hag, get over yourself - nobody whinging. Its very simply an unfair situation. Thats the height of it. And then the timing of it, 7pm on a Sat. I got back to Galway well well after midnight. Good thing I didn't have young kids I wanted to bring. Its not whinging if its a genuine complaint.
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 14/09/2010 10:45:00
Tipp have done well this year-not only the Senior Hurling Champions, U21 Hurling Champions but also U21 Munster football champions-dual county a-coming!!
kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 14/09/2010 11:20:01
Hag, it's getting harder to tell the difference between yourself and Thurlesblue. No one on the Galway forum blamed Tipp for the choice of venue. The fault for that lies with the CCCC and the attempts by Christy Cooney to then pass off the venue as fair to both teams. We didn't need the likes of yourself and others coming on and accusing us of whinging. The bottom line is that it was a poor Galway team who were fortunate to beat Dublin, and that Tipp had a brilliant U21 team this time. The fact that Thurles is a fine pitch is neither here nor there. Whilst the result would have been the same, it should have been at a neutral venue.
'The fixture was set…' hmm, not exactly - as the CCCC confirmed in a letter last week to the Galway Hurling Board, the decision to go for Thurles was made on August 30th, 9 days after the U21 finalists were known.
Your 'conspiracy theory' claim refers to a comment I made on the Galway forum. My comment was made in reference to the Tony Keady affair in 1989, not this year's U21 final. It's not a theory but a fact. I referred to a Croke Park official in 1989 [not from Tipp, but another county that borders on ours] who was happy to see Keady get banned, whilst his own son was playing in the US at the same time. The point being that Galway getting the ****** end of the stick from Croke Park is nothing new. Incidentally, I highlighted that particular instance of hypocrisy some 9 years ago on HS when I used to post more than I do now.
To claim that 'The gaa have put galway into the leinster championship to help them along when they complained they hadn't enough games' - is as one-sided as your other remarks. It was just as much aimed at giving Kilkenny more competition as it was at giving Galway more games. Of course, it also means an open draw is further away than ever.
So if we are always whinging as you put it, then we have good reason. And I guess Tipp people will always be arrogant.
Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 913 - 14/09/2010 12:41:11
With regard to 89, what happened to Keady was a disgrace. Every county had players doing what he did but he was the unlucky one caught. Others make reference to referee John Denton and how he handled the semi final, well that's not really for me to comment on but the fact is Galway with 2 men sent off lost narrowly (1-17 to 2-11) to Tipperary. That was an excellent Galway side who were unlucky to lose the 1990 final also.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 14/09/2010 12:56:50
Noel McGrath still can't quite believe what he has achieved over the past week or so.
The 19-year-old was one of eight Tipperary players to win All-Ireland senior and under 21 medals in the space of six days, and speaking after last Saturday's under 21 trouncing of Galway in Thurles, he beamed: "The last six days have just been unreal. It's just beyond our wildest dreams what's after happening. I suppose it won't sink in for a while but we are delighted.
"It is a big achievement, it will take a while to settle in, but we're just delighted with the way it's worked out."
McGrath and team-mates Padraic Maher, Brendan Maher, Michael Cahill, Patrick Maher, Michael Heffernan and Seamus Hennessy have now won All-Ireland medals at minor, under 21 and senior level.
way better than Canning
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 14/09/2010 14:11:23
well said ailteoir.
I have no wish to be going through the Keady affair again, it happened a long time ago, and while it was terrible, it was in the past. However, this is the second time the GAA have refused to even consider what the Galway County Board had to say, and smacks of total offhandishness to the Galway support, opting instead to make a packet by keeping the game in Tipp.
money rather than morals.
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 14/09/2010 14:25:48
Well Cork should have beat them in the under 21 and we beat them in the seniors so less of the Tipp boasting.
PROC_Hurler (Cork) - Posts: 203 - 14/09/2010 14:58:59
PROC_Hurler County: Cork Posts: 159
774157 Well Cork should have beat them in the under 21 and we beat them in the seniors so less of the Tipp boasting.
Not your best retaliation there PROC.
premierfan (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 14/09/2010 15:29:11
PROC_Hurler County: Cork Posts: 159
774157 Well Cork should have beat them in the under 21 and we beat them in the seniors so less of the Tipp boasting.
problem is proc that ye didnt and we have Liam McCarthy as we didnt bother our barnies with Munster this year wel give ye that one!
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 14/09/2010 16:32:55
There was a galway poster that tried to make the point that it was scheduled in semple stadium to give the tipp county board a dig out in funds.
He didn't back this up with anything but i don't think the tipp county board in serious money trouble.... we have a supporters club and also the tipp draw to fund the team, good sponsors and ticket sales at club games are up this year from what i heard and there has been big numbers at tipp matches this year also tipp.
I'd like this poster to prove his point. Tipp wanted to appointed johnny evan as a paid director of football and also have had a few training trips to carton house this year. Granted their expenditure will be over the million mark again this year but I believe that they will be able to cover that. Tipp were in the red last year but when the proceeds from the tipperary draw came into it they made a profit.
