James Horan has been confirmed as the new manager of the Mayo Senior Football team. b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 29/09/2010 21:48:57 787263 Link 0 |
This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here. Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 30/09/2010 10:28:26 787362 Link 0 |
Good appointment, especially with Jimmy Nallen involved also! Tommy Lyons would've been a disaster in my opinion. doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 30/09/2010 10:59:10 787384 Link 0 |
Horan will get things done and won't be a yes man to some of the people high up in the county board. Good Luck James and hopefully this will be the beginning of a new era in Mayo football. maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 30/09/2010 11:01:24 787385 Link 0 |
Best of luck to him.. and congrats. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/09/2010 11:19:11 787399 Link 0 |
Right decision made, best of luck to him. Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 30/09/2010 11:31:26 787411 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 30/09/2010 12:02:04 787428 Link 0 |
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 30/09/2010 12:15:53 787438 Link 0 |
He would not have been my choice but good luck to him.He will be elevated to a god status if the miracle happens. miseeire (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 30/09/2010 12:23:11 787449 Link 0 |
I would think Tommy Lyons will not be happy. He looked a certainty for the job. MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 30/09/2010 12:27:39 787460 Link 0 |
i got a text (still have it on my phone) on the 26th August from a friend in Mayo saying put my house on james Horan to get the job.. At the time he was 5/1.. Never had a penny on him... I had to listen to him all morning on the phone to me... Good tip do snowchance10 (USA) - Posts: 149 - 30/09/2010 12:51:22 787486 Link 0 |
A nice man. Hope he does well !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 30/09/2010 13:11:07 787511 Link 0 |
Jesus himself couldn't save the shambles that is the GAA in Mayo. He'll last a year before getting sacked through no fault of his own. Mayo fans need to realise they aren't a big team anymore, they wouldn't even make the top half of counties in Ireland. Such unrealistic ambitions for such a limited bunch of players pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 30/09/2010 13:35:13 787529 Link 0 |
Nice to see all the goodwill towards james from people from other counties on here, fair play lads. redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 30/09/2010 14:05:53 787553 Link 0 |
Best of luck to him, and his players, no doubt bout te talent there. Just got to do it now! curious George (Offaly) - Posts: 861 - 30/09/2010 14:26:18 787572 Link 0 |
A good choice. I think a young, ambituous home-based manager was the best route for Mayo to take at this time. In terms of playing resources available to him there is no reason why he can not replicate the success of McCartan and Gilroy. I wish him good luck. eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 30/09/2010 14:32:31 787578 Link 0 |
Great appointment might even make a connacht final next year. ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 30/09/2010 14:34:39 787581 Link 0 |
Good luck to james and his management team. the right appointment at the right time. lets put some pride back in the mayo jersey. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11682 - 30/09/2010 17:06:44 787742 Link 0 |
Have to agree with PomeroyPlunkett that this job is a poisoned chalice & has been for the past twenty years or so. I wish the man well but I don't envy him. Mayo God Help Us as my late father used to say. dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 30/09/2010 17:31:01 787771 Link 0 |
MARNELL Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 30/09/2010 17:32:37 787773 Link 0 |