ta32 County: Tyrone as for listening to the wolfe tones , i do not like them , they just cannot sing end of
ta32 - they not as bad as whats on x factor tho ;)
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 15/11/2010 17:43:09
Patrique, look up ethnic cleansing.
Yes, the north cork militia, which is exactly where I'm from, were a disgrace during '98. Many begged for mercy in irish when ambushed i remember hearing as a boy. They were a mix of catholic and protestants. Disgrace to cork. Luckily, we have many many fine contributions to the republican cause, from both religions, to make up for their shameful actions.
hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 15/11/2010 17:45:55
yew_tree. that fix of a programme what could honestly be worse than the xfactor wagbo and co. ;]
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/11/2010 18:08:26
hurlingspuds. they will not look anything up that does not suit their agenda , nor do they want to see how in history how cork city was burned , our their people were executed and then their houses were burned to the ground , but ye know what out of the ashes of these burned down homes and the memory of their loved ones arose some of the most finest guerilla leaders and soldiers you will ever see , who instead of kneeling and licking the queens cloth , they faced the enemey head on and drove them out of cork . some poeple only see what they want to see , and that includes the continuation of the last and most recent conflict . guilt could be a factor hurlin .
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/11/2010 18:17:30
Dellboypolecat County: Tyrone Posts: 13574
816918 hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 2690
816693 tomaoo7 County: Dublin Posts: 5436
816662 Sad to see another young Irishman from the Royal Irish Regiment died yesterday in afghanistan on poppy day ....May he RIP
Sad to see young Irishmen still getting fooled into fighting for the Brits
That is the only way to describe it fooled pity such young men do this .
I agree and not just Irish lads but English, Scottish and Welsh as well.
However many posters on here, such as Ta32 are fully behind the troops fighting alleged terrorists by invading Afghanistan.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/11/2010 19:02:41
15/11/2010 18:17:30 ta32 County: Tyrone Posts: 3002
817011 hurlingspuds. they will not look anything up that does not suit their agenda , nor do they want to see how in history how cork city was burned , our their people were executed and then their houses were burned to the ground , but ye know what out of the ashes of these burned down homes and the memory of their loved ones arose some of the most finest guerilla leaders and soldiers you will ever see ,
The trouble in Cork ended about two years after the City was burnt, ended for ever. It was burnt well after 1798.
But I am interested in this line "arose some of the most finest guerrilla leaders and soldiers you will ever see" ,as this nicely completes the circle.
The thread is about poppies, and the most famous of those guerrilla leaders was Tom Barry, who fought at the Somme, and who is remembered when people wear a poppy.
Small world indeed.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/11/2010 19:07:46
Great post patrique, he really goes to show how a small bit of knowledge is a very dangerous thing, especially when mixed with ignorance and sectarianism.
Full circle indeed.
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 15/11/2010 21:00:13
Breaking News
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fY19S4_zFXU
tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 15/11/2010 21:34:44
badmonkey. you would never be accused of sectarian comments is that right , all in all with heartwarming love of the nationalist community throughout the country , and pat i am sure the british legion go every year to toms grave and lay a wreath , i know the national graves association do and they were grateful like a lot of irish people were of his dedication and committement for his country . thankfully some of us remember . hoganstand i would appreciate if you would let this through thank you .
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/11/2010 21:40:26
toma007. sounds like ehhhhhhhhhhhh ?
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/11/2010 21:56:42
Anybody heard of the white poppy?
http://www.ppu.org.uk/poppy/
This is a much better way to remember ALL who died in War, without proceeds going to British veterans.
Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 16/11/2010 10:17:14
Patrique, Tom Barry used to lead attacks on poppy sellers in the 1920s! Like my own relatives who had been in the BA in World War I and deserted to join the IRA on their return he certainly did not regard the poppy as having anything to do with him. Associating the poppy with all those needlessly slaughtered in WWI is like saying that the swaztika represents all those Germans slaughtered in Hitler's armies.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/11/2010 10:43:43
hurlingdub. great post .
