Louth & Martin Sludden - time to move on ?

Well actually Kevin Rielly did the best job on Bernard Brogan. He would have got an All-Star if he had 2 decent corner backs beside him.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 02/11/2010 18:03:39    808180

Ye its time to forget it and focus on putting it right in 2011.

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 02/11/2010 18:12:03    808191

12Royal

808180 Well actually Kevin Rielly did the best job on Bernard Brogan. He would have got an All-Star if he had 2 decent corner backs beside him.

Tell me this is a wind up post ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/11/2010 18:28:52    808213

yes time to move on

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 02/11/2010 19:08:53    808261

Time to move on.

He should be allowed to ref in Tyrone, but that is all. No inter county games, no club championship games.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 02/11/2010 19:57:18    808319

On behalf of all decent, honourable Meath gaels I would like to wish Martin every success with his future refereeing endeavours.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 02/11/2010 21:32:18    808405

Well what else are they going to do? Wallow in their on self pity and hamper their chances in 2011? Cos that would be a sensible approach.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 03/11/2010 08:04:18    808446

Ah come on lads, it ain't gonna change anything now. The Louth co board have little to be moaning about at this stage.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 03/11/2010 10:19:05    808497

louth can whinge about what happened and we were robbed syndrome. the biggest injustice in all of this was how that referee was treated after the game. right/wrong he deservesw respect and that was no way to treat another human being. the other wrong in all this is the failure of the Louth co board to name the individual that attacked mark ward an unused sub on the meath team who was attacked by a louth "Fan". also the abuse and animocity in the stands that day was awful by so called louth supporters. time to get your own house in order first before you start going on about sludden back refereeing being a disgrace. ye were the disgrace here in all this.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 03/11/2010 10:20:28    808501

Glad to see that all believe it is time to move on, a lot of people have suffered over what happened that day (including a certain Meath manager) and its time to forger about it for the good of both Louth and Meath, pity that delegate had to drag it up in the contaxt he did really.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 03/11/2010 10:21:54    808502

Whatever about the Louth lads, the Meath lads still have plenty to say!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 03/11/2010 10:44:06    808523

So because Martin Sludden was selected to referee a senior club championship game, does this mean he is still considered the best referee in Tyrone?

If so, it just about sums up the quality of officials within my county.

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 03/11/2010 10:52:04    808530

If you look at the video playback of the goalmouth incident, you will see that the Umpire consulted, said to the Referee, 'thats not a goal ref' twice. The referee told him to raise his flag, as he was going to give a penalty anyway for the foul on Sheridan, so he would let the goal stand.

I'd like to know what refereeing rule book he got that in, as its not in the one I've read. The Man lost the plot completely in my opinion and Louth lost the game because of it. I still agree that the powers that be should have instructed a replay or something else. It shouldn't have been up to Meath. Sure look they can't make up their mind up on anything even their new manager.

This will run & run.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 749 - 03/11/2010 11:30:59    808562

Time is agreat healer - but it will take a long time for decent gaa followers to get over that injustice - it will still be there in 2011 - as aresult come on anybody but meath...........

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 03/11/2010 12:43:06    808633

Ive no grievance with man continuing to referee, he looks like hes got himself a bit fitter too.

I haven't seen enough of him refereeing to judge how good or bad he is overall.

His appointment to a Ulster Club match was no business of anybody in the Louth CB the other night, it didn't concern us.

That said, Ive no particular love for the guy. Not necessarily for his error but for his arrogance in making it & standing round on the field like he was ready to box.

For the life of me I cant understand how anybody can claim hes the victim & not the Louth team.

A bit of jostling is all that happened,completely blown out of proportion because of when & were it happened.Far worse happened down the country in club matches last year.

Hes a brave man in fairness coming back, because the next messup he makes will be massively under the spotlight too.

pundit2 (Louth) - Posts: 597 - 03/11/2010 13:59:39    808693

Eh lads,the actual fact of the matter is JP ROONEY cost Louth the Leinster,had he not kicked the ball away twice,you's would have your Leinster title,as the ref added the time on for jp's act of 'sportsmanship'.time to get off sludden's back and see the match as it really happened.

boots96 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 03/11/2010 14:39:24    808733

Cuchulainn35, why make statements like that, why do you feel that Meath should be continually seen as the reason for all this in 2011, what did Meath do wrong? I agree about the injustice part but dont continue to rag on Meath, if officials make a b***s of it then its the officials fault and those who appointed him must face questioning as regards the suitability and competence of that official, dont expect a competing county to clean up that sorry mess and give them an easy way out.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 03/11/2010 14:58:29    808748

Didn't you get your sympathy All Star, time to move on, win it next year.

urizen (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 03/11/2010 15:03:05    808752

boots96, good point and one that is often overlooked as were several other things that day

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 03/11/2010 15:05:27    808755

I thought he was taking up refereeing in rugby?
It was a terrible error be made on the day. He compounded it by not even looking to consult the umpires. I don't think it will ever be forgotten, just like the ref who blew up early in '98. He probably cost Clare the back-to-back that year. Terrible.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8906 - 03/11/2010 15:08:10    808760