Banty for Meath along with Harnan

Laytown Legend

801006 To admit you're better than us, yeah right, I'm laughing at that one Jimbo!! I'll admit Dublin were better than Meath from 1888 up until 1950 or whatever year you won the bulk of your All Irelands, as from 1975 onwards there is only one or two in the difference. And remember this is the nations nations capital with it's vast pick of players were talking about against one of it's neighbouring minnows. And I might add, most of these years were pre Celtic Tiger and pre population shifts.

You've lost some credibility here with the "we've beaten you more" posts and when you look at the recent trends put to you, I think a bit of modesty would not have gone amiss.

How about we agree to disagree? You can eat your coddle and I'll get stuck in to my spuds, bacon and cabbage!
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

You've lost some credibility here with the "we've beaten you more" I wasnt looking for credibilty man... have you not got it yet! :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 14:31:29    801058

Be some team alright with harnan and banty but i do not think they will get this team further unless the scout for more players .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/10/2010 14:34:32    801062

Jimbo I'll get you a DVD for Christmas - Dublins Glory Years 1888 - 1960. I'm sure you'll love it!

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 21/10/2010 14:49:30    801074

You're changed your tune Dellboy...
More "inside info" eh!?

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 21/10/2010 14:59:18    801090

Laytown Legend

801074 Jimbo I'll get you a DVD for Christmas - Dublins Glory Years 1888 - 1960. I'm sure you'll love it!

Hahaha.. of course I would, but you'll have missed the 6 finals in a row in the 70's... that's before the back door of course... thank heavens for the back door what!

Meath would have played about 11 games in the past decade if it wasnt for the back door... imagine it! You were very lucky that they decided to bring it in.. Meaths support has dropped off enough... imagine how far adrift you'd be with so few competitive games... sure your a divison 2 team as it is...

Thank heavens for the back door :) You's would have fallen back into the bad old days.. very lucky indeed.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 15:10:24    801101

I was thinking Jimbo that the Glory Years 1888 - 1960 would have more content in it that The Glory Years 1980 - 2010. Bit of a pity there wasn't much in the way of video taping back in the day.

Funny you should mention Meath, the back door and a touch of sarcasm. We, incidentally, never won an All Ireland by going through the back door. I know you'll retort that many other Meath posters seem to enjoy the fact that it meant we got further than Dublin but not me. After all Dublin got further than Meath this year, through the back door.

I'm trying to imagine alright what we would be like without the back door for the last number of years but then I think, if Dublin can only win 2 All Irelands in 32 years with a quarter of the nations population to choose from, imagine how bad Dublin would be if they had the pick other lesser populated counties have?!! That's frightening to think, do you not agree? So much so in fact, I'd be embarrassed by their record.

I certainly wouldn't be on forums saying about how great we are and using titles from a hundered years ago as back-up.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 21/10/2010 15:29:42    801128

Good man Jimbo.
I always knew you were a fan of the backdoor..

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 21/10/2010 15:34:14    801132

BRING_ON_GURTY!

801132 Good man Jimbo.
I always knew you were a fan of the backdoor..

Yeah you Meath lads love it alright... constatly in the back door arent yiz... until it explodes in your face.

Do you want to meet up and discuss the pro's and cons of it?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 15:47:35    801157

No thanks I'm good.

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 21/10/2010 15:58:50    801174

I'm trying to imagine alright what we would be like without the back door for the last number of years but then I think, if Dublin can only win 2 All Irelands in 32 years with a quarter of the nations population to choose from, imagine how bad Dublin would be if they had the pick other lesser populated counties have?!! That's frightening to think, do you not agree? So much so in fact, I'd be embarrassed by their record.

Hahaha.. a 1/4 of the population... pfffhhh!! Are all of these people from Dublin and are male aged between 19-35 would you stop with the rubbish man,

The oldest in the book and shows a complete lack of kop on, we have an incredibly diverse population in Dublin, many of which arent even from Dublin or have any interst in Gaelic Games, the country population alone living in Dublin must run into the hundreds of thousands... if not millions?

And at the end of the day, I'm merely stating the facts.. it's all there black and white. Meath lads brought history into the argument so I merely followed suit. I mean that's fair enough I think... as for the back door, well I'd feel very happy if I was a Meath man, and very, very thankful that it was introduced.. you wouldnt be anywhere without it...

When it comes down to it, the stats are the stats man..I didnt make them up... but that's the way it is. The GAA is 125 years old...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 16:05:43    801185

It's sad to see the distain from supposed GAA people about the founding players of the GAA isnt it...!! Sad to see... apparantly their achievements dont count?

Indeed. I salute those fine Kerry, Cork, Tipperary and Galway men who weren't able to make it to their own counties, but sure made the best of a bad situation and bravely went out and won All Irelands in Dublin jerseys in spite of that. Fair play to them.

The_Real_IA (Meath) - Posts: 133 - 21/10/2010 16:05:53    801186

The_Real_IA

801186 jimbodub

It's sad to see the distain from supposed GAA people about the founding players of the GAA isnt it...!! Sad to see... apparantly their achievements dont count?