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 16/11/2010 18:16:44
America did not enter iraq Afghanistan etc to fight so called terrorists , it was over oil.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/11/2010 18:27:01
hurling dub we all have family who fought for the british and who fought against the british so what, will you stop going on about it, and how do you know what tom barry was thinking , just face facts irish people have been fighting for the english for centuries and still are the amount of people on here who feel so inferior to the english is amazing
hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 16/11/2010 18:32:30
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 2700
817336 Patrique, Tom Barry used to lead attacks on poppy sellers in the 1920s! Like my own relatives who had been in the BA in World War I and deserted to join the IRA on their return he certainly did not regard the poppy as having anything to do with him. Associating the poppy with all those needlessly slaughtered in WWI is like saying that the swaztika represents all those Germans slaughtered in Hitler's armies.
WHAT? Have ye lost it completely, talking nonsense?
The POPPY is a symbol, from the GREEN FIELDS OF FRANCE representing the war dead, especially from the first world war.
The Swastika was the emblem of a political party.
Now unlike most on here, they was NEVER, EVER, anyone from either side of my family in the British Army, but I do know where the symbol came from.
Young lads with no future foolishly join the army and get killed. I can understand that but personally I would starve first, as obviously would my extended family over the years.
Those who foolishly fought for King and Country should be looked after by KING and COUNTRY and not have to rely on charity, like beggars in the street. That is why I personally have never, ever BOUGHT a poppy. I am not going to subsidise economic wars.
But if people want to buy and a poppy and wear one, fair play to them that is their choice.
However to return to the title of the thread, FORCING newsreaders and premiership footballers to wear one is indeed poppy fascism.
pS: Tom Barry beginning to sound like Churchill, on a different side every week.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/11/2010 20:50:43
great post hurlingdub. I don't think tom barry or any of his comrades ex BA who joined the RA would have thought of the poppy as anything to do with them. I don't like any overtly political symbols. I don't think obvious religious symbols are a good idea either. I think its a good idea for a society to not start promoting these things as people are entitled to their beliefs and if not wearing something gets you in trouble then its just a bit sad. Politicians wearing those symbols for longer and longer periods each year is also a dangerous and unwanted thing.
I never had any family in the BA, thank god, and so I've zero interest in wearing something that celebrates a foreign army. They never fought for anything I believe in. I'm not judging any Irish person for wearing one but I think you should seriously think about it first.
Also, I already asked and no one answered: If the poppy does represent the BA from WWII then does it represent all the BA in all campaigns. In which case are the black and tans and all regiments who served in Ireland over the past 400 years included. That would include all those involve in collusion, bloody sunday paras, the croker massacre, all those who provided escort for grain to be exported during the famine etc etc.
hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 16/11/2010 21:28:26
hurlinspuds County: Cork Posts: 554
818072 great post hurlingdub
Totally confused now. The rest of Spuds post mirrors mine, so we are in agreement.
Yet I think HurlingDub is in the opposite camp.
Strange but that's life.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/11/2010 21:35:11
Incase you forgot Patrique Tom Barry did not die in arms fighting for the British.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/11/2010 21:43:49
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 2701
is like saying that the swaztika represents all those Germans slaughtered in Hitler's armies.
I read you to mean Germans who fought for Hitler? If so then as far as im concerned the swaztika does represent them. They wore it and they fought for it. They murdered millions under its banner. Now you want to give them a pass? Frankly if I was a german whose grandparents fought for Hitler I would be ashamed and would associate them with the Nazi party and the Swaztika. The germans have never fully recompensed for their crimes. In fact it was the innocent Palestinians who have been bearing the brunt of European guilt. If the germans were serious about paying for their crimes they wouldnt have allowed someone else to shoulder their burden.
Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 17/11/2010 10:38:22