Cork - always have to have something to moan about

The thing about Cork is that we have both our hurlers and footballers constantly in the spotlight or at least always in contention each year for the big titles so you are bound to hear more about us than say a team such as Cavan, who lets face it not many people are going to give a moments taught about. We have our issues from time to time, so do Limerick Waterford and Clare and many others but because its Cork it will get more air time. I mean this topic is not isolated to Cork, in fact other counties suffer from it much more than us so why would Cork go on strike over it??? stupid post really so go on and get your own house in order.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 30/11/2010 15:09:00    825219

Stupid thread.

Grow up, the lot of you

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 01/12/2010 12:23:26    825735

"Hag, we do what we do down here for the betterment of Cork GAA. We'd be more than happy to keep it within the county bounds but the national press are always interested in what we're up to"

Ahh well maybe if they didn't go running to the national press at the drop of a hat airing their greviences they wouldn't be in the press so much.... but we know with Tom Humphries being such good buddies with a few on the panel that's not going to happen.

Have any of them ever heard of the two words "NO COMMENT"!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 01/12/2010 12:48:37    825751

Cork - Biggest bunch of whingers this country has ever seen. Just take the cork Hurling panel and Roy Keane for example!!!!!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 01/12/2010 13:35:02    825771

Hag, I don't think you've ever fully understood the interaction between players and media. 'Cause that's what it is. It's not a one way street.

If a topic interests the media, they will ask questions. If the answer is 'no comment' then that's what they'll print/air. If answers continue along that vein, a sub story will be created around the lack of comment. Indeed there are some very clear examples of that very process in the political media as I write. Either way they will continue to feature it for as long as their audience, and not the participants in the story itself, remain interested. If one is a central participant in a story, one may quite understandably, and perhaps justifiably, want to put ones own side accross.

In some ways you're putting the cart before the horse. Ask yourself this question: 'If the media weren't already interested, would the Cork players have the chance to say no comment?'

You or I could run to the media with as many stories or comments as we wanted. They'd seldom be published 'cause nobody cares what we think about anything! that's why we're confined to boards like this one, and why I'm so chuffed when somebody else is actually remotely interested in what I'm writing!

I know that constant publicity for any group will 'cause annoyance among other groups, but try to be fair, and it might annoy you less.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 01/12/2010 14:05:43    825789

This is a ridiculous thread, wishfulthinkin, clearly misunderstood the content and the point Eamon Sweeney was making in his article and its just descending into more Cork bashing by people with little else to discuss or offer!

happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 01/12/2010 15:35:42    825865

Look at all the Cork ones whinging and moaning about this thread ;)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 01/12/2010 15:42:53    825874

In fairness to them Breffni its second nature to moan for the Cork lads. Its just part of who they are really. I guess you could say its part of their culture. Im sure most of the cork lads will agree. So less of the Cork bashing folks

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 01/12/2010 16:52:30    825938

Culchie:

That's pretty much what the limerick players said this year they didn't launch personal attacks on the manager to the extent that cork players did and remember they were the first one's to get the media involved.

When the likes of eoin kelly and cummins were questioned about their relationship with babs when he was manager they declinced to say anything and that basically said where they were.... sometimes silence speaks volumes.... a case were if they've nothing good to say don't say anything at all.

The cork players even went to the media before going to their own clubs and delegates am i right in saying that??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 01/12/2010 17:46:26    825991

Way off topic, cork hurlers and roy keane make up about 30 people out of 420,000 people, hardly a big proportion of whingers! The point made by Sweeney is vaild as I'm sure it would be in any part of the country, smaller rural clubs are going to be hit much harder by the recession that urban areas

anihel (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 01/12/2010 18:10:51    826007

"The cork players even went to the media before going to their own clubs and delegates am i right in saying that??"

Hag, that was one of the core issues! Many of the club delegates including my own clubs delegate were part of the gang and they were all in cahoots with each other and did not always have the clubs interests at heart. They often made their own decisions without ever consulting any club members. Also many of the clubs under the old system (pre-strike) had no say so not much point in going to them!! Basically they had a bit of a dictatorship going on at the top table. No harm to highlight what was going on!
I know you seem to hate players saying anything to the media and you have often said that they should do their talking on the pitch but then again how would that do anything to promote the game and also how would you know anything about what is really going on behind the scenes. You of all posters seem to read the most about our players, do you not enjoy it?

