A ban on overtime in the Garda
No but there should be regulation on overtime!!!
This would never happen in the Public Sector as you have to be at your desk and logged in all the time. Wastage here too methinks !! Bonuses and Christmas, Holiday pay also which does not happen in the Public Sector either and no weekend work or nights which is compulsory either !!
How do you know it dosen't happen in the public sector.... those lads could have been logged in aswell, again you give an example of your own expireance and give it as the norm..... What about the amount of days absence that public sector workers take i think it was an average of 16 in 2008 which is double that of the public sector how many man hours are lost there. Are you trying to tell me that public dosen't get holiday pay come on will you!!!! Teachers must be the only one to get holiday pay then??
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/11/2010 11:34:25
Hag,
I don't get holiday pay and neither do gardai !! You ignore the bit about the bonuses, Christmas boxes etc !!
Sickness is higher in the Public Service i agree but there are people who are skivers everywhere. I would say sickness is higher where injuries at work are caused by the dangers to frontline staff like, garda (attacked or injured on duty)i, nurses, prison officers (also regularly attacked) and firemen. Also the nights and shift work leave them susceptible to illness as their circadian rhythms are disrupted. This is a proven medial fact !!
My point is that Private is just as bad / good as Public Sector !! Also i am told of gardai and prison officers being ordered to do overtime by their superiors. Time for bullying to stop !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/11/2010 12:53:46
not only should salaries be cut in the public service but all job descriptions should read 'you are overpaid so are here to do as you are told' it would solve alot of problems!
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 25/11/2010 13:07:12
Are you 100% sure gurds don't get paid holidays..... There also a lot of people in the private sector that work on contract and don't get paid holidays.... I think your quip at me ignoring bonus's would have to do with banking bonus's right, Bonus's have been cut big time this year and in the last few years in most companies.
I would say sickness is higher where injuries at work are caused by the dangers to frontline staff like
Nope the highest absenteeism is in the civil service clerical staff with and average of 16.8 days a year!!
And my point is the the private sector regulates itself in regard to wages bonus's working hours and having a job..... times are good alls good.... how can the public sector do this without reform??
susceptible to illness as their circadian rhythms are disrupted. This is a proven medial fact !!
I better be careful then with my circadian rhythm I work 4/3 nights a week putting meself threw college and pretty much have done for 4 of my 6 years in college.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/11/2010 13:17:01
Great to see our government leading from the front and accepting a salary cut and pay freeze.... Oh no wait a minute!
They remain some of the highest paid politicians in the world...!!
Hopefully the IMF/EU sorts them out... and finally brings their ridiculously high pay scale into the mix.
Cutting money from the most vulnerable while that BIFFO is on more money than the leader of the free world… only in Ireland.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/11/2010 13:18:56
Liathroid Boy's humourous, satirical posta are 100% spot on but most of you are too blind to see what he is saying.
ALL of ghis satirical posts are about LOOKING AFTER THOSE WHO ARE ALREADY RICH!!!!!!!!!
And that is exactly what has happened for years.
His latest comment about cutting wages to "make us competitive" is a clever wind up. In the far east people are working for 7 euro a week. Can Ireland compete with that?
Of course they can't.
But......beware all the lies STILL being told. In GB we were told we needed cuts immediately as there was no money and we needed to save 7 billion pounds by cutting public services. One week later the Government found 7 billion in their back pocket to bale out Ireland.
Where did that come from if there is no money and a crisis?
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/11/2010 13:19:50
Some private sector people don't get holiday pay either if your a contractor you don't get holiday pay... also bonus's in general have been cut in the private sector.... also it civil service staff that have the highest absenteeism clerical staff in particular in the public sector with an average of 16.8 days sick leave that also most double that of the private sector.
I work a couple of nights a week to put meself throught college so I know all about circadian rhythms, as do some of the people I work with who have 2 and 3 jobs!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/11/2010 14:15:36
In the far east people are working for 7 euro a week. Can Ireland compete with that? Never knew a trainer manufacturers had sweat shops in ireland!!
