I believe Meath couldn't have got a better management team.And if you add Grimley and McElkennon to that it makes it even better.Banty is a great motivator and that is what this Meath team needs and a these boys could make Meath into a serious outfit because the players are there.
12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 19/10/2010 21:03:53
its seems 2 b what most of the fans and players want .but is it what the meath county board want ? would b a great apointment
1987 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 20/10/2010 10:25:28
"He could make Meath into a serious outfit because the players are there"
You have the forwards... but not the Midfield nor the defense
Kildare proved that... and Kildare are no world beaters themselves. A good team but an All Ireland winning team... not quite.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/10/2010 10:39:11
Hey Betty...
Should this not be on the main page NO?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/10/2010 10:39:44
there point going on about meath having no defense in o brien 2 years he done nothing with the meath defense .a new manager coming in that will his 1st job .there alot good backs in meath so its just a matter of getting it right .just like dublin did after meath put 5 goals past them.
1987 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 20/10/2010 11:22:02
1987 County: Meath Posts: 11
800136 jimbodub
there point going on about meath having no defense in o brien 2 years he done nothing with the meath defense .a new manager coming in that will his 1st job .there alot good backs in meath so its just a matter of getting it right .just like dublin did after meath put 5 goals past them. _____________________________________________________________________________
Yeah it just went down hill for you boys after that didnt it... quite the opposite for Dublin. We wont start boasting about past victories though man... there's only one winner there.. and it isnt Meath
Kildare made you look like the team you are... average at best, a Division 2 team.. classy forwards yes... but realistic All Ireland contenders without a midfield or defense?
Really...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/10/2010 13:31:14
1987 County: Meath Posts: 11
800136 jimbodub
there point going on about meath having no defense in o brien 2 years he done nothing with the meath defense .a new manager coming in that will his 1st job .there alot good backs in meath so its just a matter of getting it right .just like dublin did after meath put 5 goals past them.
Nonsense. Robbie O'Malley worked under O'Brien and their was a noticeable improvement in defending up until the point that the players could not improve past their limits. A new manager, Banty or otherwise, will do no better than O'Malley did with the Meath defence. On the same point, who are these so-called "good backs" in Meath because I'm yet to see them.
Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 20/10/2010 13:52:25
He's no kieran mc geeney!!!! i wouldn expect much for the first year lads you's are getting your hopes up.. only time will tell
toprow2010 (Kildare) - Posts: 214 - 20/10/2010 15:05:31
Jimbodub! Kildare made you look like the team you are... average at best, a Division 2 team.. classy forwards yes... but realistic All Ireland contenders without a midfield or defense?
Really... If this is true Jimbo what are dublin like?
the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 20/10/2010 16:42:08
That would be a great appointment and who knows with him at the helm and a bit of luck yis might even put up a good showing against a top 10 team.
ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 20/10/2010 17:14:08
Meath beat Dublin and Dublin go on to an All-Ireland semi and they think they're great. Dublin beat Meath and Meath go on to an All-Ireland semi and the Dubs still think they're great.
Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 20/10/2010 19:18:47
yes jimbo why is this not EXCLUSIVELY on the meath page. a disgrace i say just like your many jackeen threads you started. on a serious note jimb what do you say about the meath team you beat in 07 that went on to beat down, fermanagh, galway and tyrone to reach an all ireland semi which as you know dublin havn't gotten further than in 15 years. also what do you say about the meath team that lost to dublin last year but went on to another semi final and lost to kerry by 4 points who beat dublin by how much again?
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 20/10/2010 19:55:19
BettystownRoyal County: Meath Posts: 581
Well you werent harping on about this thread were you... Hypocrite... and didnt we beat Meath in 09? and then beat a Kildare team with 14 men for 75% of the game to win our 5th Leinster in a row.. 5 Leinsters without having to jump in the net with the ball, in the most disgraceful miscarriage of justice in history of the GAA.. Thanks to Dublin we have put Leinster football on the map as the 2nd most successful province with 50% of every All Ireland won in this province... that's 1 in every 2 wins... It's fun bringing up the past isnt it. We're a true dual county... I had to start a thread on the Meath thread about the appoinment of the new Meath hurling manager FFS... not a peep from yiz,
You tell a couple of home truths.. and look at the Meath lads coming out and having to bring up the past. Dublin are a good side that's it... maybe sligtly above average, Dublin had a team full of young lads playing last year, yuo'd swear you beath a team full of Keith Barr and Paul Crrans last summer, I see our frailties better than anyone, I accept them for what they are, but make no mistake, we're on the way back, still work to do but we have you Meath lads scared dont we... you thought we were finished, far, far from it... we're U-21 All Ireland champions... our Minors did well this year to boot beating Tyrone, the future is bright for us, and we'll have our day once again, it's a shame you Meath lads cant take a bit of constructive criticism you could do with listening to it.
