Laytown Legend County: All Posts: 271
800815 I know you're fond of the oul wind up
You had it right from the start chief but I just kept you coming back.... I let myself down...!! No man, I brought in a good healthy bit of silly banter… just for the hell of it!
If anything I completely succeeded in what I was trying to do in the first place just get us having a bit of banter, and yes of course Meath have a terrific tradition,
How could I argue against that! The Metah team of the late 80's and 90's... hats off, we had some fantastic games.
I've huge respect for Meath GAA sure why wouldn't I... you were right from the start i.e. "I know you're fond of the oul wind up"
The GAA stats
The record states that Dublin have 22 All Irelands - if Manchester United & Liverpool are credited of having 18 League titles each, a few of which were won over 100 years ago... why shouldn't Dublin and all other counties that achieved such victories not be credited in a similar fashion? I think the GAA are perfectly correct in how they officiate over the GAA statistics... I'm sorry if that doesn't fit in with your own logic…But those are the official printed statistics of the GAA, which states that Dublin has 22 All Irelands.
PS
Selection process and the unique variables found in Dublin
Do the maths... Dublin have what 90 odd clubs... maybe 3 players from a specific percentage of those clubs capable of having an Inter County trial, with one or two possibly being able to compete on the highest level... that's not very many, throw in a couple of U-21's and that's it, we also have a large Hurling proportion that don't even play we're a dual county,
We dot have a quarter of the country's population to choose from lads... let's just clear that little bit of silliness up here and now, usually as soon as I hear someone saying such things… I know straight away that they know very little about Dublin GAA, and I tend to dismiss them straight off but I'm willing to give you the benefit of the doubt.
Considering how diverse and disjointed a place Dublin is with so much going on, and a large variety of sports being played… it's actually a unique county compared to the rest of the country with different variables to consider than even say Cork or Belfast, you shouldn't use a similar outlook to the rest of the country to back up your argument, as that outlook when applied to Dublin does not match up. It's basically null and void
I think it's a credit to those involved in Dublin GAA circles that we still compete at the highest levels in the first place. We're not a rural county… Dublin is a vastly mixed up place and I can't stress that enough, most of my mates have never been to a GAA game and have no interest in GAA at all... There's a core of GAA people in Dublin, the rest show up for the championship games without kicking or hitting a GAA ball in their lives!
I'm from Dublin, I know what I'm talking about here... and my statements can be backed up by many of my fellow true blues... we have a core of thousands, rather than Hundreds of thousands, unfortunately I'd doubt that GAA is even the biggest played sport in Dublin,
You can have your opinions as an outsider but that's the problem right there... and statements such the "Population" remark tells me a lot…
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 22/10/2010 11:43:18
The_Real_IA County: Meath Posts: 116
They are still counted.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 22/10/2010 11:44:08
Poor aul Dublin are short of players.
Should they merge with Wicklow?
The_Real_IA (Meath) - Posts: 133 - 22/10/2010 12:02:33
The_Real_IA County: Meath Posts: 117
801634 Poor aul Dublin are short of players.
Should they merge with Wicklow? _______________________________
I never stated that... you Meath lads just see things the way you want to dont yiz? It's a little odd actually...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 22/10/2010 12:19:42
To answer your point, you claim Dublin has 90 odd clubs, so let's say it's 90. I have just counted all the teams in Meath in the five 'A' divisions. How many clubs? 53 is the answer. That is nearly half of Dublin's- Half the clubs, half the players. Yes there is lots of people playing Soccer, Golf, whatever in Dublin. The fact is Dublin has almost TWICE the Gaelic Football Playing Population than Meath's.
So as you claim at an average of 3 players a team, if Dublin could pick from 270 odd players, Meath would only have 159. Now before we start losing the plot here this is only a stat. Who is to say that of those 159 players, 75% of them would be better than the 270 from Dublin? Who knows, how do you measure??? I am only basing it the figures on my point against yours. I know you'll be saying " Oh but we have loads playing Hurling that dont play football etc". It doesn't matter. My main point is that this is not a Dublin v Meath scenario but more of a Dublin v Most other counties in Ireland ie Dublin V Leitrim, Dublin v Carlow. If Meath have half of Dublin's clubs, I would hazard an educated guess that Leitrim or Sligo or Waterford is even half of that again.
Therefore I am justified in saying that Dublin have a greater pool of players to pick from than most other counties. Now before you launch at me, I would include Cork and maybe one or two others in the same boat.
I think we've agreed that it was all a bit of craic arguing the merits of each county's successes so I'm happy to leave it be!
Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 22/10/2010 12:27:44
So as you claim at an average of 3 players a team, if Dublin could pick from 270 odd players
That's not what I said, your maths are not correct.
A certain percentage of clubs might have 3 players to even send to a trial... some clubs may not have any.
And again that's only a trial... maybe 1 or two from a certain percentage could possibly get a run in the league.
So it's a lot less than 270
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 22/10/2010 12:40:22
Plus just to finish it off..
It doesnt matter how many you have, it's the quality of players you have to pick from... and with the outladish politics at play in Dublin GAA it hindered progress
I think know that Gilroy has turned things around... he's looked everywhere,
Meath had two golden generations on the bounce in the 80's and 90's... while also having a fantastic manager.. and outstanding leader.
It's all about such things... for some reason in certain decades there are more quality players, and you have to take advantage and it helps having a guy like Sean Boylan to direct such periods.
