Broggie - Stick with the club?

Problem solved, Dublin County Final brought forward to October 17th

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 06/10/2010 13:03:13    791125

Thanks anyway Jimbo-'ie' you tried your best perhaps the question was pitched a bit too high for you not to worry. Maybe someone else can provide me with an answer.

nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 06/10/2010 13:08:16    791128

waynoI

Club before country .. but county before club would be my preferences ..
-----------
mmmm -Not sure about that - This must be from someone with zero club involvement.

Should be more like - Club - County - (Country)

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 06/10/2010 13:49:44    791165

nacellabeaga
County: Offaly

791128 Thanks anyway Jimbo-'ie' you tried your best perhaps the question was pitched a bit too high for you not to worry. Maybe someone else can provide me with an answer.

Pfffhhhh.. :)

If you have to man...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/10/2010 14:08:03    791172

The Sage
County: Monaghan

waynoI

-----------
mmmm -Not sure about that - This must be from someone with zero club involvement.

Should be more like - Club - County - (Country)

Agreed the Sage.

Club a long way before county. I don't even like most of the county.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 06/10/2010 16:35:25    791308

Always makes me laugh..

"CLUB BEFORE COUNTY ANY DAY OF THE WEEK"..

It'd be a different story if you got the call I reckon...

"Howya, Pat Gilroy here, we've heard some great things about you, are you available to come down to Parnell Park on Tuesday evening, we'd appreciate if you could come down and have a run out"...

"No sorry Pat, There's a raffle for a big teddy bear on that night down in the club house" "Sorry.. Club before County..."

People in the club would think him mad...

I mean how do you think Inter County players think on the subject.. you know lads capable of playing at the highest level.. not just some bravado waffle from fellas that couldnt kick snow off a rope

Surely they are just club lads right... or perhaps representing your county is the greatest honour for a club player, for themselves and their club...??

I dont know.. I just dont think it's as straight forward a decision that many of yiz make out... but hey what do I know as far as I know representing your county is the stuff of dreams... anyone can play club ball.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/10/2010 17:23:49    791345

Not as simple as you make it either Jimbo mo chara!!

Obviously representing your county is a huge honour, however the club is far more important than the county. Without the club there is no county. A lot of people would prefer an All-Ireland club title over an All-Ireland inter-county.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 06/10/2010 18:24:59    791389

Very crass example there jimbo. Obviously representing your county is a huge honour but all these lads will be playing for their clubs long after their county days have finished. The chance of winning a title with your relations, childhood friends and neighbours has a different type of appeal to the glamour of inter-county. Maybe it's different outside the city where the boundaries between clubs are more clearly defined but to me the club winning a senior county title would easily be just as enjoyable as Kildare winning Sam. Although that said my snow-rope kicking ability has been questioned a few times.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/10/2010 19:00:07    791408

Good bit of craic there Jimbo.

For once we have seen a County board make a sensible decision surrounding what a player wants. Fair play to the Dublin board.

Also if I am correct the Galway board sensibly moved a game to facilitate Paraic Joyce.

Maybe this is all part of the GPA/GAA agreement whereby County boards actually make decisions to help players instead of putting obstacles infront to deliberately hinder inorder to put them back in their box.

Fair play to progressive County boards. I am sure the players will be thankful for this.

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 06/10/2010 21:44:15    791567

I see Dublin champions Boden were beaten last night by St Vincent's. Conal Keaney was outstanding for the losers, Mossy's goal won it in the end. Good football game. You can see brief highlights here - link

Crossman (Down) - Posts: 153 - 07/10/2010 09:13:29    791603

Stick with the club. These are the lads he grew up with and it would mean alot more than playing some makey-up game. It still won't stop the possibility of the odd stray slap being thrown or the ref producing his business cards(well it is a Dublin final after all).

Let's be honest the com-rules games are fast becoming an outing for players from the so called lesser counties with a sprinkling of a few major stars.

thesteiner (Meath) - Posts: 165 - 07/10/2010 09:54:07    791619

brogan would obviously pick his club if he had to choose no doubt about it but theyd have to get to the final first, it dosent matter anyway county board have move the dublin club final to an erlier date so brogan will not have to choose, who calls the brogans broggie?

rubywalsh (Dublin) - Posts: 356 - 07/10/2010 10:21:41    791640

The Sage
County: Monaghan

waynoI

-----------

Should be more like - Club - County - (Country

The reason for this sage is that the fair weather dub supporters are not like you and I. Whereas we regard our clubs as Clara and Clontibret... they would consider their clubs to be Bohs and Rovers and even Liverpool... I would also raise an eyebrow if 'Broggie' to choose a Bohs game ahead of a Leinster Final - even if it is a Derby game against Rovers.....

nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 07/10/2010 11:24:26    791708

nacellabeaga

Coming from the Hypocrite that supports Man Utd!! I see you left Man United off that list of yours... I wonder why? ;)

Priceless stuff... :0)

Keep up the good work "Nacca"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 07/10/2010 11:50:50    791744

no need for this change, St. Brigids a 40/1 team to win the county title beat Plunketts 1-09 to 0-05 great team performance from the Blanchardstown men. A division 2 league team unbeaten all year in league and championship

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 09/10/2010 20:56:33    793405

Dellboypolecat

Agreed i would put anything in front of this thuggery football.

A tyrone man who doesnt like thuggery football??? The mind boggles.....

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 09/10/2010 21:54:19    793455

nacellabeaga

Coming from the Hypocrite that supports Man Utd!! I see you left Man United off that list of yours... I wonder why? ;)

Priceless stuff... :0)

Keep up the good work "Nacca

this biffo lad is obsessed with the dubs ,

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 10/10/2010 17:37:20    793691

Well nacca, considering that there will be 10,000 at Dublin county final and that the biggest Airtricity game of the year between Bohs and Rovers attracted the grand total of 2,800 I don't think you have a leg to stand on. You should really see someone about your unhealthy hatred. For your own good because hating damages yourself not those you hate :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 11/10/2010 08:12:01    793893

A lads give him a break. As he says he is from Clara he is obviously hurting after their county final defeat yeaterday. Mind you i have yet to see him post on the Offaly page..............

tonorio (Offaly) - Posts: 609 - 11/10/2010 10:08:57    793954

Well this thread was a waste of peoples time!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 11/10/2010 10:53:21    793997