Government's Four Year Plan....

As I mentioned two days previous on the "Salaries to be Cut" thread, the first cut the Government has to make is cutting their own salaries first in order to garner public support and then reduce other high salaries in the public sector.

The Governments decision to start at the bottom and work up is morally and economically wrong. The people on social welfare and on the minimum wage are the ones who spend all their money within Ireland. That money goes around and around and around. By cutting them you will in effect decrease trade in businesses that rely on these consumers which will bring about more job losses and will in effect decrease the growth of the economy. It is the high earners in society where the money is lost with people spending their wages on holidays and apartments abroad. Reigning these people in is the way the Government should have went.

Did anyone see Vincent Browne last night with Minister Carey? It was a must see? If anyone has it on you tube please let me know?

Hoscarano (Laois) - Posts: 56 - 25/11/2010 12:51:13    822551

truth hurting breff???

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 25/11/2010 12:56:00    822558

Very generous dole payments in the south. €196 a week for a single man, compared to £60 here for over 25's, bound to take a big hit.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 25/11/2010 12:57:59    822561

My local shopkeeper is a member of I.S.M.E. and told me so. He is glad that the minimum wage is cut as he says he will make more profit. His prices are far higher than the small supermarket a 100 yards down the road. I will be taking my business to the supermarket from now on !! Time to boycott the profiteers !! Greed drives these people !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/11/2010 12:59:36    822563

liathroidboy

822558 truth hurting breff???

not in the slightest, i just find it peculiar and hardly fair on any other banned posters

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 25/11/2010 13:00:22    822564

i hate this nonsense about the lower (overpaid) being targets. wait until you see the tax increases the higher paid will pay at least twice as much- yet is the same old rubbish about 'its only the lower paid' its complete and utter nonsense and basically a lie. god forbid someone may pay some tax or have a pay cut. if i make 100000 and take a cut of 10% thats 10000- if someone is on 20000 and take a 10% cut thats 2000- now this isnt primary school but who was worse effected? similiar if tax goes up say 2% or 5% from present rates for those on lower and higer wages respectively- who is worse off! get your heads out of the sand folks its the higer earners that have always payed the most and will continue to. the question should not be 'oh they have more' it shoud be 'why have they more' i.e. because they got off their **** and made something of themselves!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 25/11/2010 13:04:06    822569

like I say, not in the slightest, because I don't even try to read your unparagraphed, stream of consciousness ramblings. I might completely agree with you for all i know.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 25/11/2010 13:05:10    822570

cavan slasher you will be boycotting every single person in the country so- especially those on the dole!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 25/11/2010 13:05:20    822572

well said liathroidboy.....What other country in the world would pay nearly 200 euro a week for someone to sit on their a@@ all week. In London you would get 65 quid a week and be expected to live on it..
The greedy bankers ,the greedy property developers ,the greedy sub contractors and the greedy people wrecked the country..Yes ye have had a free ride for the last 10 years..Thought tomorrow will never come.....well it has

A few years ago in the height of the Celtic Tiger i met this couple who were living in Ireland.. He was a porter in the bank and she was a hairdresser.. They had a mock georgian house with repayments of 1350 per month.. On top of that they had 450 a month repayments on 2 cars plus normal bills.. They were in the process of taking out a Credit Union loan of 12000 to change a kitchen that i could see absolutely nothing wrong with..
This is a common story in any county in Ireland and its all down to greed ..and trying to impress.. now the partys over and ppl look to blame someone.........when its their own fault for getting into this mess.
Now i know a soccer player with QPR who earns 8000 grand a week and hasnt repayments half as big as that..

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 25/11/2010 13:09:20    822577

who says i was banned- i just rebranded- it makes good business sense :D

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 25/11/2010 13:09:37    822578

liathroidboy - you are some charlie. you say that you dont feel sorry for anyone. not everyone got rich during the boom - in fact most didnt.
i know of a family who have a child with special needs - they lost theeir special care, therefore mother has to stay at home while the dad is on a three day week on min wage. they have a big enough house but nothing fancy therfore struggling with the mortgage. the banks are harrasing them at this moment. i suppose they got what they deserved eh?

would you change your county - im ashamed a mayo man is coming out with such tripe and a county which suffered most in the famine.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 25/11/2010 13:23:51    822592

