AfricanGael County: UK Posts: 124
805656 "But you could pick 100 inter-county Gaelic footballers and say, if they were born in England, a high percentage of them would probably be playing soccer at the top level and getting paid big money now"
Dream on bud. Perhaps George Best should have togged out for Antrim lol. Messi must be kicking himself he wasn`t born in ireland, he could be a selling lotto tickets for his local gaa club and be running around in wellingtons chasing his cattle until sunday comes. What a shame.
how sad are you to post a comment like that soccer is a buisness they get paid big money like politicians doesnt mean there more talented then gaelic players now does it,and best and messi only have big global names bcoz of the media you are a prime example for every1 to see just how much the media brainwashes people into what they think is great and if gaelic was played outside of ireland and at a professional level you would be turning around saying bernard brogan is a god supremly talented and would laugh at being asked to sell lotto tickets in his local club bcoz the world media would have his name as big as messi.
p.s kevin moran easily slotted in to your so called superstars at man utd after playing for dublin
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/10/2010 14:06:21
Mikeynora County: Limerick Posts: 841
805701 Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 3873
805641 I agree with him about GAA and all and wouldn't have it any other way, but I think the stuff about soccer is just cliche. there are exceptions in soccer but most soccer players either have amazing talent or have worked extremely hard to get where they are.
Your honour, the prosecution presents Kevin Kilbane, Paul McShane, Caleb Folan, John O'Shea, Glen Whelan, Keith Andrews and Darremn Gibson..all International Standard Footballers
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 29/10/2010 14:15:12
Great stuff Bernard.
MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 29/10/2010 14:19:05
Bigsur, it is not just at the moment there has been loads of interviews since they got knocked out of the championship. We have a man in our own county who is constantly in the paper every year. People will get tired of reading interviews from the same couple of lads about anything and everything. I am entitled to my opinion and it doesn't take away my appreciation of him as a footballer. I simply don't like media hoggers!
jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 29/10/2010 14:23:05
Hurling Dub dear, Dont let our cat out among the pigeons, Let them be. Save it til later I'll have you know its nearly christmas yet.. How many months we married now like?
Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 29/10/2010 14:30:19
That being said Mikey if any of those players walked on to your local team or 5-a-side, you wouldn't get a kick.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 29/10/2010 14:31:55
jonny1951 County: Mayo Posts: 426
The media directs the questions... not the other way around.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/10/2010 14:33:24
agree with what bernard say but in fairness if he had the choice of getting paid then he would take it to play GAA. who wouldnt.
Doherty (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 29/10/2010 14:41:16
Doherty County: Sligo Posts: 19
805766 agree with what bernard say but in fairness if he had the choice of getting paid then he would take it to play GAA. who wouldnt. Dell...
He only agress that refs should be paid.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/10/2010 14:45:06
Only fools think the GAA is not a business. And what has "born in England" got to do with it. BB is good but it's very easy to shine at gaelic games but would soon be found out at pro sports just like graham geraghty was. Bloody hell if you were allowed to carry the ball around a soccer pitch Messi would score 20 goals per game! It's a joke of a game when you have the brains to think about it properly.
AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 29/10/2010 15:16:04
Breffnil, if Kevin Kilbane walked into my local soccer team (Fairview Rangers) he wouldnt stand out as a spectacular footballer. He might stand out as an outstanding athlete, fit and strong, but as a footballer, there are 3 lads in particular on our team that I would say hand on heart are better footballers than him. But ya he would kill them for fitness. But in terms of pure footballers, he wouldnt hold a candle to them.
Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 29/10/2010 15:35:06
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 125
805722 hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 2566
805609 A Dub who prefers the 'gah' to Man U........ I'm bleedin speechless.
seriously how have u got dub next to your name you realy must have two country people as parents bcoz i have never read 1 decent comment towards dublin footballers from you on hoganstand,its sad how much you are jealous of footballers in dublin
Ah come on! Do you not recognise a tongue in cheek comment when you see one? As for the footballers, I have been watching them year in year out at all times of the year for more years than I care to mention. Indeed while I was crtitical of Gilroy over the Rory O'Carroll business I was defending him and his players - especially O'Gara - when others here were ripping the back out of them!