I dont think we've had an out and out manager since Heffo... and it took him years through the 60's to build a structure for an eventual successful decade in the 70's
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 22/10/2010 12:48:38
Whatever the ratio is, Dublin will generally have more players to pick from than most other counties.
However I agree with you there on managers, leadership, nuturing and quality. Dublin were also very unlucky to lose the 92 and 94 All Irelands and were beaten in the 93 Semi, and could easily have won the 91 All Ireland if they had gotten past Meath. Dublin, at the moment have the potential to have a golden era for the next few years.
Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 22/10/2010 14:04:20
you Meath lads just see things the way you want to dont yiz? It's a little odd actually...
------------------------
Dublin is the only county with women, the elderly, foreigners and other sports...
The_Real_IA (Meath) - Posts: 133 - 22/10/2010 14:08:15
The_Real_IA County: Meath Posts: 118
801786 you Meath lads just see things the way you want to dont yiz? It's a little odd actually...
------------------------
Dublin is the only county with women, the elderly, foreigners and other sports... _______________________________________________
That's not the point...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 22/10/2010 14:26:05
Dublin's problem is - as jimbo said - not that they have loads of county standard athletes, they just are not producing enough really top footballers to give them a realistic chance of winning an All-Ireland.
Vinny Murphy gave an interview to some paper before a Kerry V Dublin game a number of years back where he spoke of the differences between training with a itg club in Dublin Vs Training with a big club in Kerry. the main difference he said was that every session in Dublin was based around speed, strength and stamina while in Kerry, it was all about the ball.
I once watched a training session for a team up in Bushy Park - they were probably U12 with a few giants thrown in as happens in every U12 team across the country.
There was one really classy footballer, a big lad as well, but probably the nicest footballer playing and he was stuck in at full back. A few minutes in he caught a ball, soloed up the pitch, played a one-two and scored a goal. The trainer blew the whistle and gave out stink to him for not playing the system. He was to catch the ball, hand pass it to the wing back and then go back to mark his man. No imagination, no freedom of expression.
You'll always notice new Kerry panelists because they're normally well, normal sized. It takes about 3 years for them to reach a good Championship weight and strength, but they already have the football skills. You have to learn to play ball when you're young
diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 22/10/2010 14:29:24
we do have problems at the back the same way as dublin have problems in the frowards, but i would have more faith in meath going forward as a coach can work with backs and make them mark more tight on the other hand its hard to make a good forward if the natural ability is not there, dubs have actually proved my point this year , look at their backs against us this year compared to the latter stages of the championship ,where they looked very solid, for dublin to improve next year they must find more natural forwards which aint going to be easy, they really cant expect brogan to carry them on his own next year.
millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 22/10/2010 15:11:53
silly me ,i thought this was a topic ablut the Banty going to Meath
hogoboss (Monaghan) - Posts: 617 - 22/10/2010 17:18:34
diablodeKingdom, that is a very interesting post and I have no doubt that you are correct. I have been following inter-county football for thirty years and during that time it has been abundantly clear that Dublin are mired in a army barracks approach to the game, dictated by a conveyor belt of tactically clueless sergeant-major type managers who place all of their emphasis on systems, fitness, physique and stamina to the obliteration of skill, finesse, guile and creativity. I think a similar problem has afflicted Cork and it manifested by paucity of top-class scoring forwards.
The problem can best be likened to the way that the English play sport at international level - most notably soccer and rugby - where they spectacularly under achieve despite their vast playing population.
Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 22/10/2010 19:50:33
Well you werent harping on about this thread were you... Hypocrite..
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 24/10/2010 16:31:29
and it looks like i hit a nerve with you. you don't need to keep harping on about all-irelands that were of little to no relevance to the county at the time.
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 24/10/2010 16:32:47
You do make some valid points but at the end of the day, you do have the largest population of young males within the ages of 19-32 or whatever range you wish to choose. Yes, Dublin faces much higher compettion from other sports and perhaps less interest in sport among the age bracket for males than other counties. Perhaps more work on the ground is needed starting with underage on up.
The key stat would be how many adults are playing and then compare it to other counties. Whether this could be done is another story though. The number of clubs is meaninless, the size of the club can skew the statistics hugely.
Now if any county, my own included, could harness whatever is in the water in Leitrim, their chances for success would be greatly enhanced!!!! Well done to all those involved.
"Leitrim has 24 G.A.A. Clubs for a population of 25,057 (1996 Census) and 54 adult teams playing in 5 League divisions. If you consider that the number of males between the ages of 18 - 32 in the whole of County Leitrim is only 2310, that means there is a team produced for every 42 males of normal football playing age, resident in the County. Of course a proportion of these players are normally outside the County during the week and return at weekends. From www.leitrimgaa.ie
Just as a marker, 2006 census, with a bit of averaging from myself, Dublin had 229,000 males aged 19-30. But numbers dont guarantee success, just look at Kerry.
bogger from meath (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 25/10/2010 17:06:59
bantys a fierce monaghan man and wudnt b as passionate with anuda county
cavanlawd (Cavan) - Posts: 66 - 25/10/2010 21:20:39
Cavanlawd, if Banty could not be as passionate with "anuda" county as you put it he would not have enlisted the services of Liam Harnan on his ticket. It is obvious that he wants the job and seems determined to get it.
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 26/10/2010 12:43:09
I see harnan and banty not getting this job.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/10/2010 21:39:33