Suas Sios County: All Posts: 647
808493 I saw the profeesor on bbc news yesterday morning and I agree that a new approach is needed to alcohol. I am not exaggerating when I say that EVERY family I know has been affected negatively in one way or another by drink. I don't know what we should do about it. It is probably a bad idea to go for prohibition of alcohol but I agree that other less harmful (to the individual and society at large) drugs should be decriminalised. We should have the right to keep a few cannabis plants for personal use if we choose.
Agreed, a completely victimless crime.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 03/11/2010 10:23:38
We should have the right to keep a few cannabis plants for personal use if we choose.
I'd love to see a party with that heading for their next election campaign, seriously I'd vote for them! Can't see why the Greens aren't passionate about weed either, its a naturally occurring plant and they're mad about that sort of stuff, well that and their popularity couldn't possibly plummet any further.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/11/2010 11:30:25
no one is advocating drug driving cavanslasher? Are you saying that because there is a possibility that people taking drugs might drive then the drug should be banned altogether? Wouldnt that also apply for alcohol?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/11/2010 11:32:48
WE COULD MAKE HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS... WHILE INVENTING A NEW SECTOR OF AGRICULTURE IN THIS COUNTRY
WE'LL CUT CRIME OVERNIGHT... SAVING MILLIONS ON DRUG PREVENTION
WE'LL ATTRACT THOUSDANDS UPON THOUSANDS OF EXTRA TOURISTS TO THE COUNTRY HAPPY TO BE SPENDING MONEY
THIS WILL BOOST MANY SECTORS THAT ARE CURRENTLY STRUGGLING.. BOOSTING OUR ECONOMY
WE SHOULD LEGALISE CANNABIS AND BECOME THE NEW AMSTERDAM... DUBLIN IS KNOWN AROUND THE WORLD AS A PARTY CITY AS IT IS!!!!!!!!!
THE MARKETING OPPORTUNITIES ARE ENDLESS...ENDLESS - A HASH LEAF IN THE SHAPE OF A SHAMROCK ETC... MERCHANDISE SALES... HUGE REVENUE
WE NEED TO START THINKING OUTSIDE THE BOX
WE'LL MAKE MILLIONS, WHILE SAVING MILLIONS... WHILE BOOSTING MANY SECTORS OF INDUSTRY AND FINALLY TAKE THE CONTROL OUT OF THE DEALERS HANDS
THE PRO'S FAR, FAR, FAR OUTWEIGHT THE CONS.... THE COUNTRY IS ON IT'S KNEE
LETS JUST FECKING DO IT......!! IT'LL FECKING WORK...........!!
WE NEED TO START THINKING OUTSIDE THE BOX....... OUR COUNTRY HAS FAILED!!
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/11/2010 12:00:29
WE COULD MAKE HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS... WHILE INVENTING A NEW SECTOR OF AGRICULTURE IN THIS COUNTRY
I already have the land jimbo, if it ever does become legal I'll need someone the test out my product, I could make you head of quality control if your interested? Skins and many many packets of crisps provided of course.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/11/2010 12:09:47
Htaem County: Meath Posts: 2010
808595 jimbodub
I already have the land jimbo, if it ever does become legal I'll need someone the test out my product, I could make you head of quality control if your interested? Skins and many many packets of crisps provided of course. _________________________________
Hahaha Excellent stuff!! I'm telling you though chief... in a rural country and with so many people involved in the agricultural sector... it would certainly create a great opportunity for people to diversify a little! And make some cash for themselves! And hey… as far as I'm aware that's good news!
I'm teeling ya man.. with the whole Cead Mile Failte buzz that we already have going on... we could completely invent a whole new industry involving drugs tourism and the good buzz associated with Cannabis!
I'd gladly take on the job if you throw in a few lion bars... Anytime I go to Amsterdam, I stop off at this little corner shop and buy a bag full of Lion bars!!
The perfect bar for such smoky conditions...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/11/2010 12:30:56
Hahaha Excellent stuff!! I'm telling you though chief... in a rural country and with so many people involved in the agricultural sector... it would certainly create a great opportunity for people to diversify a little! And make some cash for themselves! And hey… as far as I'm aware that's good news!
I'm teeling ya man.. with the whole Cead Mile Failte buzz that we already have going on... we could completely invent a whole new industry involving drugs tourism and the good buzz associated with Cannabis!
I'd gladly take on the job if you throw in a few lion bars... Anytime I go to Amsterdam, I stop off at this little corner shop and buy a bag full of Lion bars!!
The perfect bar for such smoky conditions...
