Poppy Fascism !

PomeroyPlunkett

I really didn't realise so many people has this inferiority complex. People from the North like Ulsterman I can understand in a way but the lads down South genuinely surprise me. Independence for nearly a 100 years and yet they still have to prove they're in no way British. Get over it, it's embarrassing.

Almost as embarrassing as the ever so forgiving and forward looking neo-republicans growing up in parts of the north these days.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/11/2010 15:17:43    812841

pomeroyplunkett.
a lot of people on here are giving there reasons as to why they do not want to wear the poppy , i think they have that right , and their right should be respected , just like the same reason why also that people should prefare to wear the poppy that there reason to wear should also be respected and the reasons why they would want people who died in conflicts be rembered in a way , with dignity of course , now you also have to realise that when someone does not want to wear a poppy and the reasons why they do not want to wear it should be respected , after all the reason why a lot of people gave up their lives in both world wars was because of freedom of speech and freedom to have a voice , regardless of what each other think . you should really practice this and think about why people lost their lives against facism and other general reasons for the common good really . i have stated personally before plunkett that i have no problem with anyone remembering their dead displying the poppy that is their right , for the same reason i wear the lily to remember irelands war dead against oppression against the people of this island ... its about mutual respect and understanding of each other and the reasons these wars were fought .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 09/11/2010 18:03:35    813055

i wear one and im from mayo- i take pride in those who fought facism! alot of the comments here would argue black is white as any excuse to calim they are victims of the british crown- the funny part is they remain british citizens. my sister is a teacher in leitrim and said 6 kids in the class were wearing a poppy yesterday and i say fair play to them. would i wear a lilly - never as it is associated with terrorism antics of republicans

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 10/11/2010 12:35:43    813418

liathroidboy.mayo.
that really is a sad post , you are blinded to the fact that brave irish men and women fought and died so you would have your freedom , but are in denial of everthing they fought for or even regonise their existence , you do have a right to not to wear the lily that is your choice , but you do not have the right to disrespect their memory , which i find very sad indeed , now the reality of what you are saying about victims of crown forces atrocities carried out by members of the british army .. this is areality and the cruelty of if can never be disputed , because it is there IN BLACK AND WHITE FOR ALL TO SEE . grow up .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 10/11/2010 12:59:17    813439

liathróid boy, did you read the thread?? I don't think the poppy represents a fight against facism at all. It's rooted in WWI.

So the easter rising rebels are terrorists now??? Another amazing insight from mayo. Almost too ridiculous to answer.

If anyone wants to wear it go ahead, it's not for me and not something to be taken lightly.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 10/11/2010 13:30:17    813470

liathroidboy

813418 i wear one and im from mayo- i take pride in those who fought facism! alot of the comments here would argue black is white as any excuse to calim they are victims of the british crown- the funny part is they remain british citizens. my sister is a teacher in leitrim and said 6 kids in the class were wearing a poppy yesterday and i say fair play to them. would i wear a lilly - never as it is associated with terrorism antics of republicans

You really are a sad little man. The poppy is now representative of all Britsh combatants killed in action. Its original aim use to be it appears to remember the British dead of World War 1. I don't believe that facism was the cause of that war, although I'm open to correction. Why do you think it is funny that we are still considered, in most parts as British citizens? It appears by your posts that you are actually quite jealous that you are not one of Lizzies subjects. It appears to be a familiar trait around the West. I was working in East Belfast yesterday and passed 2 UVF murals, that had the names of deceased members on them. Not 1912 vintage, but 1970 and after. They were coming down with poppy wreaths. Is it then expected that Catholic broadcasters should have to wear poppies despite they are used to commemorate loyalist sectarian killers? The poppy should be a personal choice, no-one should be made wear one or remove one if being worn, however it is an affront to suggest that people should be made wear them. There are many Argentinian footballers who have family and friends butchered by the British in the Falklands, yet are forced by their employers in England and Scotland to wear a poopy commemorating Britains dead? Do people not see that the poppy no longer serves its original purpose. I was also wondering at what stage did remembrance day become remembrance month? I have seen people sporting poopies from the last week or two in October.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 10/11/2010 13:49:09    813492

I find it interesting how many people refuse to support something like the poppy due to the connotations which have been attached to it, yet the same people follow blindly glasgow celtic regardless of the similar conntations attached to the club. Why are the rules different?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/11/2010 14:11:02    813512

I don't support celtic. I don't like soccer. I have a few friends from both communities in glasgow, the greener half of whom consider themselves of irish descent which I've no problem with. I never cheered for celtic yet I consider myself a republican. Don't tar us all with the one brush, stereotyping will get you nowhere.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 10/11/2010 14:20:47    813523

liathroidboy - i hope your threaad was a wind up. if not well im embarresed that you are from mayo. you should be reminded that two brave mayo men died under the british establishment during the hunger strikes - Michael Gaughan and Frank Stagg.
i find it amusing that you seem to admire the british and despise the republicans - mabey you should pick up a history book or mabey you cant read.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 10/11/2010 15:26:12    813602

yew_tree

mabey you should pick up a history book or mabey you cant read.

he cant read, you cant spell - what are they teachin ye over there in the hedge schools lads???!

