN, the gas necessary for our existence??? ;)
frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 30/11/2010 13:51:20
Frank, Perhaps I should learn how to spell? However, as wishfulthinking says, we haven't quite mastered spoken English yet, so how could we be expected to spell in English?
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 30/11/2010 14:35:50
Culchie County: Cork Posts: 371
825189 Frank, Perhaps I should learn how to spell? However, as wishfulthinking says, we haven't quite mastered spoken English yet, so how could we be expected to spell in English? ............................................ i fear you are mis quoting me here..i never said any such thing, just said that yer accents are dreadful
wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1736 - 30/11/2010 14:51:12