Indeed. I salute those fine Kerry, Cork, Tipperary and Galway men who weren't able to make it to their own counties, but sure made the best of a bad situation and bravely went out and won All Irelands in Dublin jerseys in spite of that. Fair play to them.

Hey it still counts man... :) I mean how many Meath palyers have been born in Dublin & Louth....? Officially well, they arent Meath men are they?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 16:20:00    801216

I certainly wouldn't be on forums saying about how great we are and using titles from a hundered years ago as back-up.

I'm merely having a bit of fun bro... Sure hasnt it kept the thread going :) bit of a silly wind up to have a bit of laugh.. it's worked hasnt it.. got a few heads out that wouldnt have bothered otherwise! The history book says 22.. the official GAA stats says 22... what do you want me to do about it,

I'm not making it up... sure havent I kept you busy all day...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 16:24:02    801222

Hahahah.. All this came from me correctly saying that Meath dont have the defense to win an All Ireland..

Ohhh... I'm tired now, I've work on tonight so I better get some sleep.. fecking night shoots!

All the best to Meath... the 2nd best GAA county in Leinster but only if you dont include hurling.. and well you shouldnt.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 16:28:39    801224

Getting touchy there Jimbo. The only thing you're clinging on to is the fact that Dublin have won most of their All Irelands over 50 years ago and in modern times have totally underchieved with one or two small exceptions. And to come on here saying about how great you are shows a lack of modesty on your behalf and smacks of immaturity.

You've won X amount of All Irelands, most of them over 50 years. Good for you.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 21/10/2010 16:38:08    801231

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_English_football_champions

It's good enough for Liverpool and Manchester United...? Both on 18 titles... a few of which won over a hundred of years ago..

But well it's still counted... strange that isnt it! Just thought I'd point that out... apparantly it doesnt matter when they win titles over a hundred years ago?

Pfffhhh.. a 1/4 of the population...!! hahaha

I'm not getting touchy man, what is it with you Meath lads and accusing me of getting touchy and other such things? Dont give up the day job Dr Phil... I'm sitting here with a smile on my face..

Pffhhh a 1/4 of the population... hahaha and then to base an argument around it.. oh dear, oh dear... the place is jammed solid with 6'1" 22 year olds with an eye for Gaelic Football alright...

We have to store them in a special bunker out by the airport.. costs a fortune to keep them fed.

This has been great laugh chief but I really do have to go... all the best,

So how many titles should Manchester United have then?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 17:01:14    801258

Hahahah.. All this came from me correctly saying that Meath dont have the defense to win an All Ireland..

Ohhh... I'm tired now, I've work on tonight so I better get some sleep.. fecking night shoots!

All the best to Meath... the 2nd best GAA county in Leinster but only if you dont include hurling.. and well you shouldnt.

Are you from Finglas Jimbo?

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 21/10/2010 17:54:57    801308

Boy that was a hot thread for a while. Posts flying back and forth. Congrats Jimbo you did what you do better than anyone else on this site. You stirred up a serious hornets nest and fought your case singlehanded. Just one point of informationfor you all, since Meath won their first All-Ireland in 1949 they have won seven in total. During that time Dublin have also won seven titles. That leads me to the conclusion that the two counties are pretty much even. Since 1971 Offaly have won seven senior All-Irelands between hurling and football. Given that their population is by far the smallest of the three counties mentioned their record is the best in Leinster.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 21/10/2010 20:56:44    801446

Well Said Greengrass.

Ah look you have to admire Jimbo - he fights for the cause of his county and there's passion there I admire in him. But his posts are there for everyone to read so he let himself down a little I think today. Just my opinion and you can agree or disagree if you like, which really is what these forums are all about.

When I say Dublin has 1/4 of the population, I mean for every person living in a particular county, if on average 1 in 4 was male and played GAA games, Dublin would still have more players to choose from than other counties. I know Dublin will have thousands of immigrant single mothers, hockey playing students from Japan and all different cosmopolitan cultures there also etc.etc.etc but come on, even the most die hard Dublin fan (you Jimbo!) would have to agree that Dublin has a far superior pool of players to choose from than some other rural counties. And my point was for that reason they should have won more esp in the last 30 odd years. Also the dual county claim has serious grounds for inaccuracy as I have already posted. What annoyed Jimbo a bit I think was that Dublin have not replicated their success of 50+ odd years ago and Meath have won more All Irelands in the last 30 years.

License for both camps in my opinion to state who is the better so we'll leave it at that.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 22/10/2010 08:39:36    801509

Nice of you to include the English soccer statistics. What you're saying is closer to Everton fans talking about how they're a bigger club than Chelsea because they won over twice as many titles. Or Aston Villa fans. Or Sheffield Wednesday saying they're just as good as Chelsea. Or Huddersfield being just as good as Leeds.

It kinda reminds me of 20 year old Nottingham Forest fans talking about European Cup glory. I mean, it's nice for them, and well done to their club, but they don't remember it and it's so long ago now.

By the way, the figures paint a different picture to the true one. Man Utd and Liverpool each won most of their titles in a short space of time (Man U in the 90s and 00s, Liverpool in the 70s and 80s). A bit like Dublin in the 1890s and 1900s, eh?

The_Real_IA (Meath) - Posts: 133 - 22/10/2010 11:05:29    801593