All things in moderation
derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 03/11/2010 19:53:45
cavan_slasher. ok. slasher thanks for that , they would more than likely have to carrie those tests in the barracks performed by a doctor , but how do they conclude this when they stop someone who under the influence of narcotics . i.e is there a test on the spot ?
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 03/11/2010 19:55:19
Ta32,
No test on the spot. Its the analysis of the blood or urine. I suppose if they can't smell drink they can request a sample and send it away to their laboratory to be tested for drugs !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/11/2010 20:07:23
cavan_slasher. thanks for that .
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 03/11/2010 20:19:14
Bad news for those hoping to make fortunes out of legalizing cannabis, unless it is from tourists.
Legalising cannabis as in California, Holland and recently Portugal, sees a dramatic DECREASE in usage. By up to about 50 to 60%. Experts believe this a case of young people simply saying "who wants a kick from something legal".
The news that up to 60% stop using the stuff should be good news to those opposed to cannabis but somehow i doubt it.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 04/11/2010 09:35:02
JonSmith
Wow man you need to mellow out a little, your far too highly strung here. I suggest heading out to your local dealer, getting yourself a nice little 50 bag, a load of snacks and a copy of Darkside, I'm telling you nothing is more relaxing mate. By the way I agree with about dealers, I hate lining there pockets aswell but unfortunately its a necessary evil in many countries due to the out-dated laws. Anyway I only do it about 3 times a year because I'm a non smoker so it doesn't really bother me that much. Oh and finally, you can check all of my arguments, I never ever point to any other harmful, legal products to strengthen my argument so check mate there aswell Johnny boy.
patrique
Legalising cannabis as in California, Holland and recently Portugal, sees a dramatic DECREASE in usage. By up to about 50 to 60%. Experts believe this a case of young people simply saying "who wants a kick from something legal".
Legalising cannabis reduces drug use!!! Well hell, all the more reason to scrap those silly laws then, good man patrique, your like a walking advertisement for the ending of cannabis persecution.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/11/2010 12:20:22
"A necessary evil" Typical rubbish here from your sort Htaem not willing to take responsibility for the consequences of your actions. Doesn't care about law and order as long as your own pathetic needs are satisfied. You can't come up with any sort of reasoned argument so you resort to telling me I need to calm down.. I thought when you said you would post when you had time that you would even attempt to make some valid argument, I should have known better. At least your freely admitting that you don't give a damn about society, you'll do as you please.
Patrique Cannabis is not legal in California yet anyways. But your right it would lead to people taking harder drugs if they only want illegal highs, great argument for not legalising.
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 04/11/2010 14:31:21
Ah sure look it whats a vaild argument to a bigoted conservative like yourself Johnny Boy, you lot generally ignore reality and instead point to biased 'facts' to get your points across. I'm guessing that people like me who use weed recreationally maybe 3 or 4 times a year at most get lumped into the same category as hardened heroin users in your books then ye? Anyway what are you afraid of, despite what you want to believe weed ain't that dangerous of a drug, or course smoking is dangerous we all know that, I don't even smoke myself but I do enjoy the very occasional spliff. Now exactly what is so deeply wrong with that, please tell me because I'm at a loss here and I badly need to hear from someone with far superior morals like yourself Jon.
At least your freely admitting that you don't give a damn about society, you'll do as you please.
I don't give a damn about those who have ruined our society and I really think your seriously deluded if your going to blame people like me for the current state of our society. I'm no angel but I certainly don't walk around with the holier than thou attitude your after portraying of yourself here.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/11/2010 15:56:24
Are you buying a bullet every time you purchase cannabis from a dealer ? Some people believe so !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/11/2010 16:07:38
Student drank lethal amount of alcohol at party, inquest finds 04/11/2010 - 14:56:28 The Coroners court in Cork has heard that a UCC student died after drinking a lethal amount of alcohol at a party in his apartment.
Gary Murphy, 19, from Granstown in Co Waterford, had been celebrating his team winning the U-21 hurling final the previous day.
Gary Murphy and his friends were having a party at Victoria Mills Student Accommodation.
The 19-year old drank around a quarter of a litre of vodka straight for a dare.
He began stumbling around and was put to bed but his lips and face began turning blue and an ambulance was called.
He was rushed to CUH were he remained in a coma for several days until he passed away on December 17, 2009.
A post mortem found that his blood alcohol level was nearly eight times over the legal driving limit and that the amount of alcohol he drank caused his heart to stop.
Speaking at his inquest today, his father Liam said he was deeply loved by his family who miss him terribly.
He described him as a lovely lad who trained hard all year for his hurling team, who loved life and loved being a student in Cork.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 04/11/2010 16:15:31
Are you buying a bullet every time you purchase cannabis from a dealer ? Some people believe so !!
Sad thing is you probably are, I'd far rather that money went to something useful like, state healthcare or the old age pension but it doesn't and thats the way it is.