Fair play to Loyal.. he really knows his stuff, puts the lot of yiz to shame.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/10/2010 21:57:49
Jaysus Jimbo I think you're getting a bit hot under the collar again. The lack of inter county action must be driving you mad !!
But I have to reply to a couple of your points
Firstly I dont think any Meath player woud ever be scared of a Dublin team. Certainly Dublin have great grounds for optimism with U21 All Ireland success but replicating this at Senior level is very difficult I think you will agree.
Another point, dual competence at Inter county Level should be even stronger with Dublin than what it is given the pick of players and population to pick form, so I wouldnt be gloating too much about calling yourself a true dual county.
At the end of the day, this thread is going to go in to a Meath v Dublin slanging match about who is better, who done this, who done that blah blah blah.
Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 21/10/2010 09:06:33
49 Leinster titles lads... That's well over twice the amount you have… this bringing up the past thing is fun!
How's the temperature in our shadow these days? At least you should be well used to it at this stage :)
Which is a good thing for your own sakes…. because it's never going to change.
Never
Right so just to clarify... we have more than 3 times the All Irelands, more than Double the Leinster titles and we compete in both codes as a true dual county...
Those are the stats, it's that simple... I dont even know why we even consider you rivals to be honest? When you think about it...
Some of you Meath lads must have fairly banged up faces... well at least it's not your fault, it's hard not having a leg to stand on! Boom Boom...
Toodles...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 10:10:59
Laytown Legend County: All Posts: 263
800733 Jaysus Jimbo I think you're getting a bit hot under the collar again
Not at all chief... just made my points quite calmly actually... it's easy when you're just telling it how it is!
And to answer your question about the Dub v Meath thing... please see my other post.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 10:17:10
Ha ha, Jimbo, ya mustnt be getting much attention at home are ya?
The thread is set up about a MONAGHAN man possibly becoming MEATH manager.
Yet you somehow feel the need to turn it into a Dublin thread. Oh we've 49 leinsters. Oh were u21 champions, oh we beat Kildare with 14 men. Oh weve great young players coming through..... What the hell has that got to do with the topic of the thread? Seems like ya hafta drag the Dubs into everything, even when theres no need for it at all.
As for why its on the main page, well its simple, its there to be discussed by people from wherever who care to be bothered about it. Much like the Cluxton thread, the Bernard Brogan thread, the Eamon Fennel thread, the Pat Gilroy thread & the numerous other threads set up on the Main page.
Get over yourself man.
This thread is not about Dublin football, sorry about that.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 21/10/2010 10:33:33
Jinxie
Just responding to Betty's comments last week bro... kind of making a point, I wasnt the one bringing history into it.. but I'd thought I'd finish it. I used the Kildare game as evidence to my conclusions, that's how you debate
Less of the personal attacks man.. we're talking GAA here, I'm just stating a few facts... leave your own insecurities at home... unless you want to have a talk or something?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/10/2010 10:43:16
I know you're fond of the oul wind up so we'll stick to the facts Jimbo! Yes Dublin have won way more All Irelands, yes they have won way more Leinsters and we wont deny that but as I remember some poster saying way back, most of these were won more than 50 years ago!! I'd say some rural counties could hardly even get a team together back then. And on the point of a true dual conuty, it is only recently the hurling renaissance has started in Dublin. I dont remember Dublin troubling Cork, Tipp, Kilkenny, Galway etc. in the All Ireland Hurling campaigns in the 70's, 80's, 90's or early 2000's.
In fact if you look at the more recent stats, Dublin have only won 2, yes thats 2 All Irelands in the last 32 years. Sure even little Meath have won more than that !! And you talk about living in the shadow.....
I mean come on Jimbo, even you in your sky blue and navy suit must be embarrassed for a county you claim to be as mighty as Dublin, to have a record like that.
It must really annoy you to see your little neighbours beat the great Dublin.
Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 21/10/2010 10:47:54
look dublin won most off there all irelands in the 1800s and the early 1900s when players from all over ireland would b workin in dublin and than b playin for them the gaa than put a stop to this and since that happen dublin have and same number off all irelands as meath
1987 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 21/10/2010 11:11:26