Poppy Fascism !

I know down in Cork you were untouched by the Troubles. However many up here were. So to say I defend Loyalists when they murdered family members is totally wrong. I don't know why you're constantly repeating that you're sorry, it seems that you see as a slight that the death of family members upsets someone but I honestly hope you wouldn't be so callous. I'll take it at face value and gracefully accept them

'Have I ever said you were not from pomeroy??'

Well yes, you have. You were one of a couple of posters who claimed I couldn't be from Pomeroy and went on to ask me question after question. You're now denying it for some reason. Like I said at the time it is hard to take you seriously when your argument always boils down to 'You're not from Pomeroy'

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/11/2010 19:51:58    814612

A man once said, "there is no such thing as 'history' in Ireland, as each day is a continuation of the consequences of some event that happened before it"!!!

Too true!.....I know of a man in Dunlavin who wont sing a certain song about a massacre in the town during the 1798 rebellion when another man is in his company, because each of their families from 212 years ago were on opposite sides! One of rebel stock, one of yeoman stock!

212 years later and the consequences of an event that we today cannot even fathom are still being played out! And how many more cases like that are there happening around the country over various issues?!

So the man was right!....We do not know 'history' in this country!....The event that happened in the past is still very much alive in how we live our lives!

Maybe this is also the reason why a man once stated that "the Irish are the only race of people in the world that cannot be psychoanalysed"!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 11/11/2010 19:54:59    814615

If your feelings are hurt by an internet forum, I worry for you.

Again, I state I never questioned where you're from because I really don't care. Quote where I questioned it. I actually went to great lengths to say that I didn't care. I made a joke of it. What thread are you talking about??

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 11/11/2010 21:17:38    814704

PomeroyPlunkett

814612 I know down in Cork you were untouched by the Troubles. However many up here were. So to say I defend Loyalists when they murdered family members is totally wrong. I don't know why you're constantly repeating that you're sorry, it seems that you see as a slight that the death of family members upsets someone but I honestly hope you wouldn't be so callous. I'll take it at face value and gracefully accept them

Just a slight correction regards your opening sentence

Oglach Antóin Mac hEachtighearna died on active service on 10th May 1973 Aghafin, Roslea Co. Fermanagh. He was born in St Joseph's Park, Mayfield, Cork
Oglach Diarmaid O'Cruaidhlaoich died on active service on 25th June 1973, Gortin Road, Omagh. He was also born in St Joseph's Park, Mayfield, Cork

So it is untrue to say that Cork was not touched by the troubles. Did I also read in another thread that you would be wearing an Easter Lily this year? If so, why?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 11/11/2010 21:39:56    814733

812113 hurlingdub

812094 Anyway, jimbo, what Snow was talking about was the pressure to wear them, not what they symbolise. I don't agree with anyone being forced to wear a political symbol, which is what the poppy is. Would you agree with evryone who appears on RTE having to wear a tricolour badge?

No one is being forced to wear one as if they lived in a fascist state... that's the point I'm making. To wear a poppy is anything but fascist...

No one is forced to wear one, you are slightly exaggerating there man

Is it not true that all professional footballers in Scotland and England are being forced to wear one this weekend? Do all public broadcasters not have to wear one?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 11/11/2010 21:45:18    814740

hurlinspuds

811711 I would never wear one. I'm not saying the guys who died, irish or otherwise, were not brave, I just feel like they didn't die for me or anything I believe in. By contrast, the easter lilly represents just that - what I believe in and a sacrifice for me.

A friend of mine was in london a few years back and a guy offered to give her a poppy when he saw she wasn't wearing one. She said "no thanks." He pushed her on it and she said "because I'm irish." He said: "you'd be speaking german if it wasn't for us." (How arrogant is that?!) She said: "I'd be speaking irish if it wasn't for you

Best speak of the whole thread

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 11/11/2010 21:47:07    814741

Hurlin it was a thread a couple of weeks ago. I'm not Dell so couldn't be bothered trawling through the boards but either you have a sudden bout of amnesia or you're lying yet again, I know which one I think it is. Omagh I said Cork was untouched by the Troubles, which it was. It saw no Loyalist or Republican violence. The fact two Cork men joined the IRA is completely irrelevant