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 10/11/2010 15:54:38    813618

Some bitter, bitter people on here

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 10/11/2010 16:08:09    813637

pomeroyplunkett.
honestly now and i mean this , i do not think people on here are bitter , they are just given there reasons why they do not want to wear a poppy , and i believe they are well within their right as to why they would not wear one , also plunkett i have stated my reasons why i think the wearing of the poppy should be remembered and respected because of the volume of young lives that were lost in such a horrific manner , and to which many were imprisoned in such terrible conditions in p.o.w camps , they have earned the right to be remembered so ishould have not have a problem with anyone wearing the poppy , and i will never will . but i will also not tolerate bitter comments on the way irish republicans and have their memorys tarnished , they also paid the ultimate price for a freedom of nation and its future generations i find comments especially ones from the west of ireland [ a area which suffered terrible under the famine for example ] degrading and offensive and will never come to understand their logic or reasoning in these comments , now plunkett wear your poppy and remember with pride your relations sacrifice in japan , he has earned that so you would remember him . but also let people have their ipinions and let them wear whatever they like , because its all about free speech and respect of each others dead .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 10/11/2010 16:49:48    813688

10/11/2010 15:54:38
Horse
County: Laois

813618 yew_tree

mabey you should pick up a history book or mabey you cant read.

he cant read, you cant spell - what are they teachin ye over there in the hedge schools lads???!

Gud Pint

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 10/11/2010 17:13:34    813722

In prison cell I sadly sit,
A dammed crestfallen chappie,
And own to you I feel a bit--
A little bit -- unhappy.

It really ain't the place nor time
To reel off rhyming diction ;
But yet we'll write a final rhyme
While waiting crucifixion.

No matter what end they decide
Quick-lime? or boiling oil? sir
We'll do our best when crucified
To finish off in style, sir !

But we bequeath a parting tip
For sound advice of such men
Who come across in transport ship
To polish off the Dutchmen.

If you encounter any Boers
You really must not loot 'em,
And, if you wish to leave these shores,
For pity's sake, don't shoot 'em.

And if you'd earn a D.S.O.,
Why every British sinner
Should know the proper way to go
Is: Ask the Boer to dinner.

Let's toss a bumper down our throat
Before we pass to heaven,
And toast: "The trim-set petticoat
We leave behind in Devon."

An Australian officer shot at dawn after a British court-martial for doing his duty.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 10/11/2010 17:29:37    813741

Forty Five do you have any more details about that poem,the story behind it and the author perhaps?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 10/11/2010 17:52:22    813766

PomeroyPlunkett

813637 Some bitter, bitter people on here

You're the best of value. Just because not everyone fawns at the British Army and their "achievements" means they are bitter. I simply can't comprehend why people are MADE wear a poppy. I can't reconcile Irishmen wanting to help support Britsh servicemen and women who had a major hand in terrorising the people of this country for a considerable period of time. This is what the poppy appeal is for. The act of remembrance is but an aspect of the appeal. I accept that there were Irishmen who signed up to go to war for the British, but most were in a position economically that they had to join to feed their families, others on the basis that home rule was assured if little Ireland helped out its neighbour and a number of career soldiers. Indeed it appears that some regiments and battalions were set up on the basis of the religion of the soldiers. Was this to be able to identify Irish Catholic regiments who were obviously more expendable? As I stated earlier, my Great Grandfather fought in WW2, incidentally he was also awarded a medal by the Old IRA, and I put a poppy on his grave every year, as it was not the habit of the RBL to do so, again I wonder why?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 10/11/2010 18:11:31    813791

omaghredhand.
that was a sound post well said .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 10/11/2010 18:29:58    813806

Liathroidboy - i suppose you think this song is a terrorist song:

Take me home to mayo,across the Irish sea,
Home to dear old Mayo where once I roamed so free,
Take me home to Mayo,and let my body lie,
Home at last in Mayo, beneath an Irish sky.

My name is Michael Gaughin,from Ballina I came,
I saw my country suffering,and swore to break the chains,
I raised the flag in England,prepared to fight or die,
Far away from Mayo,beneath an Irish sky.

My body cold and hungry,in Parkhurst jail I lie,
For the loving of my country,on hunger strike I die,
I have just one last longing,I pray you'll not deny,
Bury me in Mayo,beneath an Irish sky

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 10/11/2010 18:35:26    813813

ta32 you regularly speak of atrocities carried out by the british army, would you also agree that the IRA/nationalist groups also carried out horrific atrocities?

if so how can you wear a lily?

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 10/11/2010 18:41:08    813820

yew_tree.
excellent well put . here here .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 10/11/2010 18:42:33    813823