Poppy Fascism !

listen respect each others reasons to wear the poppy or not to wear it . i wear the lily to honour irelands dead every year . let people wear their poppy also so that they can honour their dead . regardless were they have came from . a lot of good people lossed their lives in both wars ww1 and 2 . and also the ones who have died for irish freedom . there is a common bond there for all conflicts and the people who have died in them . wear or not to wear . but always remember the reasons why people sacrificed everything .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 07/11/2010 22:04:08    811669

Now Plunkett you'd be doing well to make less presumptions on many matters.Its not like you will be bouncing around the bars in Pomeroy with yours as the choice piece of your wardrobe any time soon now, is it?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/11/2010 08:11:18    811674

Pomeroy I had relations who fought in WWI after they were conned into going by the Home Rule Party. They came back, deserted and then fought with the IRA to try to free this country. Persumably they lost friends in France and Belguim and thought well of them. They did not however wear a poppy because the poppy was seen as glorifying an appalling slaughter of millions in a petty squabble between British and German imperialism. It is still an imperialist symbol and in this country the only ones who wear them from the 'nationalist' side are people who make no secret of their sympathies with British imperialism. Nothing to do with remembering the poor ******** who were tricked into dying in the trenches.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/11/2010 08:23:30    811680

So Pomeroy will you be wearing a Lilly come Easter. I wont wear a red poppy because it has and continues to be used as a symbol of division in the 6 counties. You being an educated fairminded young man should know this. I would suggest that should you wish to remember and honour the brave Irishmen that died with the allies in the world wars you should wear a white poppy which commemorates all dead in all wars. However the military hawks witin the british legion and the british establishment not only oppose the idea of honouring all dead they actively work to prevent the distribution of the white poppy.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 08/11/2010 08:32:12    811686

I would never wear one. I'm not saying the guys who died, irish or otherwise, were not brave, I just feel like they didn't die for me or anything I believe in. By contrast, the easter lilly represents just that - what I believe in and a sacrifice for me.

A friend of mine was in london a few years back and a guy offered to give her a poppy when he saw she wasn't wearing one. She said "no thanks." He pushed her on it and she said "because I'm irish." He said: "you'd be speaking german if it wasn't for us." (How arrogant is that?!) She said: "I'd be speaking irish if it wasn't for you." Sums up my feelings on it. I live in the UK and have no intention of wearing one. Young men sent to their death for absolutely no reason in the first world war. England forced into a fight that was admirable in WWII. Who is always the real loser?? The young working class guys who must die.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 08/11/2010 10:01:29    811711

Derryman I will be wearing a lily come Easter. So people won't wear a poppy because it's a symbol of division, a symbol hijacked by Loyalists. If you're willing to let these people dictate to you than so be it. I'm capable of being the bigger person and showing my respect for these brave souls regardless of the fact that some narrow-minded people may view it as being as a Protestant symbol. I think you all need to get over your inferiority complex

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 08/11/2010 10:40:54    811736

derryman.
i agree with derryman , just respect it and not try and impose something on someone who wishes not to wear it . anyway i honestly never knew there was a white poppy available , is this to commerate all the dead of the wars is that correct , that would be respecting all the dead soldiers regardless of which side they were on, hurlinspuds you are correct there , they are people who are arrogant on this , and they will use it as a tool for division , instead of the real reason why it should be distrubited , it was the working class that usually fights and dies in these conflicts anyway , by the way your friend gave a great response to him about our language that was the proper response to someone who did not know any better .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 08/11/2010 10:56:38    811752

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch; be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields.

First World War poem by John McCrae

watched a programme last night by Fergal Keane the 1st World war from above, the futility of that war were Millions died for what a few feet of land,the once beautiful medieval city of Ypres reduced to rubble , my Grand father fought at the Somme and Passchendaele along with 8 of his other brothers He and only 2 other brothers came home from that battle I always think thank God we didn't have to fight in either world war one or two, also to those pen pushers in Whitehall and the Whitehouse shame on you sending young men and women to fight illegal wars in the middle east for what? Oil ,Minerals shame shame on you.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 08/11/2010 11:03:31    811762

How in Gods name will my wearing a poppy show that I do not have an inferiority complex. And how does not wearing one show that I have? What an idiotic presumption!