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 01/12/2010 18:55:16    826049

tj09:

Just that if there was a fellow down the road from me who wasn't representing me or my club he'd be the forst person and rational person would go to and if he wasn't representing the club then he's have to be ousted.... if all the players did that with their delegates then that would be the answear but no that was the final option they choose the media route first and effected the way the national league was run weakened teams for the first few games and when they decided they's enough of striking all piled back how is that fair to other teams in the league...... pull out of competions until they had their act together and sort it out without the media circus.... I take it then your more than happy with the way things panned out in cork and the way the players handled it and it seems ill-feeling is still runbling on to a degree it's a bloody joke at this stage.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/12/2010 11:33:18    826300

Hag, To be honest, as a Cork GAA member, it's getting increasingly difficult not to be insulted by some of your posts.

You're entitled to make your point, but you seem to continue to make the same one over and over, without ever addressing a fundamental question that I have raised with you on several occassions.

You seem to think that players can go back to their clubs and get the clubs to change their minds at the drop of a hat. I will try, once again, to expalian why that isn't/wasn't the case. Our club delegate has been involved with the county board for at least 30-40 years. He has given enormous service to our club and is among our most respected of members. Through many years of involvement with various senior exec members, and serving on the exec himself, he has naturally built up a friendship with many of Cork GAA's senior board members. He was never going to disagree with his friends. And, as a club, we were never going to disagree with such a respected member. It was only when the players forced the issue, that our club voted, and decided that we would back them. Had they not forced the issue (as appears to have happened in Limerick) our club would never have risked isolating a respected member and the discontent would have rumbled on without resolution.

Should our club have voted the minute we knew there were problems and given our delegate an official position? Of course we should have. But we thought the problem might go away, and we wouldn't have had to risk a farctious disagreement. It seems that we were one of, literally hundreds of GAA clubs, who adopted that approach. Not ideal, very messy, but very human, very natural, and very normal...................outside of that obvious palace of GAA perfection that is Tipperary.

You also forget that Cork is a huge county with an enormous number of clubs, many of who have no interest in hurling, and many of whom were not represented on CCB. How exactly was a player like Tom Kenny supposed to get his club to carry a message of defiance back to CCB? He would first have to persude Grenagh (where he might encounter a situation akin to that of our own club, except with a Muskerry Rep) and they would then have to persuade the other 20 odd clubs in the Muskery Division to impose a position on their Muskerry Reps.

You seem to persist with the idea that the democratic structures of the GAA run like clockwork, and are the only reasonable method for resolving disputes. You may persist with that delusion if you insist, however if the world were to share in your deference to such rigid procedures, nothing would ever change, either for better or for worse.

There is absolutely no need for you, or anybody else, to inform us of the error of our ways, particularly when you do with such marked condescension and lack of empathy. Cork GAA has exceled without your input, and it will continue to excel. Last year, many of the players you continually berate, dis their talking on the Pairc Ui Chaoimh sod. I have no doubt that you approved. I hope your approval will also be forthcoming when they arrive in Thurles for a little chat. And they will arrive in Thurles, unlike many Tipperary teams who were afraid to play in Cork!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 02/12/2010 14:00:26    826449

Culchie:

I understand all that but the means were in place to sort all this out delegates were always there granted you say that Murphy had a controling influence on them but it tooks 2 strikes and months of media slagging to finally get the clubs involved this should have been done at day one if the clubs were not looking after the needs of their players threw the delegates why were the players still representing their clubs..... I know well what frank murphy is like and he could not be ousted but there were structures in place to counter act this yet the players did not use them.

There is a club chairman and secrectary etc. right well how's about a phone call to them.

I do not what so-ever say they run like clock-work but when the first route seems to be throught the media that is my problem with it, use the structures first and then go to the media.... seems a hissy fit was called when they were outvoted in the re-selection of McCarthy (which players should be on in the first place).