I agree with you 100% on this one, agriculture is a dead in the water for small time farmers in Ireland (well certainly old school moany farmers like my aul lad anyway), we had to rent our place out a few years ago because we couldn't afford to run it anymore. I'm telling you though, I would absolutely love an opportunity to grow cannabis legally, sure the neighbours probably wouldn't like it, but I'm sure if I gave them a few free samples their mood mellow rapidly.
Plus it would do a lot for spud farmers because the demand for chips would probably increase by about 2000% and as you said tourism would rise dramatically so the government would make an absolute fortune if they just abandoned these silly out-dated laws. Anyway its been proven to work in Amsterdam so theres no need too keep making criminals out of ordinary recreational users.
Lion bars eh, the purrrrfect choice jimbo :-) ah no I apologise for that one. Last time I was in the dam I stocked up on m&ms and whatever bloody crisps I could get my hands on (sure basically every brand tasted like heaven at the time), I also poisoned myself on that horrible FEBO food a couple of times!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/11/2010 13:00:20
I have noted a trend recently amongst certain posters whereby as well as calling for the legalisation of what they they refer to as 'soft drugs', there have been growing calls for more liberalisation in the gambling laws and one previous topic even advocated the legalistion and regulation of prositution. My question is lads, just what kind of country do you want to live in? Do you really believe that creating a new tourism for stoners, sex addicts and serious gamblers as a way out for Ireland, do the benefits really outweigh the potential downside, and just what would that do for the reputation of the country? Do you want Ireland to morph into some sort of hybrid of the Netherlands, Macau and Thailand.
Serious question, hoping for some serious answers and by certain posters, I believe you know who I'm referring to.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 03/11/2010 13:04:19
brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 2776
808644 I have noted a trend recently amongst certain posters whereby as well as calling for the legalisation of what they they refer to as 'soft drugs', there have been growing calls for more liberalisation in the gambling laws and one previous topic even advocated the legalistion and regulation of prositution. My question is lads, just what kind of country do you want to live in? Do you really believe that creating a new tourism for stoners, sex addicts and serious gamblers as a way out for Ireland, do the benefits really outweigh the potential downside, and just what would that do for the reputation of the country? Do you want Ireland to morph into some sort of hybrid of the Netherlands, Macau and Thailand.
Serious question, hoping for some serious answers and by certain posters, I believe you know who I'm referring to.
I wouldn't go as far as some of the posters here, but we have the disgraceful drinking culture, so what is the big hangup about a sex culture or a drug culture (despite the drinking culture being within the drug culture umbrella)?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 03/11/2010 14:43:24
Brefni, do you honestly believe thats an image befitting of a supposedly modern and progressive European state? Red light districts, Dutch style 'cafe culture', for want of a better description and a few super casinos thrown in for good measure. Is this all that left for Ireland to 'aspire' to?
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 03/11/2010 14:55:45
Short-term effects of hash
* · relaxation · altered perception · paranoia · dilated pupils · impaired concentration & memory · dry mouth & throat. · increased heart rate. · fear & anxiety. · cravings for sweets, referred to by drug users as, "munchies". (bibliography http://www.newdirectionsprogram.com/marijuana.html)" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.newdirectionsprogram.com/marijuana.html) * Muscular incoordination, slurred speech, nausea, vomiting, constipation, diarrhea and reddening of the eyes. * Concentration, short-term memory, driving ability, stability, balance, ability to process information and judgement are all markedly impaired. * User feels calm, relaxed, talkative and giddy. * Sensory perception seems enhanced, colors brighter, sounds more distinct. * Appetite, reaction time, pulse rate and pupil size are increased. * Sense of time and space distorted. * Some users withdraw, or experience fearfulness, spontaneous laughter, anxiety, depression; users experience hallucinations, paranoia and panic reactions with larger doses and symptoms worsen in persons with psychiatric disorders, particularly schizophrenia.
Long-term effects of hash
* · reduced levels of male & female hormone · damage to sperm or menstrual cycles · temporary loss of fertility in men and women · addiction · loss of motivation clinically referred to as , "Amotivational syndrome" (this loss of interest in motivation to work, attend school, loss of interest in sports, family, etc can also just be a symptom of drug addiction in general) · lung damage, cancer, bronchitis · lowered ability to deal with frustration and other unpleasant feelings · decrease of immunity against infection · interferes with emotional growth and the personality development of adolescents (bibliography http://www.newdirectionsprogram.com/marijuana.html)" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.newdirectionsprogram.com/marijuana.html) * Increased risk of cancers, of the oral cavity, pharynx, and esophagus. * Respiratory system damaged by smoking. * Disruption in menstrual cycle, decreased sperm count, possible congenital abnormalities are also some of the effects. * Psychological effects include panic reactions, psychosis, a motivational syndrome, diminished drive, lessened ambition and decreased motivation. * Impaired educational attainment and significant adjustment problems.
paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 03/11/2010 14:57:41
brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 2776
Sure Brend we're already thought of as Drunks... The Cannabis thing can actually be handled quite tastefully... with a Cafe type culture. Far more respectable to the drinking culture and all the problems associated with that particular drug. I've been to Amsterdam a dozen times at this stage and for the life of me… the place just works.
