Banty for Meath along with Harnan

Dublin also boasts far more wins over Meath than the way around... fact.

Any excuses for that one... any twisting of the 125 year history of the GAA to suit your own logic perhaps?

PS

My nephew wants one of these for Christmas... I hear they are very popular in Meath... do you know where I can get one. ;) (I've been guilty of it myself)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYYoFl8oAkE

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 11:34:31    800853

Great bant(y)er there lads... Up Meath and their Monaghan manager... now why would Meath be thinking about a Northern manager?

Hmmm...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 11:54:10    800882

Shallow reply Jimbo, we have beaten you more than you have beaten us. Stuff you'd expect to hear in primary school. I was expecting more from you to be honest as I do enjoy reading your posts! Ah well, enjoy your little bit of history. Sounds like you need to have something to hang on to.

Pity Youtube doesn't have footage of Dublin lifting the 1899 All Ireland for you to show us.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 21/10/2010 11:58:13    800887

Great bant(y)er there lads... Up Meath and their Monaghan manager... now why would Meath be thinking about a Northern manager?

Could be worse, we could have gotten someone from the West or have you forgotten about Westmeath winning their Leinster title a few years ago???

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 21/10/2010 12:00:13    800889

As stated previously Jimbo, Dublin won over half of their All-Irelands when gaelic football was in its megalithic stage.. but to only win 2 All-Irelands in 32 years for a county of its population, resources and facilities is quite honestly a travesty and somewhat pathetic.

Also, your point about Dublin putting Leinster on the map is laughable.. quite the opposite actually. Dublin won 5 Leinsters in a row man, without even making an All-Ireland appearance.. that just highlights the weakness of Leinster. So get down off your high horse and stop hiding from reality.. and to call yourselves a dual county? I'm not even going to comment on that because someone already cleared that up..

Anyway more to the point, yes I agree this managerial setup is quite impressive but can we get a defence together that can balance the ship? Certainly not with the players we had this year.. it will be interesting to see though.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 21/10/2010 12:10:04    800901

As stated previously Jimbo, Dublin won over half of their All-Irelands when gaelic football was in its megalithic stage.. but to only win 2 All-Irelands in 32 years for a county of its population, resources and facilities is quite honestly a travesty and somewhat pathetic.

Also, your point about Dublin putting Leinster on the map is laughable.. quite the opposite actually. Dublin won 5 Leinsters in a row man, without even making an All-Ireland appearance.. that just highlights the weakness of Leinster. So get down off your high horse and stop hiding from reality.. and to call yourselves a dual county? I'm not even going to comment on that because someone already cleared that up..

Anyway more to the point, yes I agree this managerial setup is quite impressive but can we get a defence together that can balance the ship? Certainly not with the players we had this year.. it will be interesting to see though.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 21/10/2010 12:10:04    800902

RoyalClass

Thanks to Dublin we're in 2nd place in the rankings fella... that's a fact.. we have 50% of every All Ireland won in this province

It's thanks to Dublin that Leinster isnt a laughing stock in the football... that's the way it is.

How can you argue any differently...? I'm sorry it doesnt suit you.. but hey, you're welcome.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 12:18:14    800912

Oh ye, well we have a 100% record against Carlow, Westmeath AND Tyrone..........oh you just got served :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/10/2010 12:26:20    800918

Laytown Legend

Du..du..du..du..dudududu..du..du..du..du.... :)

Thank you for enjoying my previous posts! :) Sorry about the last few... I've taken it upon myself to keep the rivalry alive on this site... if that means being hunted down my cannibalistic packs of Meath supporters than so be it... I'm doing it for the greater good. I'm sure with the right assortment of dips that I'd probably taste quite good

But seriously we have beaten you boys a whole lot more than you've beaten us... That kind of stuff is important in sport isn't it? Sure isn't sport fairly juvenile anyway grown men's soap opera is all it is…

Just admit that we're better than you and we'll move on from there…

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 12:27:56    800920

Oh sorry did I hit a nerve..? Getting a tad defensive now.. stop hiding behind the real thing lad.. you's might have won 50% of All-Irelands in this province but people in present times dont' generally go by All-Irelands that were won nearly 100 years ago.. Dublin is the capital of Ireland after all, they're obviously the flagship county of gaelic football in Leinster but a disappointing one at that..

Anyway I'm tired of this little rant.. I'll now allow people to discuss the real subject at hand.. which involves you, Jimbo, of getting over yourself and stop bringing Dublin up at every possible scenario..

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 21/10/2010 12:35:58    800928

Ah jumbo that's a fairly poor effort from ya.
It's far from a personal attack however, simply stating that this thread is NOT about Dublin. You can't seem to handle that as your still away ranting on about how superior you feel ye are. Bless

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 21/10/2010 12:41:36    800935

Jinxie

I only read the first line of your post.. ignored the rest, you know.. the usual treatment for your posts around here..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 12:55:12    800950

RoyalClass

800928 Oh sorry did I hit a nerve..?

Not a all...

A lot of you Meath lads by your posts so far live in makey upy land.. what's the weather like there. I'm not joking you... making up assumptions and believing them as facts... I might have a go...

I heard you were crying there a minute ago when I was stating something factually correct about Dublin.. how pathetic.. what a baby... pfffhhh!

Hey Makey upy land is fun...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 13:00:51    800959

It's cold here in Dublin's shadow. :(

One of these years they're going to repeat the true glory days: those two-in-a-row exploits of 1891-1892, 1901-1902 and 1906-1907.

The_Real_IA (Meath) - Posts: 133 - 21/10/2010 13:11:56    800978

Jimbo

That explains alot about yours post so then.

Carry on as you are fine sir, don't change now.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 21/10/2010 13:14:21    800981

Jeeze lads would you get back to the topic for heaven sake.. what's the matter with yiz!

So when's Bandy going to be crowned king of the Royals then?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 13:22:32    800989

when did Dublin win their last all ireland with out a dublin man in the starting 15?

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 21/10/2010 13:39:17    800999

To admit you're better than us, yeah right, I'm laughing at that one Jimbo!! I'll admit Dublin were better than Meath from 1888 up until 1950 or whatever year you won the bulk of your All Irelands, as from 1975 onwards there is only one or two in the difference. And remember this is the nations nations capital with it's vast pick of players were talking about against one of it's neighbouring minnows. And I might add, most of these years were pre Celtic Tiger and pre population shifts.

You've lost some credibility here with the "we've beaten you more" posts and when you look at the recent trends put to you, I think a bit of modesty would not have gone amiss.

How about we agree to disagree? You can eat your coddle and I'll get stuck in to my spuds, bacon and cabbage!

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 21/10/2010 13:47:51    801006

Jinxie

Jimbo

Yes?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 14:16:24    801042

It's sad to see the distain from supposed GAA people about the founding players of the GAA isnt it...!! Sad to see... apparantly their achievements dont count?

And be mocked... really classy stuff.

But sure these Meath lads seem to think the GAA is 60yrs old for some reason... now why would that be?

Thank heavens for the men back in the early days, willing to fight against all odds and still have the courage to play Gaelic Games and play for the honour of winning an All Ireland title at a very troubled time.

But sure they might aswell not bothered... if these Meath lads have anything to do about it

Ah well thank heavens they did.. they deserve to be remembered, it's a shame the Meath lads above dont agree with me...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 14:25:06    801054