Banty for Meath along with Harnan

There is no doubt that Meath and Banty are well matched as regards the type of game to be played.

As to whether this brings success I dont know.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 06/11/2010 16:23:55    810832

The Dubs seem to be very worried we might actually get a decent management team.
Don't blame them after what we did to them this year.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 06/11/2010 18:48:26    810890

Still living off those 14 scores ye got against the Dubs, huh?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/11/2010 19:29:29    810915

This one goes out to you doublehop:

We are the champions, my friends
And we'll keep on fighting, till the end
We are the champions
No time for losers
Cause we are the champions, of the world :-) :-) :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/11/2010 19:48:20    810933

Doublehop, there was many a year Kildare would have loved to get 14 scores against Dublin, especially if 5 of them were goals!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 07/11/2010 13:32:31    811179

Your only as good as your last game lads. (Kildare 2-17 Meath 1-12)

carburycastle (Kildare) - Posts: 203 - 07/11/2010 13:59:54    811198

Well sure carbury if ye can get over your old nemisis Wicklow we will lock horns again and hopefully we will see a true reflection of both teams abilities and worth.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 07/11/2010 14:16:22    811203

God ya hafta love the arrogance of Kildare people. One all Ireland semi & they preach to the country.
They must have a huge trophy cabinet in at conleths park for all they've won latley. Oh wait......

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 07/11/2010 15:48:43    811241

Doublehop why bother with points when you can score goals?

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 07/11/2010 16:00:50    811255

What happens if the delegates at the meeting reject the Banty roadshow?

Have the people of Meath another option on the table?

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 07/11/2010 19:55:03    811498

sam57
County: Louth

811498 What happens if the delegates at the meeting reject the Banty roadshow?

Have the people of Meath another option on the table?

Sit back and smile - whilst thinking; it could be worse - we could be Louth..

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 07/11/2010 20:02:25    811509

Sam57

Yeah there's Gerry cooney & his team of Darren fay, finian murtagh & andy mcentee.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 07/11/2010 20:03:33    811512

sam57
County: Louth

811498 What happens if the delegates at the meeting reject the Banty roadshow?

Have the people of Meath another option on the table

God knows what the delagates will do , they where wrong the way they voted out the last man, jinxie apart from fay the other 2 are not worth even considering.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/11/2010 20:43:27    811551

It would be strange to see Meath going to somewhere like Monaghan for a manager, when the county ihas lots of All Ireland medalists.
Im surprised O Rourkes not stepping up to the plate, the media works a handier number obviously.

If they were going for Jack O Connor or Mickey Harte Id understand, but someone like Banty?

The man has convinced many people that hes a good manager but In 6 years with Monaghan the only silverware I can see is NFL2 won with a crazy own goal in his first few months.
He'd love people to believe he dragged Monaghan out of complete obscurity to the very top, but thats not really true. Monaghan a couple of years before he took over beat Armagh in Ulster.
He made the last 8 once, & his Monaghan team which was supposed to do all sorts this year were a show against Tyrone in the Ulster final.
He loves the media thats for sure & we'll hear plenty on LMFM about 'Meath futbill' now

If hes appointed I can see a Joe Kernan in Galway scenario prevailing.

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 07/11/2010 20:58:24    811572

sam57 o rourke is not good enough for the meath job has not even got that many honours if any at club level.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/11/2010 21:08:17    811581

sam57

I agree with you regarding banty himself. Wouldnt rate him to highly on his own, & had he being put forward for the job on his own, then I doubt he'd still be in contention to be honest.
The fact however that he's bringing Grimly & McElkennon with him & has Liam Harnan on his team means that as a package, that one is the most appealling of whats there. From anyone ive spoke to & the tone of the threads on the Meath page, this seems to be the same feeling. To be honest, banty is probably the least exicting prospect of the four man team, but because he brings the others with him, then thats why he's being lined up for the job.

Im with you tho regarding his track record, it aint great considering all the hype around monaghan in recent years & alot of his courting of the media might have helped the along.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 07/11/2010 21:12:31    811592

36 % championship winning record. could we of got better???

neilgiles (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 07/11/2010 21:13:51    811594

neilgiles

Eamon O'Briens is better....

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 07/11/2010 21:20:49    811605

He has as many honours as Banty in management im sure.Tell me what Banty has won?
At least O Rourke has played & been sucessful at the highest level.
He also would have a great knowledge of young players coming through having managed St Pats school in Navan.

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 07/11/2010 21:21:55    811607

sam57 O rourke is not the coach in st pats he is the front man it is another fella in the school that takes the team , train them etc.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/11/2010 21:24:35    811610