Government's Four Year Plan....

I thought that the Government would have started with a reduction in the number of T.D.'s and the abolishment of the Senad !!

I was wrong -- the poor must take the cuts !! The lifestyles of the rich should not be diminished !!

The Dail and Senad numbers will be maintained but teachers, gardai, nurses, social workers etc will be cut !!

The status quo must be maintained at all costs !!

The poor are but a nuisance while the rich Galway Tent Brigade is kept above all others !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 24/11/2010 20:28:54    822332

liathroidboy

jim- you seem to miss the point- you dont go onto a trolly in a private hospital you are very well taken care of and rightly so, those of us who pay our way deserve the best of treatment, those who dont well they should get in line at the local general hospital.

Hold on now I have a big issue with that, healthcare should under no circumstances be considered a luxury item, just because you have more money doesn't mean you have any greater right to good heath than any other person. I can see where your coming from regarding welfare scams, nobody likes to see that but it's very annoying to see anybody being so arrogant about one of the most important things in life, your health.

Now I'm only 22 but unfortunately I've had to see specialists about my back a few times over the last 2 years and it really is a grossly unfair system that we have over here. I remember when I was going to get a second opinion on my back and I decided to maybe try and go public because I went to the Mater private the 1st time, that including your bog standard trip to the GP and an MRI set me back about €850, a figure I just couldn't afford again, simple as that. So anyway I just called up a different clinic and inquired about a specialist, got all the details and then asked how long I'd have to wait if I went public, "6 to 8 months", ok what about private? "we can see you next tuesday if thats ok" (it was a wednesday!).

Now how the hell is that fair to people who are in even worse physical condition than me and can't afford any care at all, it bloody sickens me to the core and its so feckin hard to earn enough money to get properly treated aswell. I work 1 or 2 weeks a month if I'm lucky and I can only take on a very narrow range of jobs because of my dodgy back but I'm still doing the best I can not to leech off anybody nevermind the ridiculous welfare system which nobody in my family is claiming off by the way and no I'm not looking for medal either so don't pick me up wrong here, this is not a sob story.

No social status should ever come into this in my opinion, if a GP recommends a certain treatment then money should be your very last concern. I'm glad you liathroidboy and plenty others can afford health insurance and I genuinely mean that I'm not being bitter, if I had the money I'd get it myself (even though I don't agree with it) but don't dare come on here and say that some people deserve better treatment than others when it comes to something as important as healthcare, it's not nice, simple as that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/11/2010 20:55:47    822374

Htaem

Good post - Whilst my views on welfare- min wage - taxation policy might not be a million miles from Ballboys although I might express it differently - I agree with you on healthcare - Everyone is entitled to a good standard of healthcare - rich or poor young or old. working or non working
We had a huge chance to do this in the middle part of the decade sadly we spent all the money on Pay increases and additional adminstration roles in the HSE.
Not as simple now when we have the money

What works in Holland or Australia or Germany is a univesal health insurance system - Give everyone in the country a basic healthcare insurance policy that provides a reasonable level of cover for all medically necassary procedures. We pay for this through a taxation levy - If you don't work its covered by the state.

however the policy covers you for a public or semi private cover in most hospitals private or public - If you want a private bed or want to go into a luxury hospital well then you either pay on top of your insurance or pay extra for your insurance through a private sector system.

Everyone gets access to a consultant or a bed within the same timeframes - The only difference that having money gets you is Privacy or a more luxurious hospital.
Sadly we can't afford this now as we already spend more on health per head that most countries in europe despite the fact we have one of the youngest populations.
Only way to do this is to completely overhaul the system - HSE - level of Admin - Unions - Consultant contracts etc.