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzlWozb21Lk&feature=topvideos

The Country's Fecked song

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/11/2010 13:32:35    822601

Real Kerry Fan

822461 Reminds me of Steve Staunton's three year plan.
------------------------------
And his targets were more realistic!!!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 25/11/2010 13:42:27    822604

Abhainn, not only will employers cut people who are already on the minimum wage, they will force others onto it as well. Would you work for 300 Euro a week? How in the name of god could you pay for somewhere to live and feed yourself and your kids, never mind have any sort of life? The elite in this country seem to think that, contrary to ballboy, that the rest of us should live in misery so that THEY can continue to have profligate lives. I don't have any time for welfare spongers as I've said before but slashing the wages of low paid workers is immoral in the context of who caused this mess. Nor do I think that people who have lost their jobs through no fault of their own be further punished by having their dole cut.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/11/2010 13:43:24    822605

25/11/2010 12:59:36
Cavan_Slasher

822563 My local shopkeeper is a member of I.S.M.E. and told me so. He is glad that the minimum wage is cut as he says he will make more profit. His prices are far higher than the small supermarket a 100 yards down the road. I will be taking my business to the supermarket from now on !! Time to boycott the profiteers !! Greed drives these people !!
I'd be very surprised if any small business is making huge profits unless they are in a sector where there are barriers to entry (pharmacy/Dentists etc). Its a free market and they are having to pay energy costs, Rents, Rates, VAT, min wage etc that are in general much higher than most european countries. If there was a ball fo money to be made someone would set up in competition

Up until 2 years ago we had a situation where hotel staff who worked on a Sunday were entitled to sector agreed rates which was a minimum of €20 an hour.
People give out about hotels being dearer than spain we were paying €20 an hour for the people changing the sheets 500% of what they pay in Spain
And then we give out about profiteering.

The only place where the free market isn't applicable is where we have "exclusive clubs" with barriers to getting a licence or minipulation of the university system to keep the number of qualified people artifically low - this enables people charge a multipe of what people pay in Europe - I can drive 20 miles up the road and will pay 40% of what I would pay In Cavan for a root canal or similar - Biggest sin is for medicines go into yoru nearest chemist and you will pay 4.99 for a box of brand name IBrupofen - In the North the own brand packet is 24p.

As for your locak supermarket do you not think they will adjust their pay scales if min wage changes ? - You can be 100% sure that the UK or German ones will

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 25/11/2010 14:04:26    822614

The money people get on the dole down South is an absolute joke, there's no incentive to work. Cut that by about 75% to begin with. Good news on the cutting of public sector jobs though, for too long people have been well paid for sitting on the internet all days watching videos

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 25/11/2010 14:13:20    822618

liathroidboy

822578 who says i was banned- i just rebranded- it makes good business sense :D

I'd say it took every last drop of your business and marketing nous to rebrand yourself from Ballboy to Liathroidboy.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 25/11/2010 14:34:03    822632

Just saw this and had to ruefully laugh:

Christmas holiday

Mr Kenny has said it would be crazy for the Dáil to go ahead with the planned 33-day holiday over the Christmas period in the exceptional circumstances that prevail.

His colleague Alan Shatter said that at the latest, the Dáil should return on 10 January to deal with the Finance Bill.

The Taoiseach did not reply.

Poor sods. Only 33 days. They must not have got enough R&R in on their 12 week summer break.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9755 - 25/11/2010 14:37:04    822635

Omar,

Would you shop with Liathroidboy ?

If a small shopkeeper gloats that he will make more profit because he does not have to pay his staff as much as he did last week then it follows that i will not shop with him and will go to another shop where i will not have to pay as much as i did last week either !!

Swings and roundabouts !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/11/2010 17:40:33    822823

25/11/2010 17:40:33
Cavan_Slasher

822823 Omar,

Would you shop with Liathroidboy ?

No I do all my shopping in Aldi - Because I can see that they can sell at a lower cost because of efficeincy rather than lower quality
The staff work hard - same person on tills, sweeping floors, driving forklifts and stacking shelves - high speed check outs and the speed the staff work at at means that the are paid on productivty rather than hanginga round the store on fag breaks. Every business should be run like this.
Three staff can cope with teh volume that takes 12 in any other shop

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 25/11/2010 17:54:21    822840