Can any team live with Mayo in the qualifiers?

Aidan in Galway whats your point?? Thats what i said 1 All Ireland this decade, it doesn't make Connacht the strongest provence like ball-boy says.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 836 - 14/07/2008 15:18:06    48062

Ball-boy, you used to be annoying as hell, then you became a bit funny. Now your just pushing your luck, You fanclub (loyal) is the only person who admires you. Give it up.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 14/07/2008 15:30:20    48074

aidangalway. Why did you bring criticism of Laois into this? I swear none of us should have our county under our name because when someone makes some real analysis or criticism, people with no better argument just look at the county and say 'yeah well what would your county know about that?' aidangalway. Had you nothing better to offer as a defence to my analysis than a criticism of my county?? Cumon man. If you think Galway were great, Mayo were hard to beat, it was one of the best matches so far this year etc etc etc etc, then give me some analysis. Laois didnt play this weekend so hows about leaving us outa the equaition.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/07/2008 15:56:25    48099

Really would not fear Mayo in the qualifiers...Not slagging them off but I fail to see what all the fuss is about...Derry, Tyrone and Kerry are the big boys in the Qualifiers...Mayo will do nothing this year...

Jack Daniels (Westmeath) - Posts: 152 - 14/07/2008 16:04:40    48110

chops, sorry misread your post.

spudenator, I responded to your stupid and unfounded comments suggesting that that the Connaught final was rubbish and that Galway and Mayo are 'very very' poor teams. You yourself did not back any of this up.

I'm not suggesting that Galway were brilliant yesterday, but they eked out a good win against a decent Mayo team, and will be difficult to beat in the quarter finals. Anyone who thinks otherwise is mistaken.

aidangalway (Galway) - Posts: 648 - 14/07/2008 16:07:14    48114

Ah and I see that Flanders fell into the old criticise-the-analysts-county trap aswell.. For shame lads! Well anyway I see that one Galway man agrees with me on yesterdays performance. This person said that Galway lacked bite, showed failings in letting a 7 point lead slip and stated that more bite will be needed if Galway are going to survive ''GREATER TESTS THAN MAYO'' in the next rounds... Interesting. And who was this critic. Only the great Padraic Joyce...interesting in light of my first comment...

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/07/2008 16:14:52    48119

Ya see Aidan. I did back up my criticism..with examples. Remember all that stuff about Joyce being yer only forward, no midfield and that COMPLIMENT about yer back line. I wasnt going out to make unfounded claims about either team due to some grudge I have against ye...especially seen as I had two mates on that Galway team, both whom I am being quite critical of. I have no chip on my shoulder.. I was just offering the truth..that they were Two Bad Teams! Backed up by just some of the evidence that I was shown in McHale Park..Then your supposed to defend those claims, not bring up anything about any other county which is not relevant! Thats how things are debated usually!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/07/2008 16:28:06    48130

This is my first post on the main page. i feel driven to comment after reading the daily tripe from the ball boy. three words for you mate: WISE THE BAP.

Down follower (Down) - Posts: 193 - 14/07/2008 16:41:18    48144

SPUDENATOR. It is entirely relevant to bring up other counties shortcomings as everything is relative - for e.g. you believe both Galway & Mayo are very poor - compared to what, to the rugby league borefest that was Dublin vs Westmeath ? And as for losing big leads - what about Meath falling asleep and letting Wexford snatch it, no-one is suggesting that the Royal are finished, are they ? Suggest you read both John O'Keefe's & Keith Duggan's articles in the Irish Times today - one a football Legend, the other an experienced GAA journalist, and see what they have to say about Galway. Unfortunately, this website is full of lazy uninformed opinion like yours. Galway will make the semis, after that who knows, and I wouldn't rule out Mayo out either.

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 14/07/2008 17:08:12    48174

Yes comparison is relevent. Not slagging off my counties shortcomings this year..which is certainly not relevant and is all that aidangalway seems to be bringing to the table. Well the Irish Times journalists can say what they want cos being good, well-informed writers they will back up their opinions with evidence. Before you dismiss what I say as empty-headed internet drivel said behind the mask of an internet psuedonym maybe youd like to reread my post which plauded the Galway backs-Bradshaw, Hanly and Burke especially. I criticised a midfield that did nothing and wasnt amended and will be found out. I criticised 5 of 6 backs-Breathnach is a non-entity on repeated occasions. Clancy looked out of position and out of interest. Nicky got a lot of ball and did very little with it. Meehans inexplicable fear of Mayo struck again. Its unbelievable that I still havent read a defence of my analysis from either side worth talking about. 2 of ye decide that how bad Laois are is somehow relevant and the last poster decides that referring me to the Irish Times and criticisng Hogan Stand rather than making a real valid point is a way of defending Galways win.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/07/2008 17:23:59    48200

Sorry- I criticised 5 of 6 forwards..