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 08/11/2010 11:41:15    811801

Exactly forty five. People are trying to claim now that WWI was about democracy. Total rubbish. Was between three branches of one inbred gang of thieves. And they showed exactly what they thought of democracy when we voted for independence in 1918. Sent in the Tans!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/11/2010 11:48:44    811808

'How in Gods name will my wearing a poppy show that I do not have an inferiority complex. And how does not wearing one show that I have? What an idiotic presumption! '

You refuse to wear a poppy as you view it as a Unionist symbol. You're not confident or comfortable enough in your Irishness to say sod what people think, I want to honour Ireland's dead. Be comfortable with who you are friend

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 08/11/2010 13:07:59    811899

Linking the poppy to fascism is very disrespectful to be honest... and overwhelmingly exaggerated!

It's actually anti-fascist to wear a poppy when you think about it... the poppy represents those who fought against fascism

Jeeze you just can win with some whingers can you!!

Poppy fascism… Pffhhh!

If it was truly a fascist state Mr Snow would have been dragged out of the CH4 building by his nostril hair for making such a comment… and he'd vanish nice and quick from the airwaves.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/11/2010 13:47:20    811938

I was under the impression the poppy was purely for wwI dead. Am I wrong?? Is it also for WWII??

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 08/11/2010 14:20:45    811964

PomeroyPlunkett

Derryman I will be wearing a lily come Easter.

Why? Oh yes it must be in commemoration of the brave Joseph Plunkett who you have honorably defended as your clubs patron.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/11/2010 14:22:58    811968

It's actually anti-fascist to wear a poppy when you think about it... the poppy represents those who fought against fascism

The poppy as hurlinspuds correctly points out is a WWI symbol based on the poppies of the killing fields of Flanders where millions died for sweet damn all.

If the poppy represents British soldiers who fought in WWII (and fair play to them and I do make a distinction) it also commemorates those who executed the 1916 leaders and burnt my Grandmothers house over her head when she was 5 and who murdered unarmed protestors in Derry in January 1972. Hope you can see where I am coming from ;-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/11/2010 14:54:35    812004

hurlinspuds

811964 I was under the impression the poppy was purely for wwI dead. Am I wrong?? Is it also for WWII??

The poppy represents every soldier...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/11/2010 14:57:43    812008

If you want to honour the dead you do not have to wear anything at all on your coat. You can go to some quiet place and spend some quiet time thinking about the young men of the past. If i want to honour the dead of my family i do not have to wear a family crest !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 08/11/2010 15:09:48    812016

812008 hurlinspuds

811964 I was under the impression the poppy was purely for wwI dead. Am I wrong?? Is it also for WWII??

The poppy represents every soldier...
---------------------------
Thats right, including those who fought gallantly in the Boer war, Aden, Cyprus, Malaya, Kenya, Suez, Falklands and other wars in that most noble of causes, namely the preservation of the British empire and its overseas territories.

You wearing yours with pride Jimbo?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/11/2010 15:20:47    812030

hurlingdub

812004 jimbodub

The poppy as hurlinspuds correctly points out is a WWI symbol based on the poppies of the killing fields of Flanders where millions died for sweet damn all.

If the poppy represents British soldiers who fought in WWII (and fair play to them and I do make a distinction) it also commemorates those who executed the 1916 leaders and burnt my Grandmothers house over her head when she was 5 and who murdered unarmed protestors in Derry in January 1972. Hope you can see where I am coming from ;-)

The poppy represents soldiers who fought against fascism... I dont see why bringing Irsh history into the argument has anything to do with that fact.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/11/2010 15:34:21    812045

hurlingdub

812004 jimbodub

That's all I'm saying folks. I wouldnt go agreeing with Jon Snow on this one... the poppy represents soldiers who fought against fascism.

I dont see what our own history has anything to do with that fact. I dont need to be reminded of it... I know it well enough. Thanks all the same...

It might also be argued that if the British hadnt of murdered the leaders of the Easter Rising that we may be in a very different country... but again what has this got to do with anything regarding Mr Snows comments.. do you see what I'm getting at :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/11/2010 15:47:09    812054