Doherty wins Donegal!

PomeroyPlunkett

826303 'Seanieboy you're comments about standing by friends who murdered Gardai are shameful. Get a grip on reality good lad.'

True, some of the comments on here by the Shinners would make you sick. It sums up the entire party, for them violence is always the answer

Well done Pomeroy, you have just shown yourself up in that statement. You are that close minded you sum up a whole party and its supporters in one massive and false generalisation. After that I dont think ill waste my time reading any of your posts in future. That post has to be up with the worst of them.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 02/12/2010 11:49:23    826310

Well seeing that the party is the political wing of a Terrorist organisation I don't think it's too much of a stretch to suggest they're associated with violence

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/12/2010 12:21:55    826342

seanie_boy

"Loyalty to the country always.Loyalty to the government when it deserves it". Mark Twain

??? Jerry McCabe was not part of the government. He was a garda. he dedicated his life to defending the citizens of ireland and the country. He also had a wife and 5 children. 4 very prominent Sinn Fein members were photographed posing and laughing with his killers in Castlrea prison for An Phoblacht newspaper. It is this type of behaviour that make most decent, true Irish people feel physcially sick and will mean they will never vote for Sinn Fein

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 02/12/2010 13:34:54    826411

Listen up boys.Everybody who cares to know the truth is already aware that the provisional republican community acknowledged that the death of Garda Mc Cabe was wrong and should not have happened.My previous post was intended to highlight the virtue of loyalty to friends and nationhood as opposed to government,in response to a post from badmonkey.He had attempted to point score from the mans death,whereas I don't see the need or reason to do this.You can all fall in righteously behind him the minute you apologize on behalf of the 26 county state for their unrelenting murder campaign against former comrades at this states inception.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 02/12/2010 14:21:48    826467

Very sorry state of affairs when the tragedy of a family loss is used for no other reason only political point scoring, by people who obviously have never lost anyone close to them during the armed conflict, for if they had, they would have a lot more respect and dignity than to stoop to such levels.

A lot of decent and good thinking people realise the past must be put behind us if Ireland is to go forward as a country, people who are mature enough to understand that Ireland was a very different place not too long ago and that we must move forward, living and debating the here, the now and the future.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 02/12/2010 14:32:32    826474

'My previous post was intended to highlight the virtue of loyalty to friends and nationhood'

You have to question what kind of people have 'friends' who gun down a hard working father of five who was only doing his job. Most people would be disgusted by organisations that have friends like that

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/12/2010 14:51:43    826487

I think all political threads should be scrapped, some of the rubbish on here is beyond belief, from both sides. And Seanieboy, there is no point trying to respond to you, very set in your beliefs, which I believe are the kind of beliefs that will drag us back into the dark days. And todays republican comrades as you like to call them are nothing like the ones at the time of the states inception. The comrades who shot Garda McCabe were robbing a post office, what has that got to do with being a republican?

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 02/12/2010 15:03:17    826498

' sorry state of affairs when the tragedy of a family loss is used for no other reason only political point scoring'

Of course, if you mention the various atrocities carried out by the IRA it's political point scoring. You're not one to talk about dignity or respect Artisan when you openly support the murderous thugs responsible

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/12/2010 15:43:52    826517

Pearse has been named as the new Sinn Fein finance spokesperson.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 02/12/2010 15:48:02    826522

Ah the typical republican response, they would much rather people didnt talk about jerry mccabe, robert mccartney, jean mcconville....etc they come out with rubbish about point scoring in an attempt to shut people up so they can brush these things under the carpet. Guess what? the irish people wont forget these horrific murders. Especially when top Sinn Fein members, now TDs, pose with the killers laughing and joking for the cameras.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 02/12/2010 16:53:40    826589

The IRA of the modern era carried out attacks which were a natural extension of the actions carried out by previous generations, 1916 Leader Tom Clarke took part in a bombing campaign in England a century before Gerry Kelly did likewise, the IRA from 1919-21 murdered (all intentional killing is murder) policemen, soldiers, spies and carried out robberies which lead to the freedom of the 26 counties. The Free State forces from 21-23 carried out murders and reprisals on a scale not seen before or since in terms of numbers or ruthlessness.

These events must be looked at and judged in an historical sense, with due reference made to both circumstance and contemporary attitudes. The use of emotionally immature language such as "muderous thugs" prevents any sober and rational analysis of the past, indeed Dan Breen himself was branded a "murderous thug" by Irish Bishops after Soloheadbeg. So let's get of the whataboutery merry-go-round and debate the here and now.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 02/12/2010 17:00:05    826596

bad.monkey
County: USA

So what about the new findings today that the british soldiers kill another man in the wrong in 1971 ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/12/2010 17:10:12    826604

bad.monkey

Ah the typical republican response, they would much rather people didnt talk about jerry mccabe, robert mccartney, jean mcconville....etc they come out with rubbish about point scoring in an attempt to shut people up so they can brush these things under the carpet. Guess what? the irish people wont forget these horrific murders. Especially when top Sinn Fein members, now TDs, pose with the killers laughing and joking for the cameras.

How come the likes of you and several others on different forums and also the press only bring these things up when we get close to an election?
You and the likes of you couldn't care less about the people who were fatally injured, you are just using it to try to discourage people from voting for SF.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 02/12/2010 17:11:07    826607

'So what about the new findings today that the british soldiers kill another man in the wrong in 1971 ...'

Dell how dare you use this tragedy as a chance for some political point scoring

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/12/2010 17:12:56    826612

PomeroyPlunkett

826612 'So what about the new findings today that the british soldiers kill another man in the wrong in 1971 ...'

Dell how dare you use this tragedy as a chance for some political point scoring

Was not a tragedy it was murder and why they not be jailed over it ?

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/12/2010 17:21:55    826627

Dellboypolecat

bad.monkey

So what about the new findings today that the british soldiers kill another man in the wrong in 1971 ...

I find any murders equally horrific, I sincerely hope the person responsible is brought to justice. The difference is that nobody is on here defending this soldier or his 'cause'. Also I have never seen an Irish TD laughing and posing with this soldier.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 02/12/2010 17:30:31    826640

Dr Shepard usually because there are political threads around the time of elections, i didnt start this thread and didnt contribute until the hypocritical sanctimonious garbage from some nationalists became too much to bear

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 02/12/2010 17:34:34    826648

Artisan the modern IRA targeted civilians. If they had targeted British soldiers people could have understood. They targeted and killed many, many innocent people. People wont forget, similarly they wont forget the many innocents killed by the British army. This is why most Irish people hold them both in similar contempt.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 02/12/2010 17:38:14    826652

we are never going to go forward as a nation if you have people dragging everything up , we are all against murder well i hope we are its time this country evolved and we grew a pair of ba..s we only replaced the begging bowl of england and replaced it with the ecc now look at us we are yet the beggars of europe again i would just urge people to actually listen to all parties this time and let your head not your hatred for other parties make the decision to vote

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/12/2010 17:44:32    826663

I can't help it if you are constantly wrong lads.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 02/12/2010 19:46:49    826788