As for my geneaology, both parents Dubs and am Dub as far back as I can trace it on one side and beleive it or not that is mainly where the hurling came from, with a small input from Tipp along the way!
Orlaith, it must have been a good wedding as I have forgotten all about it! I thought we were going to wait a few years ;-)
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/10/2010 15:36:23
Two interesting posts from July hill16noiman!!
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 125
701282 i cant understand people saying give gilroy a chance hes talked all year bout been consistent is the aim,does he understand the meaning of the word,how can he expect coonsistency he made 4changes to the team to play meath from the team that played wexford and now he makes 5 changes to the team that played meath to play tipp.he doesnt know anywer near his best 15 players,he had 7 matches in the league to get his team rite find his best 15 players that would start come the championship and he didnt do that,he says he picks on form well he certainly hasnt done that as how could rory o carroll be named on form after been the cause of 4of the 5 goals against meath and he gets his game and cullen and cahill get dropped makes no sense at all,cullen and cahill have given everything for dublin over a number of years as for o carroll he got his chance against westmeath last year and what does he do then?. then you have mark vaughan kicked not on the panel for having a drink and dermot connolly gets sent home from a training camp but is brought back onto the panel and vaughan aint. perfect scenario for the weekend dublin struggle past tipp by 3 points gilroy steps down or gets sacked and sunday qualifier draw pairs dublin with kildare in croke park again. paul curran is apointed manager and brings jayo whelan ryan and vaughan in and we get abck to playing proper dublin football
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 2569
701303 All very bizarre. Haven't seen Dublin football supporters so annoyed since 1996 - there is a link sportsfans ;-). Terrible to hear some people hoping that they get beaten in order to precipitate a change in management. Don't think that's the way to go people. Every team wearing that jersey deserves our support.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/10/2010 15:48:18
If you think it's a joke of a game Africangael, why are you posting on a forum for it? Go back to yer synchronised swimming / diving and leave the proper discussions to people who know what they are talking about.
Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 29/10/2010 16:01:30
What is the problem with GAA people that they have keep bashing other sports ,ye have enough problems of your own and would be better concentrating on them and I believe the only reason Bernard Brogan is making comments like this is because he is jealous that he wouldnt be good enough to play pro soccer.
tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 29/10/2010 16:09:28
AfricanGael County: UK Posts: 125
805792 Only fools think the GAA is not a business. And what has "born in England" got to do with it. BB is good but it's very easy to shine at gaelic games but would soon be found out at pro sports just like graham geraghty was. Bloody hell if you were allowed to carry the ball around a soccer pitch Messi would score 20 goals per game! It's a joke of a game when you have the brains to think about it properly. ________________________________________________________________
Have you been swimming in fresh water over there...?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/10/2010 16:12:28
Jimbob I understand that but i'm quite sure the player has a choice to do or not do these interviews. He isn't the only player that does it i'm just saying give the photoshoots a break!
jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 29/10/2010 16:38:01
jonny1951 County: Mayo Posts: 427
805877 Jimbob I understand that but i'm quite sure the player has a choice to do or not do these interviews. He isn't the only player that does it i'm just saying give the photoshoots a break!
I understand where ur coming from... but sure he's been awarded player of the year.. he's currently the face of Gaelic Football... it's exposure for our game and he's obviously in demand and in fairness to him, he's well able to talk to these journalists, he's comfotbale in front of the camera... I've met the lad a few times now and he's a down right decent fella, he's sound. His aul lad will make sure that it doesnt go to his head...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/10/2010 16:47:57
i think the point here is soccer has lost its soul while gaa hasant. but then again nearly every professional sport has. our games our unique in the world. name one ameteur sport that would get 80,000 into a stadium and millions worldwide to watch it.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11594 - 29/10/2010 17:18:15
Maybe he should tell the G.P.A ....LOL
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/10/2010 17:20:07