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/11/2010 21:52:14    814749

Pomeroy

I believe you are NOT telling us who or what you are. I personally don't believe you are from the Nationalist community or a member of the GAA but if you are your views must be coloured by serving with or working for the British Forces. VERY few genuine Nationalists have views as intolerant and biased against the Northern Catholic community as you. Isn't it a coincidence that badmonkey ALWAYS immediately rows in behind anything you say and both of you are very sympathetic to Unionism, Britain, Rangers and the British Forces. As I say NO Nationalists I know have views like that and that makes me question who you are and to what agenda you are working.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 11/11/2010 21:54:08    814750

Well, would it not stand to reason that their families were touched by the troubles every bit as much as yours or mine?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 11/11/2010 21:58:17    814759

Plunkett you must be kidding man,how could we think otherwise of you,you're the square peg insisting that you belong in the round hole.Its hard to believe the things you say are from the mind of a person from Pomeroy,from the nationalist community.I know the thread you are referring about to hurlinspuds.I can't remember if he questioned your being from there but I know I did,and still do,and so did others.Pomeroy posters being the most vocal about it on the Tyrone forum a few months back!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/11/2010 09:01:45    814780

omaghredhand

814740 County: Dublin

812113 hurlingdub

812094 Anyway, jimbo, what Snow was talking about was the pressure to wear them, not what they symbolise. I don't agree with anyone being forced to wear a political symbol, which is what the poppy is. Would you agree with evryone who appears on RTE having to wear a tricolour badge?

No one is being forced to wear one as if they lived in a fascist state... that's the point I'm making. To wear a poppy is anything but fascist...

No one is forced to wear one, you are slightly exaggerating there man

Is it not true that all professional footballers in Scotland and England are being forced to wear one this weekend? Do all public broadcasters not have to wear one?

No one is being forced to wear one as if living in a fascist state. I dont know man..... it seems to wear one in Ireland might also be considered Anti Poppy fascism as in people being forced not to wear one or being abused on the street for wearing one.

It's the same thing... just different ends of the spectrum. Strange that no one see's that... These people feel just as sure of themselves in their beliefs of wearing one, as many of you are of not wearing one.

I really dont care either way... I dont think any of you will be totally free until you stop making such a huge issue out of things surrounding the British... we will forever be linked to one another. That's the way it is... but to be truly free in my view means letting go, that's how I live my life. The British were a super power of the world, if we had been in their position we may have done the exact samething... power corrupts.

Just look at our own government FFS. The past is the past... I will not live my life in the past and form my opinions based on people long since dead and buried.

I guess I grew up... In my teens I was very much into our history and our struggles but then it dawned on me... if I'm building politcal and personal opinions then
to be honest if we're still going to take issue with the British, why not still be pee'd off with Sweden, Denmark, Norway, France and Germany

The Vikings... The Normans.... and the Saxons (Anglo Saxon) They didnt treat us very nicely either... if I'm basing my opinions on history, then these nations have also contributed to our struggle for freedom.

I just let go... I married an English woman, her family are fantastic people, her friends the same and I've been always welcome... and I do the same for them when they come to stay. If they want to wear a poppy in my house... fair enough.

If Germany and the Allies can come together on the 11th November after such horrific blood shed, then I dont think I'm in any postion to ask them to remove their Poppy.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/11/2010 10:04:21    814814

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

seanie_boy
Tyrone
12/11/2010
09:57

Margaret Ritchie to wear Poppy!

What do you think lads? Definitely deserves at least one waterboarding I would say.Do you think it will effect the SDLP vote?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 12/11/2010 10:52:20    814843

'Well, would it not stand to reason that their families were touched by the troubles every bit as much as yours or mine?'

Spanish citizens died during the Troubles. Was Spain involved in the Troubles then?

