Cork supporters to be stopped travelling up on AI

Burnsey
County: Down

772851 Any chance they can stop the players as well ?

Cork Senior and Minors are going up on the bus on the Sat. Usually, they go on the train but they are breaking with tradition this year and getting the bus.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 13/09/2010 15:12:32    773058

Bus is probably just as fast as the train considering the bus can take you right to the hotel door without a transfer.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 13/09/2010 15:47:26    773099

Culchie - Sure what would be the point of targetting a Mayo man? A blockade of any road out of Mayo on All Ireland day would only serve to delay the few poor unfortunate Galwegians who happen to live there (mostly priests on missionary work).

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 13/09/2010 16:40:05    773187

Sure there's no point in us travelling up anyway. The games will be over in 10 minutes with the Down lads crying into their points. The rebels will hammer them.

PROC_Hurler (Cork) - Posts: 203 - 13/09/2010 17:05:10    773236

Proc, being a loyal Down fan all my life, I've had my fair share of disappointment, but don't think I've ever "cried into my point", not sure what it is, but I reckon it would take your eye out !! Down by 3

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 13/09/2010 21:27:10    773639

Flanders

Its a joke though, as mentioned above is funny how they didnt oppose the Ham Sandwich Brigade attending the hurling final

Speaking for Tipperary and Kilkenny people here; At least we attend our hurling finals!

premierfan (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 14/09/2010 12:33:05    773969

For all Cork supporters travelling on Sunday,when you come to the Tallaght turn-off on the Naas Road,take this and you will avoid any disruption on the way in.Anyway I think this is only a bit of publicity for the Residents and nothing will come of it.Best of luck to the lads on Sunday and I hope it will be the day that Canty and Murphy get the medal they so deserve.

Frances56 (Dublin) - Posts: 378 - 14/09/2010 18:02:10    774389

Premierfan: easy for you to attend them when the GAA schedule them for your home ground!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 14/09/2010 21:30:07    774609

Ah, the poor Croke Park residents association. Sure aren't they still waiting for a letter of apology after that dreadful racket on bloody sunday!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 14/09/2010 21:58:30    774650

They aint got a hope. We will rebel against them and drive over them if we have to.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 15/09/2010 15:25:59    775126

thats the spirit trev! i cant see the dubs in there '96 civics stopping 10 000 tractors from the south :D

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 15/09/2010 15:49:31    775158

BettystownRoyal

775158 thats the spirit trev! i cant see the dubs in there '96 civics stopping 10 000 tractors from the south :D

Plenty of country people involved "Betty" - I live in the area, I cant say that I agree with this route of action...

but trust me folks, many of the resisdents have every right to feel aggrieved at some of the GAA's actions

All they want is their social club which has stood for the past 40 years to be left alone... for many elderly people this is their only outlet to the community.

The GAA have offered to rebuild the social club, BUT it doesnt include a bar and other features that the old social club possess. You see the GAA want that Bar licence for their own. Stick in an extra bar into Croke Park... and that's big money for the GAA. Who cares about the little old lads/laddies...

What do they matter...

It's not about Greed or anything else, the GAA have done little but bully many of the elderly residents, which on certain roads surrounding Croke Park are left without water on match days, because of the huge demand needed for the 15 bars and many extra toilets that were introduced into Croke Prk after the rebuild.

There's not much that an elderly person can do with a couple of West Life tickets.. that's if they can muster up the energy to stand in a Q for a number of hours to collect them. They'd prefer hot water in their tea...

I live in the area.. I know a lot of these people, they are good people.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/09/2010 16:09:56    775187

Well if it stops the hooligan element of the Cork fans getting there fair play to them i say

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 15/09/2010 16:54:31    775224

God will them residents ever give over. They are doing my head in

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 15/09/2010 17:09:58    775238

Sure we'll drive over them. We always give the Dubs a good beating whenever we play them so this will be nothing new.

PROC_Hurler (Cork) - Posts: 203 - 15/09/2010 17:26:20    775257

PROC_Hurler

775257 Sure we'll drive over them. We always give the Dubs a good beating whenever we play them so this will be nothing new.

It's incredible just how ignorant some of you are... you'll be driving over your own.

Lots of country resisdents are part of the Croke Park residents association.

But again ignorance is bliss aye... I'm not joking you it's amazing how many posters on this site just blindly post tripe...

A very selfish bunch you are...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/09/2010 17:32:25    775268

775268 PROC_Hurler

775257 Sure we'll drive over them. We always give the Dubs a good beating whenever we play them so this will be nothing new.

It's incredible just how ignorant some of you are... you'll be driving over your own.

Lots of country resisdents are part of the Croke Park residents association.

But again ignorance is bliss aye... I'm not joking you it's amazing how many posters on this site just blindly post tripe...

A very selfish bunch you are...

Jesus jimbo, he's a wum, relax.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12347 - 15/09/2010 17:35:46    775278

Some residents make a nice wee living from setting up a shop in there front garden! uP CORK! DOWN with this sort of thing.

Rebelairrescue (Cork) - Posts: 7 - 15/09/2010 17:37:48    775281

Jimbo

Good points.

A lot of people have a right to feel aggrieved by the way they've been treated by the GAA.

I don't necessarily agree with the nature of the protest but if it helps keep the facility in the local area then so be it.

A lot of people on here seem to forget that some of us have to live around Croke Park and the area can be left in some state after games by supporters. 90% of supporters respect the properties of the residents, however, there will always be some idiots who have no respect.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 15/09/2010 17:43:57    775293

Jimdum, don't worry I'd drive over all the other people who weren't from The Real Capital of Ireland as well.

PROC_Hurler (Cork) - Posts: 203 - 15/09/2010 18:04:14    775325