One of the darkest days in Irelands history

Seven dead, murdered, suicide, 4 of them children

Meanwhile we are on the verge on giving up our sovereignty to Brussels because of our own greed.

Dark times

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 16/11/2010 18:42:29    817832

Sad days indeed.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 16/11/2010 18:45:09    817835

Sad sad times , and it is the voters fault that voted to be part of the EU.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/11/2010 18:46:41    817837

just horrible so sad

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 16/11/2010 18:49:59    817844

God help them all.I hope it doesn't become contagious with the people in general hearing and seeing nothing but doom and gloom everyday.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/11/2010 19:16:46    817867

Such a depressing country, such depressing times. I've lost faith in the human race. It really is every man for himself no matter what anyone says.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 16/11/2010 19:21:21    817873

Absolutely horrible what went on today and you can't put the blame on hard times or specific circumstances for doing those sort of things, theres no excuses for it. Anyway thats beside the point, my heart goes out to their familys, it's just awful for them.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/11/2010 19:30:29    817885

seargent_slash.
how very true ,thats what comes with greed .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 16/11/2010 19:31:58    817886

16/11/2010 18:46:41
Dellboypolecat

Sad sad times , and it is the voters fault that voted to be part of the EU.

Ha,ha,ha, ha, ha, ha,ha, ha, ha,ha,ha.

Even Mrs Thatcher wasn't THAT right wing, "we are the super race" type of Tory.

Some were, including Dell it now seems.

I told them you can't cut your way out of a recession, never mind the 250 eminent economists. Did the IRISH ministers listen? Did they......

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/11/2010 20:41:35    818019

A new low for the country alright.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 16/11/2010 20:56:37    818035

The worst part of this is that there is no light at the end of the tunnel. Things are bad but are about to get far worse and that applies to the North as well. The Tories don't give a stuff about us either and already the Health Service is fast going down the tubes. Skilled craftsmen like brickies, joiners, plumbers and plasterers on both sides of the border are getting no work whatsoever and what little building work that's going about is being done at cost level; those lucky to get some work have seen wages been cut to the bare bones.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 16/11/2010 21:14:41    818062

Dear Oh Dear!

I remember my chant to ye all back at NICE II......."Europe, thou shalt go so far and no more! Vote NO!"

Now look at us!.......94 years of freedom and now we are about to hand ourselves over to our 'new' colonial masters!

Nobody to blame for this one but our own stuipid selves!

We have always had a 'hard luck story' at the hands of others, but it is clear that when we have a good luck story we just squander it like fools!!

Snuffys new saying: "The Irish!"......."Not to be trusted to get much right!!!"

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/11/2010 21:32:37    818078

Snufalufagus - agree with you there mate. i suppose everyone will be sayinthey voted no to nice and lisbon. we would be still voting if we voted no. democracy my ............

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11651 - 16/11/2010 21:40:23    818088

The worst part of this is that there is no light at the end of the tunnel. Things are bad but are about to get far worse and that applies to the North as well. The Tories don't give a stuff about us either and already the Health Service is fast going down the tubes. Skilled craftsmen like brickies, joiners, plumbers and plasterers on both sides of the border are getting no work whatsoever and what little building work that's going about is being done at cost level; those lucky to get some work have seen wages been cut to the bare bones.

Some skilled, more not so skilled. If we are brutally honest, much of it is their own doing. Houses were thrown up all over the place in an effort to squeeze every penny as opposed to providing a service, now they are suffering after going to the well about 10 times too many. The one thing I have learned is that we are very self-centric and greedy. From our leaders of state right down to the lads on the dole workin on the side. Even now we all want the recession to end yet take to the streets when it looks like some money might come from our pockets to do it! Do we want to get out of it or not?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/11/2010 21:44:30    818094

I am extremely sad to hear of these awful tragedies. I am not up to speed with the circumstances of either family or the nature of the tragedies either. However if it is being suggested here that this is some result of personal financial or economic circumstances then there is something much greater wrong with modern Ireland than the sad state of the economy. The Irish as a nation have weathered greater hardships than that which we are now going through we will survive this and come out on the other side perhaps without our flash cars houses and holidays. Let us keep our priorities right and do as all people should put our children first. May they all rest in peace and find in the next life that which they failed to find here.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 16/11/2010 21:52:52    818102

This story is unreal. RIP

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 17/11/2010 09:00:26    818126

Whats all the problem about our sovereignity ?

We knew well what we all signed up for. Its not the first time that Ireland had to seek help from our " gallant allies in Europe" See the 1916 Proclamation

N16Calling (UK) - Posts: 260 - 17/11/2010 09:49:24    818141

We are a relatively young nation, immature you might say. When we got a bit of luck with wealth in the 90's & early 00's we (Fianna Fáíl) had no idea how to manage it properly. The banks blindly loaned out cash to any Tom, Dick or Harry and everyone rode the crest of the wave. Yes - people got greedy. A couple of holidays every year, new cars, extension to the house etc. But not everyone is an economist. That's why people elect a government with a Finance Ministry.

When you think back to the history involved in Ireland gaining its sovereignty and independence, it really is galling that a series of blundering, politicians have crippled the country with their avarice. Cowen, Lenihan, Coughlan et al should really do the honorable thing and step aside. The thing is the damage is so far gone that no new elected government, no matter who it may be will be able to do anything about it. The country is screwed for at least a generation, probably more.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9821 - 17/11/2010 10:11:56    818154

Admin, why did you leave the last line of my post out? I merely suggested that the British government, for whom the Irish question was a thorny issues for centuries, might be musing ironically at our current predicament.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9821 - 17/11/2010 10:42:59    818164

Its some shock.

The murders in NCW were very close to my home and it makes u think like. The whole place is in shock its just desperate.

The world is gone mad and it puts this whole Economic mess into perpespective, we should worry about the important things and not fret over things we cant change

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 17/11/2010 11:31:26    818201