ireland remained nuetral in ww2 and they were well within there right considering what the tans and the auxillarys had done to this nation , given that and the way ireland has been treated by its nearest neighbours , every irish national reserves the right not to wear a poppy , i also find it extremly unfair to be having a go at cork a county who was not involved in recent conflicts , but since resistance began they were at the forefront of irish rebellion and resistance , and cork and its people payed a very high price for the freedom of its nation , and they are steeped in history with some very high profile leaders , and guerilla experts barry collins and co . saying that people should be alllowed to have th freedom of wearing something that is not seen as a threat , wether that would be a poppy or a lily its a pesronal choice and both sides should respect each others reasons on a pesronal level , i have stated this before plunkett .
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 12/11/2010 18:11:06
PomeroyPlunkett County: Tyrone Posts: 1824
815314 It was said tongue in cheek, I didn't think any posters would actually travel to Pomeroy to meet me. Getting away from the bizarreness of what you are asking (this isn't a dating site you know) as I mentioned to Ta I'd only get back once every few months. Belfast has more happening in it than Pomeroy and anyway I wouldn't feel comfortable on any level meeting someone who I've merely talked to on an internet forum. Sorry Seanie, you're not grooming me mo chara. Omagh I feel I'm giving this ridiculous argument of yours more time than I should but why not, it beats working. Cork wasn't touched by the troubles, it saw no violence. True two Cork natives turned to a life of crime and joined a terrorist organisation but you couldn't say Cork as a whole was touched by the Troubles, rather two individuals from Cork. If someone from here went and joined Hamas you wouldn't say Pomeroy was touched by the Israeli-Palestine conflict, at least I hope you would see the absurdity of that statement.
My my,touchy indeed.I merely suggested some of us GAA lads could get together for a bit of craic if anybody was interested.You are the one who said you'd be having a pint in Pomeroy and would enjoy the company of some fellow gaels.Now you're saying that you won't be there.So you were actually lying.You will not be in Pomeroy wearing a Poppy to honour Britains war dead,and after all your big talk of introducing people tp your Pomeroy friends with your Poppy proudly on display.What a load of c#*p,as I suspected all along.At last you have been shown to be a liar and your word means nothing from now on.A man being only as good as his word and all that.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/11/2010 18:11:23
seanie_boy. tyrone . we good meet up , but i warn you i am married so do not be getting any ideas .lol. he he ;D
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 12/11/2010 18:19:46
Lads, this is about FORCING people to wear poppies and that is WRONG.
Anyone who wishes to wear one should be allowed to, and if you don't want one, that is your choice.
The thread has NOTHING to do with who done what, when and where in the past.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/11/2010 18:28:57
The difference between us Seanie is that I have friends whom I've known for a number of years who I drink with. I have no inclination of meeting people I have only interacted with through the internet, in fact I'd strongly advise anyone against this. Where I'm at this weekend is no-ones business but my own and so sorry will not be availing of your offer to meet up. Like I said to my ex, it may take a while but eventually you'll get over it
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 12/11/2010 18:29:04
12/11/2010 18:11:06 ta32 County: Tyrone Posts: 2948
815327 ireland remained nuetral in ww2 and they were well within there right considering what the tans and the auxillarys had done to this nation ,
And it sent a message, in no uncertain terms, that Northern Ireland had absolutely nothing to do with the rest of Ireland and copper fastened partition.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/11/2010 18:30:58
ta32 County: Tyrone Posts: 2948
815338 seanie_boy. tyrone . we good meet up , but i warn you i am married so do not be getting any ideas .lol. he he ;D
Sound Ta i would never go after a married man lol!!
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/11/2010 18:31:20
patrique. more spin pat , well if thats what you want believe , as long as it keeps you happpy dear boy.
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 12/11/2010 18:37:19
patrique. i agree if you do not to wear a poppy then you should not forced to wear one . but if you do want to wear one then that should be respected to . thats your right but if certain events had not taken place on this island , then i am sure there would be no dispute on the issue of how the poppy is potrayed , but me personally i have no problem with anyone wearing its a freedom of choice .
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 12/11/2010 18:45:47
PomeroyPlunkett County: Tyrone Posts: 1825
815345 The difference between us Seanie is that I have friends whom I've known for a number of years who I drink with. I have no inclination of meeting people I have only interacted with through the internet, in fact I'd strongly advise anyone against this. Where I'm at this weekend is no-ones business but my own and so sorry will not be availing of your offer to meet up. Like I said to my ex, it may take a while but eventually you'll get over it.