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 24/11/2010 21:58:41    822424

folks im very sorry to say this but medical insurance should be the first thing that comes out of anyone wages/ dole or whatever- as everyone keeps harping on about your health comes first i.e. i would suggest tesco value beans for dinner every day and pay the health insurance. its too easy to say people cant afford it yet this christmas these same people will splash out enough on luxury goods i.e not needed goods i.e. presents, sweets, drink, cakes, selection boxes the list is endless. And then all through the year they have their little treat every so often- its complete rubbish, all of this could pay for health insurance. I'll put it like this health insurance is more important than the tv and the tv licience- ever think of it like that folks. Im sorry but it is just too easy to say I cant afford it, simply as people want to spend their money on other goods. ill repeat it as soon as whatever incomes comes in be it a wage or dole or whatever- first thing anyone should be thinking about is health insurance and on that basis i have sympathy for noone. I have many friends who suggested they could not afford health insurance- yet €500 was sopend on kids christmas presents- is there a better pressent you could buy your kids?

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 25/11/2010 09:55:54    822444

Htaem, you could always move to Cuba. A great healthcare system.

Only joking, I don't mean to sound flippant. I second Omar's sentiments in that ballbag has some valid opinions even if he does express them like an obnoxious, arrogant snob. Healthcare should be different I agree though.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9755 - 25/11/2010 10:02:39    822450

Reminds me of Steve Staunton's three year plan.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 25/11/2010 10:23:49    822461

The hysteria here surrounding the cutting of the minimum wage is out of proportion.

I think its an absolutely needed measure - it will encourage businesses to employ people and get them off the dole, helping the governments figures and peoples own self confidence. It will also save some businesses from going under. The key is to get cost of living going down as well, and while VAT increases won't help that, 340Euro or so a week is enough to live on at the moment, by no means extravagantly.

The main problem is that too many people are content to sit on their **** and bleat about how the state owes them when they sit and collect their cheque in the post every week. And after all, the difference between the dole and the min wage is not enough to get these lazy individuals working. Which of course, some of them are, under the counter. This is of course not true of everyone, or even a majority on the dole, most of whom are honest, hard working, citizens. We do have a huge problem though, which is not addressed. People say there are no jobs - maybe thats true in some rural areas, but there's a lot here in Galway, even if they're short term and/or graveyard shifts, which people remain to think they're above, won't even apply for (this I know for a fact - lots of first hand experience) and yet still think their social welfare benefits are sacrosanct.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 25/11/2010 10:32:13    822462

the cut in the minimum wage will only work if there is a massive cut in welfare. what makes my blood boils is the calculations people on the dole do when offered a job- if offered a job they should grab it without question, when you have someone on the dole saying it would need to be paid €540 a week to make it worth my while- well i say to hell with that- social reform is needed- dole/ welfare should be exactly what it says on the tin- it should not be a lifestyle choice

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 25/11/2010 11:10:22    822479

Abhainn, of course there are people on the dole who don't want to work. They were there during the height of the boom. So are you suggesting that the 300,000 who have joined them suddenly all decided that they'd prefer getting 192 Euro a week to earning a wage? Did they voluntarily choose to be unemployed? No they did not. They are unemployed because of the incompetence and corruption of the elite in this state and that includes the business class. So your solution to soliving their mess to to reward them by letting them employ people for peanuts? I don't think so.

Finally on the minimum wage. I was in work at 7.30 this morning. First person I met was Polish girl who cleans the place and is in at 5am. She is on the minimum wage and is being rewarded by having 40 Euro a week taken from her. Who benefits? The bankers and speculators whose debts we are paying and the people who she works for. Tell me how this makes any sense, moral or economic??

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/11/2010 11:22:11    822488

WHEN YE HAD IT GOOD OVER THERE YE THOUGHT YE WOULD NEVER BE A DAY POOR AGAIN..THE BANKS WERE THROWING MONEY AT YE AND YE WERE STUPID ENOUGH TO TAKE IT..ALL YE BUILT WAS HOUSES AND FLATS AND BOUGHT FLASH CARS..WELL THE FUNS OVER NOW LADS AND ITS PAYBACK TIME.. SO GLAD I NEVER WENT BACK NEAR THE PLACE TO LIVE

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 25/11/2010 11:39:01    822506