Ulsterman Hurlin has said I'm not from Pomeroy, numerous posters have claimed I'm Bad_Monkey, Paddy, Patrique or all three but your assertion that I am involved with the British Army blows them out of the water in the stupidity stakes. I salute you sir

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 12/11/2010 12:36:17    814905

'I really dont care either way... I dont think any of you will be totally free until you stop making such a huge issue out of things surrounding the British... we will forever be linked to one another'

Best post on the thread. Alludes at the inferiority complex I mentioned earlier. I await the usual suspects claiming me and Jimbo are one and the same

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 12/11/2010 12:44:22    814913

Pomeroy failed to quote me questioning whether he was from Pomeroy. He said I did though so it must be true. he probably won't answer this either and he certainly won't find a quote.

The thread you're referring to pomeroy is "are people losing interest in a united ireland?"

Maybe this is the quote from me that you're looking for??

"Just to be clear: I NEVER QUESTIONED WHERE YOU WERE FROM PP. I REALLY DON'T CARE."

I said myself that people from cork and the rest of the republic did not suffer anything like our northern countrymen and we therefore can't have strong opinions on the troubles. Pomeroy likes to rub this in my face.
My local town hung out black flags during the hunger strikes, I remember local gun finds by the gardaí, gerry mc cabe was shot 20 minutes from my house, I know people who rioted the night the british embassy was burned. I think the people from the north who actually lived through the troubles have a right to strong opinions while pomeroy and I must take a backseat and if we give an opinion then it should not be a sweeping statement.
I also don't care whether you have more than one account pomeroy, you're a final year in college so I sincerely hope you have more to do than make HS accounts.
You have strong opinions on a time you never experienced pomeroy, you turn to an internet forum to vent your anger but you are unwilling to go to the agm of pomeroy plunketts and suggest a name change to something less republican. I wonder why???? Money, where and mouth are words that spring to mind.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 12/11/2010 13:11:34    814932

Pomeroy... This would have been a far more interesting thread if it was titled "Ploppy Fascism"

We have to get over this damned British thing... Jaysus I mean most of them don't even know why we hate them!

Its pointless hating someone that doesn't have a clue why….!!

If Germany and the Allies can get over two World Wars and work together constructively... then FFS we can do the same with the British, let's show what kind of people we are, this hatred stuff should be kept to the small pocket of bald headed, bulldog tattoo bigots, I'd hope that we'd be better than that...

If not we'll never be truly free... and we're just as bigoted as they are!

Don't forget the past but don't live your life by it. If you're basing your views on how our people have been wronged throughout history... why stop at the British?

There's been plenty of Irish blood shed at the hands of others...Vikings, Normans... etc but also by our own hands...!! You'd swear that Ireland was some sort of perfect little place before the murderous invaders came!

Hah...! We were a deeply divided war mongering people broken up into different factions... which were almost constantly at a state of war with each other. Yeah... feckin paradise!

The course of History has shaped us into the people that we are... and that's the way it's always, always going to be.

If you want to be free… move on.

It's pointless this lark…

The crazy thing is…You may not even exist if it wasn't for these invaders, helping to shape the timeline that you currently find yourself reading this post in...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/11/2010 14:13:06    814971

PomeroyPlunkett Admit it your not from pomeroy as senior players during the year never heard of players metting or other things you claimed which was happening .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 12/11/2010 14:17:54    814978

Jimbob, show me a man who claims to be irish and not viking etc and i'll show you a liar. It's really naive to think that we could possibly be angry over the vikings, normans etc. They are all irish of course!! It was the plantations and religious persecution which divided the people of Ireland. You're right, most of them don't know anything about irish history, maybe they should learn in their schools about their glorious days of rule and how it has worked out all over the world afterwards.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 12/11/2010 14:55:10    815049

Great mark of respect yesterday in Castlebar for the brave Irish soldiers who fought for Ireland and Europe's freedom.

http://www.castlebar.ie/photos/maxone/Fallen-Soldiers.shtml

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 12/11/2010 15:03:09    815061

hurlinspuds

The Vikings and the Normans killed a lot of Irish people man... that's the point I'm making! They invaded these shores...

Raped, and piliged... if your basing your views on history... you should be equally as against these invaders, they stood in the way of Irish freedom too.

Nothing Naive about it man... they slaugtered and raped and changed our Irish blood lines forever... we were invaded long before the Brithish... we had land taken, women raped, men killed... long before the British!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/11/2010 15:05:52    815064