This is the sort of comments from some galway people that tries to point the blame at Tipp.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/09/2010 16:44:55
Hag, that's one comment from one Galway supporter. You can use it all you like to tar the rest of us with your prejudice. In the mean time, have another read of ailteors retort, he makes several points and makes them well.
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 14/09/2010 21:28:19
Ailteoir County: Galway Posts: 45
The only thing is Tipp could have whinged about our players having to play 2 finals in 6 days but we didnt we just got on with the job and when you have won 26 all irelands you can afford to be arrogant!
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/09/2010 09:31:28
Hag, it's getting harder to tell the difference between yourself and Thurlesblue.
Interesting humour me an explain this more...
If you'd taken the trouble of reading my initial post you'd see that I agreed that it should have been played in another venue but took exception in people saying this was favourtism towards tipp...and wonce again the keady incident is brought up, tell me this did keady break the rules in playing in the u.s??? grand he was reported after playing a game against a tipp side in the u.s but he did brake the rules!!!
Do you not think the gaa has done anything for galway hurling what so ever (move into leinster)... my point is that galway should be at the top of the hurling tree but aren't and it seems a lot of the time they go looking for someone else to blame but in my view internal politics and wonce again bickering has a lot to do with it.
What do you make of john coughlan's yellow being upgraded to red yet I did see much in the difference in a challenge a galway wing forward (forde) made in the dublin game yet he got off scot free.... also do you think it was right a young galway team like that should have to put up with the lack of support they got in thurles they were in an all-ireland final for god sake why punish them with no support. you could see some of their heads drop after 10 minutes and there was no galway support to egg them on at all.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 15/09/2010 09:37:38
also I've seen an endless list of reason why galway lost and granted most mention that the better team one but a post on the galway forum froma galway poster would sum up what going on in galway at the the moment....galway need to sort themselves and take a long look at what's going on no doubt ye have the hurlers comming throught under age but there some thing wrong in galway hurling when ye can't translate this in senior success seems they look for other options to blame. post follows
Game over and Tipp were the better team but i would jsut like to point out that our county board would want to look at their own organisation before slating that the fact the match was on in Thurles.. Although it was wrong and unfair our own beloved county board should look at the way they treat their own county's smaller clubs before going guns blazing to critisise the CCCC
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 15/09/2010 09:56:47
also I've seen an endless list of reason why galway lost and granted most mention that the better team one but a post on the galway forum froma galway poster would sum up what going on in galway at the the moment....galway need to sort themselves and take a long look at what's going on no doubt ye have the hurlers comming throught under age but there some thing wrong in galway hurling when ye can't translate this in senior success seems they look for other options to blame. post follows
Game over and Tipp were the better team but i would jsut like to point out that our county board would want to look at their own organisation before slating that the fact the match was on in Thurles.. Although it was wrong and unfair our own beloved county board should look at the way they treat their own county's smaller clubs before going guns blazing to critisise the CCCC HAG_AND_CHEESE , 15/09/2010 at 09:56
I think if the game was played in Pearse stadium or the Gaelic grounds that Tipp would have beaten Galway by 30 points instead of 25 as they would have left on the senior boys for the full game!!
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 15/09/2010 12:32:40
Hag, it's getting harder to tell the difference between yourself and Thurlesblue. Interesting humour me an explain this more... Your comment on the Galway page accusing Galway fans of aiming cheap shots at Tipp was as detached from reality as any of ThurlesBlues postings.
If you'd taken the trouble of reading my initial post you'd see that I agreed that it should have been played in another venue but took exception in people saying this was favourtism towards tipp...and wonce again the keady incident is brought up, tell me this did keady break the rules in playing in the u.s??? grand he was reported after playing a game against a tipp side in the u.s but he did brake the rules!!! - Perhaps Hag you ought to follow your own advice and read things more carefully. Yes, you did say initially that it was the wrong venue - but then went onto ask if Galway would have a problem if Thurles continued to be used for U21 finals. Any county should have a problem with Thurles being used if Tipp are in it as it is not then a neutral venue. You mention that it wasn't favouritism to Tipp - it certainly wasn't to Galway.
I see the Keady comment rankled with you - like I said, read again carefully. It was highlighted only as an example of Galway getting bad treatment from Croke Park being nothing new. I'm glad you mentioned the involvement of the Tipp club in question in his suspension. As for him breaking rules, if he did, then he was in good company. The son of the official I referred to was at the same thing but didn't get banned and neither did many others. You can get off your high horse about Keady breaking the rules - sure wasn't one of your own at the time, Paul Delaney, at the same thing in London?
My point about us going into Leinster is a valid one. Yes it gives us more games, but was not done for only that reason. As I said, it was also done to give Kilkenny more competition in Leinster and puts the open draw issue even more on the back burner.