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/07/2008 17:26:52    48203

Laois without MJ Tierney are nobody's. as the results have shown. FACT

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 14/07/2008 17:31:27    48208

Hahahahaha. Saddam. Please read my points above. If Laois are bad without Tierney maybe youd like to set up a thread about that but as far as im aware whether Laois dont have Tierney is about as relevant as whether or not Liverpool sign Robbie Keane to a discussion on the Connaught Final.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/07/2008 17:36:55    48213

Spudenator. The point of county-by-county comparison is that establishes the pecking order for the all-ireland. So although you believe that Connacht is very poor, I would have to say that based on the evidence to date, that the Dubs are the only team in Leinster that could beat Galway or Mayo (and Dublin may possibly have peaked last year) I would base this assessment on the Leinster championship games that I have seen to date.
Now, on to your criticism of Galway - Midfield is our achilles heel, if we had a decent midfield, I'd be a lot more bullish about our overall chances, but it wasn't helped by our main guy for grabbing breaking ball, Matt Clancy, going off concussed. And although Joe Bergin is no Dara O'Se, he will improve matters for the quarter-final. Full-back line was solid, half-back line so-so. Your criticism of the forwards doesn't add up though. This sector scored 2-11, 2-9 from play, P Joyce 1-3, Cormac Bane 0-3, M Meehan 0-3 (0-2F), and was involved in creating a lot of the scores, Sean Armstrong 0-1 (on as a sub, coming back from long run of injuries, super prospect, scored 3 goals in U21 final a few years ago) Paul Conroy 0-1 (sub - only 19, another prospect) Fiachra Breathnach 1-0, (I wouldn't have him in the team ), Nicky Joyce didn't score, but showed well, created a few scores despite his tendency to take too much out of the ball, only back from injury though, will improve for the next day.
Galway only had 42% possession in the second half, but won by being very economical and converting nearly every attack into a score - this is a point agreed upon by all commentators in the media, regardless of other shortcomings - And this is why I find your views uninformed, OK ?
BTW, There was no mention of Laois in my previous posting

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 14/07/2008 17:57:04    48225

had a feelin there was goin to be a thread like this...
give it a break ball-boy...
ur just givin mayo people a bad reputation on this a lot of the time

MayoMick (Mayo) - Posts: 58 - 14/07/2008 18:38:18    48245

I must say, spudenator is making some very good points. I watched the match in my girlfriends house in Galway. Not one of them could argue back against the terrible standard of the 1st half, from both teams. Some of the wasted chances (wides and kicking into the keepers hands) was a joke for a provincial final. Nicky Joyce and C Mortimer seemed to be having a 2 way battle to see who could mess up the most. The 2nd half was a contest, but only because galway fell asleep and had no midfield to take control of the game.
I'd also like to say that attacking some ones county is an unfair arguement when discussing a single match involving 2 counties. If some one from kilkenny wants to analyse the match, they should be free to do so without fear of a slagging because of their result against london

Paddy_The_Hills (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 14/07/2008 20:50:00    48298

Ballboy Yous were beaten yesterday. A win for Galway. Mayo out into the qualifiers. Plain and simple, yous dident draw and loose the replay after extra time. It was not as well matched as that. As you said earlier Galway depend on one man P Joyce well Mayo still couldent beat P Joyce.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 921 - 14/07/2008 22:54:10    48341

RE:
spudenator
County: Laois

Ah and I see that Flanders fell into the old criticise-the-analysts-county trap aswell.. For shame lads! Well anyway I see that one Galway man agrees with me on yesterdays performance. This person said that Galway lacked bite, showed failings in letting a 7 point lead slip and stated that more bite will be needed if Galway are going to survive ''GREATER TESTS THAN MAYO'' in the next rounds... Interesting. And who was this critic. Only the great Padraic Joyce...interesting in light of my first comment...

I didnt see Joyce indicate anything like the following:
1) "it was an utterly depressing affair in a dank, dark, in-need-of-urgent-repair McHale Park contested by two very very poor teams."
OR
2) "The input into this years championship from west of the Shannon is laughable!!!"

Any opinion you utter is rendered null and void based on drivel like this. I will continue to criticise the analysts county while they think they have some moral highground from which to run down Connaught football, let him without sin cast the first stone......d'ya know who said that, Spudenator?

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 15/07/2008 00:42:56    48365

To answer the original question..NOBODY WILL BE AFRAID OF MEETING MAYO IN THE QUALIFIERS.. NOBODY.
Must be the softest team in the country.

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 15/07/2008 09:26:17    48412

14/07/2008 20:50:00
Paddy_The_Hills

I'd also like to say that attacking some ones county is an unfair arguement when discussing a single match involving 2 counties. If some one from kilkenny wants to analyse the match, they should be free to do so without fear of a slagging because of their result against london

Well said Paddy.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 15/07/2008 10:04:42    48441