"Cork GAA has exceled without your input, and it will continue to excel. Last year, many of the players you continually berate, dis their talking on the Pairc Ui Chaoimh sod."

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/12/2010 14:27:39    826470

Culchie

"Cork GAA has exceled without your input, and it will continue to excel. Last year, many of the players you continually berate, dis their talking on the Pairc Ui Chaoimh sod."

I do not berate any of the hurlers as hurlers i don't know if you read about my encounter with an antrim lad at the match who was supporting cork, we crossed paths again after on this forum..... You continually goaded all the tipperary fans around him every time sean og cleared the ball "Finished not is he".... well leaving the game after shaking the hand of his mates and the cork people around me I enformed him that no tipperary hurling supporters ever questioned sean og as a hurler and he was reading too many papers....

As a hurler sean og is fantastic and could still play a part in the cork team i do not think it was ability he was dropped...... tell me what players i berate for how they hurl most of my arguement has to do with off field actions.... hurling wise i said i don't rate aiske and donal og is not the best shot stopper around.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/12/2010 14:33:35    826476

Culchie:

Sorry one final point is my arguement had to do with Cork hurling it would be very short and filled with respect that's my point it the off pitch stuff that my problem is with so in fairness there's no need for the last bit of your post there.

"Last year, many of the players you continually berate, dis their talking on the Pairc Ui Chaoimh sod. I have no doubt that you approved. I hope your approval will also be forthcoming when they arrive in Thurles for a little chat. And they will arrive in Thurles, unlike many Tipperary teams who were afraid to play in Cork!"

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/12/2010 14:37:35    826481

Well hag yes I do think they have improved things for Cork GAA. Certain people now know they cannot just dictate as they will and things are done more democratically now, also some lap dogs have been ousted since. The media interaction ensured we all knew what was going on, this i feel was needed. We may not have known the full extent of the issues without the players going to the media, they laid it all out in the open for all to see and decide for themselves. As a paying member of Cork GAA I like to know how all our money is being spent and how our decision makers are performing. I suppose you prefer to be oblivious to this and live in your own world.
The media can help to bring out the truth, Shane Ross did well to expose the FAS scandal to us all, they had been doing it for years without anybody saying a word to them, it took it going public before anything was done. But maybe your keep your mouth shut and put up with it can work for you. I wanna know anyway what is going on, really going on. I don't understand however how it got so much media attention and I get why people got so sick of the fiasco but the attitude some have about the whole thing is just wrong.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 02/12/2010 15:16:40    826506

The media interaction ensured we all knew what was going on, this i feel was needed.

As a member of a club you get a chance to air grievences at AGM's etc. was there many agm or egm's in the 2 years that strikes went on it was only after a few months worth of media slagging etc. that the clubs finally got involved..... I'm not pro-murphy at all i'd be anti-murphy if anything even if he was one of the reason's we won the munster in 87.

I'm not anti players either I'm anti the whole way the thing was handled, I could not understand why the players were playing for their clubs when the clubs delegates or the club weren't representing them on the county board and to say they were afraid of frank murphy just dosen't was with me..... It's not bloody scandal in cork everyone bar the dog on the street knows how Frank murphy operates how he's been there nearly since Jesus was a baby and my view is if the players are to call him up on it use the channels that are there and if they can't use them therein lies half the problem and blame lies on the clubs door..... it seems to me that the media was the first choice in using McCarthy as a pawn in trying to get to murphy....

I'll always have respect for cork hurling on the pitch and it's great history but the last few years have done ye no favours

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/12/2010 17:32:06    826645

Cork have every right tp protest and more luck to them. The few Cavan posters who have had a go at Cork are idiots with little to be going on with and are certainly not representative. They have succeeded in only drawing negative Stereotypical remarks against our own county with their ill informed remarks. Slagging is one thing but trying to smear an entire county is another thing and as you will see the offally poster took the bait and lobbed in some predjudical remarks of his own.

potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 02/12/2010 17:40:29    826655

potnorwindow:

Protest all they want they have good reason to but my arguement is they way they handled it! Do you not agree it could have been handled better by the protesters rather than turning it into the media circus it was...... seems the first option was to go to the media.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/12/2010 18:01:25    826677