Also I'd be curious to hear what the nay sayers would have to say about people growing their own purely for personal use, is that as bad as buying it off dealers???
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/11/2010 16:26:51
Again more argument with lots of attempts to belittle me and but lacking any substantial argument. Studies by people a lot better versed on the subject than you or I have shown that use of Cannabis can have serious adverse effects on users. You can't just shut your eyes to that. But no the typical response from users is that "it's not harmful" Ignore all the evidence to the contrary good lad. Why are you so reluctant to admit that you are on of the people in the country guilty of funding scumbags who terrorise the country? Now you may be less guilty than others but guilty nonetheless. And the only excuse you have is that you believe it's a "necessary evil" to fund murderers because you want to get stoned..
If your willing to accept the consequences of your actions at least admit it: You help fund scumbag murderers and you don't care about the damage they do to society as long as you got your kicks.
Breffni are you one of the people who thinks stating the dangers of alcohol is in some way an argument for legalising cannabis?
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 04/11/2010 16:45:13
JonSmith County: Cavan Posts: 805
Be very careful throwing stones Jon... you might end up hitting someone very close to you.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/11/2010 16:49:15
No JS, but a lot of people seem to be very blase about the dangers of alcohol and extreme about the dangers of everything else.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 04/11/2010 16:49:57
I'm not trying to belittle you Jon, I get the feeling from your posts that, that would be a pointless exercise anyway because you clearly consider yourself above me. Now don't try to twist my words either, I acknowledge that cannabis isn't good for you and I never tried to say it was but fact of the is matter whether you like it or not, cannabis isn't a particulally harmful drug and the only reason its illegal is because theres social stigma attached to it plain and simple.
Now I know people that cannabis has harmed (about 5% of the users I know) and the only reason it harmed them was because they were heavy smokers and they did it everyday, now if you do drugs everyday thats never going to be a good thing unless your on prescription, every fool knows that. Anyway you seriosuly need wake up and acknowledge that inforcing these laws hasn't worked and that regulating cannabis is a far, better, more humane, logical way of dealing with the problem. Finally I was just wondering what your thoughts would be on people growing their own cannabis purely for personal use, is that as bad as buying it off dealers do you reckon?
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/11/2010 17:09:35
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 7000
Be very careful throwing stones Jon... you might end up hitting someone very close to you.
The truth is there Jimbo, it applies to everyone while Cannabis remains illegal, whether it's Htaem or one of my family I'd say the same thing. It's completely irresponsible and people should cop on and realise the consequences.
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 3943
809647 No JS, but a lot of people seem to be very blase about the dangers of alcohol and extreme about the dangers of everything else.
Then surely this is at best an argument for banning alcohol instead of legalising drugs? Is one legalised drug not enough or indeed too much?
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 04/11/2010 17:32:53
Aside from the psychoactive effects of ingesting cannabis, which has given us divided opinions, let us not overlook its usefulness as a plant. You can get 4 times as much paper from an achre of hemp as you will from trees, and other textiles can be made from it. It can even be engineered to take out the ingredient that gets people stoned. I heard that the US government encouraged farmers to grow it during the war before making it illegal again afterwards.
Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 04/11/2010 17:58:23
JonSmith County: Cavan Posts: 806
Patrique Cannabis is not legal in California yet anyways. But your right it would lead to people taking harder drugs if they only want illegal highs, great argument for not legalising.
Jon the main reason for not legalising is that the big chemical firms who pedal hard drugs (valium/prozac) would lose millions, because no one would be using that addictive stuff if they could get cannabis. Couldn't have that could we.
Also legalising it would cut out 95% of inner city crime and such, but then what could we blame for other ills? Society? The Government? Much easier to blame drugs for everything.
Finally terrorists/freedom fighters obtain 95% of their funding from drugs. We wouldn't want to defeat these lads would we and stop large companies from earning billions from the war on drugs and terror?
No no, much better to ban cannabis.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 04/11/2010 18:24:01
Do you write all your own stuff Patrique ?
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/11/2010 18:33:51
Jon the main reason for not legalising is that the big chemical firms who pedal hard drugs (valium/prozac) would lose millions, because no one would be using that addictive stuff if they could get cannabis. Couldn't have that could we.
Also legalising it would cut out 95% of inner city crime and such, but then what could we blame for other ills? Society? The Government? Much easier to blame drugs for everything.
Legalising Cannabis would solve 95% of inner city crime? No it wouldn't as you still have heroine and cocaine. You could legalise those too but the crimes by drug dealers would be replaced by the crimes of the increased number of addicts to feed their habit. Cause and effect Pat. Surely these huge chemical firms would be pushing to have Cannabis legalised for medicinal purposes as they would be the ones producing it and would stand to make a fortune.
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 04/11/2010 19:02:32