It's been legalised in other countries and no one looks down their nose at them... I see these countries as being very progressive and have turned a supposed problem into a profit.
Most of the points you've raised already exist in this country and are actually thriving... If it's already here why not control it! Why not take the power away from the criminals…
We're fighting a losing battle Brend... one that cannot be won! Look at the American Governments "War on Drugs" They've spent Billions of dollars and with the most advanced army in the world they are no closer to a solution than when they started this monumental waste of tax payer money in the early 80's!
The solution is to take the supply and demand element out of the criminal's hands... overnight you'd see the change. .
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/11/2010 15:03:47
brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 2777
808644 I have noted a trend recently amongst certain posters whereby as well as calling for the legalisation of what they they refer to as 'soft drugs', there have been growing calls for more liberalisation in the gambling laws and one previous topic even advocated the legalistion and regulation of prositution. My question is lads, just what kind of country do you want to live in? Do you really believe that creating a new tourism for stoners, sex addicts and serious gamblers as a way out for Ireland, do the benefits really outweigh the potential downside, and just what would that do for the reputation of the country? Do you want Ireland to morph into some sort of hybrid of the Netherlands, Macau and Thailand.
Why bring up any of this?
Debate the issue in hand, don't invent new issues and try and roll them into the one debate.
There isn't some hidden rule whereby the minute a country legalises cannabis they have to legalise prostitution or hard drugs.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 03/11/2010 15:06:13
paddyogall County: Mayo Posts: 3135
Paddy we already have a drugs culture in this country.... Booze
Plus the illegal drugs are already here and are easily accessible. Why not control the demand...?
And just to add to your point about harmful side effects... Salt and Sugar kills more people a year than Cannabis.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/11/2010 15:07:53
brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 2777
808746 Brefni, do you honestly believe thats an image befitting of a supposedly modern and progressive European state? Red light districts, Dutch style 'cafe culture', for want of a better description and a few super casinos thrown in for good measure. Is this all that left for Ireland to 'aspire' to? __________________________________________________________
It's good enough for Germany Brend... Our European superpower
There isnt any better example of a modern and progressive European state...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/11/2010 15:10:29
I don't believe my question related to any 'hidden agendas' mes Amis, the question was a generic one relating a host of what I believe to be related topics, if your stuck for a response then don't bother.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 03/11/2010 15:16:50
brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 2778
808746 Brefni, do you honestly believe thats an image befitting of a supposedly modern and progressive European state? Red light districts, Dutch style 'cafe culture', for want of a better description and a few super casinos thrown in for good measure. Is this all that left for Ireland to 'aspire' to?
No but neither is the drinking image, that sickens me too, i just dont see the difference, in for a penny in for a pound!
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 03/11/2010 15:22:03
brendtheredhand
and one previous topic even advocated the legalistion and regulation of prositution.
Just two quick things on that bren, firstly technically prositution is already legal in Ireland, it just goes under the Pseudonym of 'escort services'. Secondly and more importantly prostitution is something that has always existed and will always exist, thats the reality so we might as well make a few quid out of it don't ya think?
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/11/2010 15:31:16
County: Cavan Posts: 3925
808772 brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 2778
808746 Brefni, do you honestly believe thats an image befitting of a supposedly modern and progressive European state? Red light districts, Dutch style 'cafe culture', for want of a better description and a few super casinos thrown in for good measure. Is this all that left for Ireland to 'aspire' to?
No but neither is the drinking image, that sickens me too, i just dont see the difference, in for a penny in for a pound!
That's because there are no differences... well actually there is...
The difference is you wont have a fraction of the public order offences that we currently see with Alcohol... the only hindrance to Cannabis would be the extra long cue's in the chippers! ;)
The side effects of alcohol are far more destructive than Cannabis... in fact any bother that I've ever been in with the auld Guards was because of booze!
You tip your hat to the Guards with a couple of smokes on you...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/11/2010 15:32:10
Htaem theres money to be made in people trafficking, child pornography and professional assasinations, lets legalise them all, tax them and that would surely get the country back on its feet again, what do ya think yourself?
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 03/11/2010 15:40:57