When did we ever compete with that??? were are competing for employers within europe and america for manufacturing jobs and the likes of india in I.T and call center jobs that's who we have to be compeditive with.
I remember I got a job with a multinational bout 11 years ago now was trained up by american's of which i was over time taking their job..... 5 years later i was training up Indian workers who eventually took my job and the whole operation moved to India!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/11/2010 15:43:02
Anyone know if it was raised in the dail about no cut in politicians wages ? I have to say I am utterly astonished that they are not taking at least a 20% cut.
thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 25/11/2010 16:08:08
25/11/2010 14:15:36 HAG_AND_CHEESE County: Tipperary Posts: 3854
822619 Some private sector people don't get holiday pay either
WHAT???????????????
Holiday pay is a LEGAL right for EVERYONE, full time, part time, whatever.
Well in modern countries anyway.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/11/2010 16:40:19
Hag,
For God's sake what are you on about with your 2/3 nights study or part-time work ? Grasping at straws. Nights for 20 or 30 years is what causes the damage not a few months or years part-time !! Mother of God !! What about the idea of an overtime ban to cut down expenses ? Can jobs function without the use of overtime ? The people who work too much overtime or either greedy, in serious debt or have bad marriages i.m.o. !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/11/2010 16:59:54
patrique:
on contract work sometimes not!!
Cavan_Slasher: Wonce again you miss the point public sector workers aren't the only one's to work night..... many work nights for minimum wage!!! And ignore the evidence i gave to proove your theory about absenteeism wrong gards would have be about average within the public sector" "Of 60 public sector bodies surveyed -- including ministerial departments, county and city councils, the HSE, Fas and RTE -- 47 have higher absenteeism rates than the national average for the private sector. "
"Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs: 3.51pc
Justice: 4.07pc
Finance: 2.52pc
Agriculture: 4.74pc
Arts, Sports and Tourism: 4.35pc
Communications, Energy and Natural Resources: n/a
Defence: 4.8pc
Education & Science: 5.35pc
Enterprise, Trade and Employment: 3.9pc
Environment: 5pc
Foreign Affairs: 5.62pc
Health: 5.84pc
Social and Family Affairs: 7.14pc
Transport: 4pc
Taoiseach: 2.62pc
Primary Teachers: 4.6pc
Secondary Teachers: 6.3pc
Gardai: 4.32pc
HSE: 5.52pc
FAS: 4.45pc
Failte Ireland: 2.16pc
CSO: 5.36pc
Revenue: 4.6pc
Courts: 3.44pc
Prison Service: 21.64 days -- rate not provided
RTE: 2.42pc "
"Almost half of all sick days were taken by Clerical Officers and three quarters of all Clerical Officers availed of sick leave. The average number of days taken by each Clerical Officer was 16 days."
The national average for private sector was 3.5% or 8 working days!!
I'm sorry if i gave my own personal expireances i thought that was ok as that seems to be the main points of your arguement .... it was 2/3 nights part time work, And the people i'm referring to have 2/3 jobs where they work up to 18 hours a day 6 days a week.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/11/2010 18:02:37
25/11/2010 12:53:46 Cavan_Slasher County: Cavan Posts: 6438
822556 Hag,
I don't get holiday pay and neither do gardai !! You ignore the bit about the bonuses, Christmas boxes etc !!
Sickness is higher in the Public Service i agree but there are people who are skivers everywhere. I would say sickness is higher where injuries at work are caused by the dangers to frontline staff like, garda (attacked or injured on duty)i, nurses, ______________ Agree there are Skivers everywhere Agree that Nurses and front line staff are more likely to get inured than clerical satf and will also agree that vast majority are honest etc etc
however
Police Officers(in particular in the North) and nurses are much more likelyto take sickness from work due to soft tissue inury and are also more likely to have an inujry when they are involved in accident in public place, in the work place or in a motor accident.