What do you make of john coughlan's yellow being upgraded to red yet I did see much in the difference in a challenge a galway wing forward (forde) made in the dublin game yet he got off scot free.... - The belated upgrading of Coughlan's yellow to a red was ridiculous and it was wrong that he couldn't play last weekend.
also do you think it was right a young galway team like that should have to put up with the lack of support they got in thurles they were in an all-ireland final for god sake why punish them with no support. you could see some of their heads drop after 10 minutes and there was no galway support to egg them on at all. You might be better asking that of the CCCC. As you know rightly from the Galway forum, we were angry with the choice of venue and the offhand treatment we got from the CCCC. Our Hurling Board should have boycotted the game as they threatened to do at one point and as you said yourself, when the threat was made, it should have been carried out.
there some thing wrong in galway hurling when ye can't translate this in senior success seems they look for other options to blame. Please provide examples of that. As other Galway people have pointed out here we produce good Minor and U21 teams but what is clear at Senior is that we can't compete physically or in the air against the likes of Kilkenny or Tipp. Our County Board are far from perfect either. Those are things we have to sort out ourselves.
Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 913 - 15/09/2010 14:28:19
Ailteoir:
How was it detached from reality there were cheap shots taken (poster called 1988 for one) and you were the one who brought up the keady affair yet again.... any time there's a bit of controversy between tipp and galway that incident is brought up it was 21 years ago. And yes I am awear the paul delaney did play in london but was their a complaint lodged against him... as far as i know this was pointed out after.
well look at the galway forum there's a list of excuses.... which is my favourite is playing under lights...as far as i know most club teams and all couty team do most of their train under lights. There was also an excuse that galway didn't get enough games comming from leinster....well there was the introduction of the back door where galway did get a second shot if they lost in qualifers and now their in the leinster championship..... ger loughnane got the blame, john mcintyre got the blame too initially i know many people didn't want him appointed.
Some tipp people give excuses why tipp have not won as much and claim over the last 40 year that we are still one of the strongest counties in hurling. Well were not and it was all to do with the county board...it started with babs in the late 80's he stoped all the bickering and favourtism for certain clubs and put the financial support in play (tipp draw tipp supporters club i think too) in recent years that been build on again with great effort put into grass roots hurling and football which is comming to fruititian and also the players are given all the support they need they used kilkenny as a model if anything else.... I'm pretty sure that dosen't happen in galway and there is still a club divide, sure only a few years ago ollie canning walked off the panel after issues with what happened in a county final.... sort out the county board put the correct structures in place and galway will be successful but at present their blaming the wrong people.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 15/09/2010 16:08:58
Hag, aside from the person you mentioned, I can't recall anyone else who held Tipp responsible for the choice of venue. Check the thread again and you'll see there were plenty from Tipp making cheap shots before you came on and accused some Galway fans for doing just that. Besides, if we're going to concentrate on one person, there's someone from Tipp with 1625 postings and I've yet to see anything sensible in any of them.
Whilst the Keady affair left a nasty taste in the mouth at the time, most of us are over it. For the third and last time, I mentioned the Keady affair for 2 reasons, neither of which were related to Tipp - hypocrisy on the part of Croke Park and Galway getting shafted by them yet again. Given the number of times the CCCC changed the story as to when the decision to opt for Thurles was made it's no wonder so few made the trip.
As for the excuses, the lights one is as laughable as the claim from a Tipp poster that Galway were past it by 1989. Loughnane made a rod for his own back with his over-confident claim of how quick he could bring an All-Ireland to Galway, not to mention his comments on Joe Canning. McIntyre didn't help himself initially as he had spent most of the previous decade criticizing those who had the job before him.
Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 913 - 15/09/2010 20:00:21
galway had every right to feel aggrieved by the venue, the gaa and cooney should have moved it to limerick or tullamore tipp had no problem with the choice of venue
moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 15/09/2010 20:24:57
getting shafted by them yet again
Did keady brake the rules??? The only difference is that he was reported.
Tipp making cheap shots before you came on I take it your referring to thurlesblues?? I feel i don't need to say more on this matter.
Tipp poster that Galway were past it by 1989 Who said that I remember saying on a pervious discussion that galway peaked prior to 1989 but were by no means past it
McIntyre didn't help himself initially as he had spent most of the previous decade criticizing those who had the job before him. He a journalist for the connaught tribune that's his job and in fairness much of his criticsm was accurate.
I'll add something else to this arguement galway managers don't really get a lot of time to create a team there seems the be no patience with managers in galway here's a list of galway managers
M. Keating (1976-77) · J. McGrath (1977-78) · M. Keating (1978-79) · C. Farrell (1979-82) · F. Corcoran (1982-84) · C. Farrell (1984-91) · J. Cloonan (1991-94) · M. Murphy (1994-96) · C. Farrell (1996-98) · M. Murphy (1998-2000) · N. Lane (2000-02) · C. Hayes (2002-06) · G. Loughnane (2006-08) · J. McIntyre (2008) ·
The majority only get 2 years in charge... I know this can be the case with other counties but I think managers need time which they don't get with the bickering county board in galway.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 15/09/2010 21:03:40