The difference between us is that you are an impostor and a liar as has been demonstrated beyond doubt on this thread.The invite to meet in Pomeroy was merely a ruse to get a response.I was certain that it would never be accepted by you as I am convinced that you are not a Pomeroy GAA man.So instead of wearing your Poppy in Pomeroy as you so proudly told us you would be doing,you will instead be pouncing around the Holylands or Stranmillis a la Margaret Ritchie,with your little group of neo-nationalist/unionist buddies.Take it easy on the Buckfast,but enjoy yourself all the same lad.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/11/2010 18:55:03
Yes Patrique please stop with the spinning or you might get dizzy,fall down and bump your head causing amnesia or something and then we would be lost without your quality input on here.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/11/2010 18:58:21
PoppyroyPlunkett County: Tyrone Posts: 1825
815345 The difference between us Seanie is that I have friends whom I've known for a number of years who I drink with.
That is a difference that I'm willing to acknowledge as I have friends who I have known most of my life and not just fair weather friends you meet at different times in life.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/11/2010 19:14:34
12/11/2010 18:37:19 ta32 County: Tyrone Posts: 2952
815352 patrique. more spin pat , well if thats what you want believe , as long as it keeps you happpy dear boy.
Oh, WE in the 26 counties are neutral but we claim sovereignty over the other 6 who are in the war............
You are either one Ireland or not.
Mind you, partition was first mentioned back in 1917 by a man writing about creating a 23 county republic and getting rid of the 9 counties of Ulster. name of Eamon De Valera. So cementing that process by declaring neutrality was hardly surprising. That may not have been his motive but EVERY historian agrees that neutrality sent a clear message that the 6 counties had nothing to do with the rest of the country.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/11/2010 19:16:24
So because I didn't wish to meet up with a stranger I can't be from Pomeroy. That logic is frightening. Okay mate you got me, I'm a Belfast unionist who just happens to know all about Pomeroy and football in Pomeroy. It's a major talking point down here all right
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 12/11/2010 19:28:05
Of course Pomeroy never responded to my last message because he's not able to.
The poppy does not serve as a symbol of anti fascism in any shape or form, anyone who thinks that is fooling themselves. If you're into the admirable act of displaying anti fascist symbols then get the flag of the spanish republic, the most anti fascist symbol of all.
Jombo doesn't think the vikings and normans are irish. My god, so was it only the very first man/woman who stepped on the island qualify?? I know plenty of black kids who call themselves irish jimbob, i suppose you don't count them as irish either. as i said, so so naive.
hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 12/11/2010 19:42:33
"Like I said to my ex, it may take a while but eventually you'll get over it."
Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the most pathetic statement ever made on HS. How cool. Anyone who has to bring up these things has insecurities and needs to speak to someone (not on the internet) about their problems.
I once heard advice that if everyone disagrees with you then yield. Good advice.
hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 12/11/2010 19:48:18
My God Hurlin can you really not see when something was a joke? Did you think I was being serious when I said it may take a while for Seanie to get over me refusing to meet him? Sometimes you come across as quite intelligent but then you come out with something like that and it does make me wonder.
As for the message I didn't respond to I fear it got lost in the plethora of comments from the bar-stool brigade. Given the fact you constantly repeat the same question ad nauseum I'm going to assume what it is and answer that I honestly couldn't care less what my club is called. For the 15th time I hope this answers your question. Just to clarify before you ask again I don't care who my club is named after
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 12/11/2010 20:04:25
hurlinspuds County: Cork Posts: 544
You heard it here first folks... The Normans and the Vikings were Irish... boy I was soooo Naive!
Who's going to change the history books? I'm busy over the weekend...
Hahaha I'll leave it at that HS... I'd only be repeating myself...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/11/2010 20:14:33
Pomeroy, I was just looking for recognition for the fact that I never doubted or cared where you are from contrary to what you keep saying. look at it again. I hate repeating myself.
Jimbo, my question for you is how far back to you have to go to be irish?? To me anyone born on the island of ireland is irish and anyone with irish ancestors also have a special place. Where are these vikings now?? Are they going to attack us again jimbo??
Wear your poppys lads. If I had any doubt about not wearing one when I hear your arguments I know I'm right. Really poor. Here's the post again for you PP: Pomeroy failed to quote me questioning whether he was from Pomeroy. He said I did though so it must be true. he probably won't answer this either and he certainly won't find a quote.
The thread you're referring to pomeroy is "are people losing interest in a united ireland?"
Maybe this is the quote from me that you're looking for??
"Just to be clear: I NEVER QUESTIONED WHERE YOU WERE FROM PP. I REALLY DON'T CARE."
I said myself that people from cork and the rest of the republic did not suffer anything like our northern countrymen and we therefore can't have strong opinions on the troubles. Pomeroy likes to rub this in my face. My local town hung out black flags during the hunger strikes, I remember local gun finds by the gardaí, gerry mc cabe was shot 20 minutes from my house, I know people who rioted the night the british embassy was burned. I think the people from the north who actually lived through the troubles have a right to strong opinions while pomeroy and I must take a backseat and if we give an opinion then it should not be a sweeping statement. I also don't care whether you have more than one account pomeroy, you're a final year in college so I sincerely hope you have more to do than make HS accounts. You have strong opinions on a time you never experienced pomeroy, you turn to an internet forum to vent your anger but you are unwilling to go to the agm of pomeroy plunketts and suggest a name change to something less republican. I wonder why???? Money, where and mouth are words that spring to mind.
hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 12/11/2010 20:29:10
I always assumed Pomeroy were named after Oliver Plunkett.................never actually thought of Joseph Mary.
You learn something every day, well some of us do.
Others already know it all.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/11/2010 20:33:49