Simple fact of life is that in the course of their work they come across lots of injured people - many of whom are seriously injured and also those who are clutching their necks exagararting inuries - they then see the compensation that these people receive - they give evidence in court or they draft up medical reports etc etc.
So they are more exposed to the culture of soft injuries than most people and hence feel less stigmatised than most in terms of the morality of claiming.
Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 25/11/2010 19:12:35
Hag,
The Frontline Public Sector worker is more likely to be injured at work than a pen pusher !! He is more likely to be sick than they are too because he is out in all weathers, dealing more with sick people in hospital wards etc than a clerical officer in either sector too. Personally i have no time for skivers in whatever sector they work. I don't go sick either as i believe that it unlucky to feign illness 'cos it could visit you in earnest later on. Have you the statistics for the Private sector 'till i examine them ?
Your point about Private Sector workers doing unsocial hours and having 3 jobs seems to me to be either entirely far-fetched, greedy and they cannot perform to their full potential due to tiredness and lack of sleep, so they must be skiving too or in very easy jobs !! You cannot serve two masters never mind three !!
Omar D,
I am glad you agree with me. Also you could never trust those cute northern lads and lassies !! Claiming culture is every bit as bad in the Private Sector too !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/11/2010 19:35:57
Lads,
Concentrate more on the Private Sector where the major damage to this economy was done !! Seanie, Fingers, Drumm etc well they worked there !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/11/2010 19:40:39
Slasher:
You've lost me now I'm not saying that front line staff are unlikely not to get injured.... but you cited this as a possible reason for public sector absenteeism which is isn't true
"I would say sickness is higher where injuries at work are caused by the dangers to frontline staff like, garda (attacked or injured on duty)i, nurses, prison officers (also regularly attacked) and firemen."
The facts show that it clerical and office staff that have the highest absenteeism.... I don't get the point your trying to make??
Your point about Private Sector workers doing unsocial hours and having 3 jobs seems to me to be either entirely far-fetched, greedy and they cannot perform to their full potential due to tiredness and lack of sleep
Sure if you don't believe it can't be true then.... so let me get this right if a person is working 18 hours a day they are lazy right?? ...........Nope still not getting that one!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/11/2010 15:45:44
Hag,
Where were you all day ?
I believe you get my points perfectly !! Frontline staff are bound to have higher sickness levels than pen pushers !!
Anyone working 18 hours a day and travelling to and from one job to another is getting very little sleep and therefor cannot be giving their all to the job !! Easy !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/11/2010 16:12:57
Slasher:
I was on a nite off last nite so I had a few well deserved drinks maybe a few too many!!
Frontline staff are bound to have higher sickness levels than pen pushers !!
But if you look at the figures that is not true and I've given you the fact "pen pusher's (for example clerical staff within the public sector) have a higer absenteeism than front line staff!!!!
Fair enough if that what you think of lazy people like that working 18 hours a day shame on them not given their all to their jobs...... it's nearly worse than taking 16 sick days a year
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/11/2010 16:37:00
its so funny to listen to you all- ye are all overpaid and the cummupance is coming and its great to see. time to remove the egos and for people to realise their place in life and that 7.65 a hour is a fine wage for people to get. the irish dont realise how lucky they have it with the massive wages- cut cut cut i say its about supply and demand and supply is winning so it should be a race to the bottom- capitalist principles must alwasy hold there are servants and masters andthat will never chance so people would just want to accpt their standing in life and get on with it
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 27/11/2010 10:10:19
Hag,
Regardless of what you say or of the good intentions / necessity etc of anyone working 18 hours a day, they are a health & safety liability. People need to sleep too !!
I don't think we will agree on the sickness thing either but if anyone isd found to be overdoing it they should be out the door !! I already said i do not agree with it but i have given you my reasons why Frontline staff might be susceptible to illness. Pen pushers are a completely different game !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/11/2010 13:17:27