ANYONE WITH HALF A BRAIN WOULD REALISE IT WAS ONLY A SMALL COUNTRY AND YA WOULD BUILD IT IN A FEW WEEKS....HOW WOULD ANYONE REALISE THEY COULD LIVE FOREVER ON BORROWED MONEY?? ITS WAS THE TRYIN TO KEEP UP WITH THE JONES,S THAT WRECKED THE PLACE..EVERYBODY WANTING MORE THAN THE NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOUR, BIGGER HOUSE, BIGGER CAR ,TYPICAL IRISH..YE BEEN LIKE THAT FOR YEARS BUT NEVER HAD ANYTHING AND AS SOON AS A FEW QUID CAME YOUR WAY IT WENT YOUR HEAD...WELL THERE ONE SOLUTION......GET OUT

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 25/11/2010 11:47:16    822514

What a helpful contribution richie! Glad you are enjoying it anyway ;-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/11/2010 11:47:29    822515

"To feel envy is human, to savour schadenfreude is devilish"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 25/11/2010 11:59:02    822521

hurlingdub

822515 What a helpful contribution richie! Glad you are enjoying it anyway ;-)

Aint enjoying it but its time ppl stood up and realised its just as much their fault as it is the banks and goverment..

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 25/11/2010 12:01:48    822523

hurlingdub
Finally on the minimum wage. I was in work at 7.30 this morning. First person I met was Polish girl who cleans the place and is in at 5am. She is on the minimum wage and is being rewarded by having 40 Euro a week taken from her. Who benefits?

----------

First off, she has not had 40 Euro a week taken from her yet. Because she's on the minimum wage does not mean her employer will reduce her wage. Maybe they will, maybe they won't.

The people that benefit are the employers, some of whom now have a chance to stay afloat, due to potential savings, as well as people on the dole who will want to jump off it to get more jobs that may now be viable.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 25/11/2010 12:24:13    822532

Also minimum wage is one of the highest in the world it was an easy target.... could be termed benchmarking in it's true sense

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/11/2010 12:29:31    822535

If you raise the minimum wage to say 10 Euro an hour you might make progress.

Look at Brazil.

How can you compare that we earn 4 times as much per capita....

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/11/2010 12:29:45    822536

a friend of mine is just finishing off his last college phase for his fas aprentice. he is getting almost 500euro into his hand every week from fas for **** all. he's going back to work with his company next week and i asked him the other day how safe was his job when he went back. his reply, 'i hope to god they let me go, its not worth my while working a full week for a couple of euro extra than id get on the dole....'
i nearly hit the man, these peo[ple make me vomit.

frankthetank (Meath) - Posts: 134 - 25/11/2010 12:31:51    822539

folks you need to get one thing straight- bankers and developer/ speculators are not benefiting from the 4 year plan- the problem is these people paid your way for the past 10 years i.e. funded your lifestyle through paying nearly all the tax in the country- they dont make any money anymore so they dont pay tax. Now the irish people have to pay their own way- the entire country had a party based on someone elses money- now you are just asked to pay your own way and people are giving out about it- its pathetic! The irish people got the best deal ever. Tell me this if someone said to you 'i'll pay your way in life for 10 years and you will have a great life at that, but after 10 years you simply must pay your own way' who would not jump at that- this is not about bankers and developers etc it just about paying for the local cop, teacher, nurse etc. (which the bankers/ developers/ speculators paid for for the past 10 years). the comments on here suggest that greed has infested the minds of the irish people- why should the irish public not pay for their way? Your not asked to pay for the banks your asked to pay for the luxury you enjoy in life and rightly so. Not one single irish person is a victim in any of this- imagine 50% of the population actually think they should pay no tax- what planet are you people on? the party is over folks every single irish person had a free run for 10 years and now all they are asked to do is pay their own way- it is absolutely pathetic the comment out of people who have has 140% pay rises in the last 8 years (i.e. those on the dole) thinking that a 5 or 10 % cut makes a victim out of them- get real for god sake of you will really feel pain- and it would be no more than you deserve.

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 25/11/2010 12:39:40    822543

What exactly is the deal here anyway? Was ballboy not banned years ago?

Ye should unban anybody else if ballboy is allowed back

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 25/11/2010 12:47:05    822544