People Claiming Whiplash

I recently 'tapped' into the back of a car at a roundabout. I was on my own and there was a man, woman and child in the other car. My number plate was cracked - that was all, he had tiny crack on bumper showing how slight the collision was. He said that "theres no call in getting the peelers out" (happened in the north). We agreed that he would get a quote and if i could get cheaper he'd be happy. His car was an old banger - '99 mondeo.
Got phonecall last night from PSNI - he's claiming whiplash along with rest of occupants.
Ive informed my insurance - they hopefully gunna fight it. It's a totally fraudulant claim.

What can i expect them to get?? Will my premium go through the roof??

Any advice would be nice. Dont know how these people sleep at night.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 10/09/2010 13:45:42    770799

They'll sleep just fine when they're driving around in the new car that you will have paid for through your insurance. A sad state of affairs!

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 10/09/2010 13:51:39    770806

Did you take pictures of both cars and the damage, or lack of it, at the time of the accident ?

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 228 - 10/09/2010 13:59:35    770818

whiplash my eye .. disgrace ..

i wouldnt know the answer to your question though to be honest .. i suppose it would depend on who you are insured with no ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 10/09/2010 14:07:08    770831

Well I was in a crash last week going to the beach and god my backs still sore but I didnt claim whiplash infact I dont think we even exchanged details it was a wee R driver and he was bricking it. There was a bit of damage to my mates car tyre but his was wrekced at the front! See I'm more injured than them fraudsters. Total disgrace. T As far as I know yes your insurance will go up because that happened to my auntie and hers went up loads. Hopefully it wont be to bad.

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 10/09/2010 14:23:02    770857

Im insured with Zurich - took photo of my car - havent fixed no. plate and dont intend too cause it aint bad. I had mate driving behind me who didnt even realise id hit him it was that easy...

I actually wish i wasnt insured - id get slap on wrists, small fine and few points but at least he wouldnt get a bean!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 10/09/2010 14:26:31    770863

The old rule is "he who is behind pays" and alas there is a bit of a culture about claiming whiplash, instigated mostly by the legal profession.

Your premium will go up whether he/she wins or not.

Yesterday I was on a bus which had a minor crash and a fellow passenger couldn't believe I got off to walk on to work before the police arrived. "What about a claim" he said.

Sad state of affairs, and indeed in the North when you say you were in an accident most people's first words are "have you claimed".

Very few ask if you were hurt or if you are ok.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/09/2010 14:28:44    770867

Should have informed your insurance company straight away, should have taken plenty of photos, nearly every phone has a camera nowadays, would fight it all the way, bucks like that cost us all.

mayo.mick (Mayo) - Posts: 585 - 10/09/2010 14:29:10    770868

Was telling a mate about an accident where some muppet reversed into me and said I took loads of pictures. His sister is a solicitor and she was telling him only pictures from a film camera are any good because of the ability to digitally alter the digital ones.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 10/09/2010 14:57:20    770895

Brolly,the problem is that unsurance companies are only too willing to settle 9 out of 10 times and i know this because i'm in court on a regular basis on behalf of my employers.Your premiums will get higher,but if you shop around you will get a reasonable deal from one of the numerous brokers.

jackieblue (Antrim) - Posts: 521 - 10/09/2010 15:12:06    770915

Was telling a mate about an accident where some muppet reversed into me and said I took loads of pictures. His sister is a solicitor and she was telling him only pictures from a film camera are any good because of the ability to digitally alter the digital ones.

-------------

jaysus we live in a paranoid society

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 10/09/2010 15:13:24    770918

wayno1- In a society where people are capable of feigning injury where you couldnt possibly have expected, anything is possible. To be fair I've seen what friends (not to mind pro's) can do with photoshop.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 10/09/2010 15:20:54    770925

well you crashed into the back of somebody well its 100% your fault and how do you know you did not damage them , you dont have to smash a car to pieces to damage someone i hope in future you drive more carefully

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 10/09/2010 15:22:16    770927

Tell him to whistle for it. Unfortunatly you can't do that. It will probabily affect you no claims bonus if he is wins. All depends on the judge I suppose, whiplash can't be tested for medicaly (is that right?) so it will be up in the air until a decision is made.

Listen, good luck and I hope you win because he is putting you trough torture no-one needs and people like him are driving up insurence prices. My premium went up £100 this year, they told me it was because of all the claims made last year... I didn't make any was my argument but what do ya do, its the law to have it!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 10/09/2010 15:23:45    770930

10/09/2010 15:13:24
waynoI

770918 Was telling a mate about an accident where some muppet reversed into me and said I took loads of pictures. His sister is a solicitor and she was telling him only pictures from a film camera are any good because of the ability to digitally alter the digital ones.

-------------

jaysus we live in a paranoid society

No, Polaroid......

Anyway lad, you should have just buggered off. A crack in a number plate on a 99 Mondeo. I would have said whatever to him and scarpered, either that or throw him a 20, you would be surprised at how often this works. He probably only sat down and thought about it later that day and reckoned he could take you to the cleaners. Simple fact is that Insurance is all a big fraud these days. I work in an industry that deals with insurance claims and I see it all the time. If someone shouts loud enough and causes enough hassle, the insurance will pay up to keep them quiet, rather than run up massive bills. They cut their losses. Do they pay this man, say, 5 grand, or spend 10 grand fighting it. They will risk analyse it, and decide that it is too risky to fight (as whiplash is hard to prove, and you did actually hit them) and will then pay up. This then falls on you my friend. Its how insurance comapnies stay in business, they never actually pay out, because they will get it back from you somehow in increased premiums. It's how they explain rising premiuims depite turning over massive profits evey year.

I feel sorry for ya, but thats the way it is. And also, there is a massive claim culture up the north (I should know, i live in Belfast and deal with claims all the time). A decent man would have drove away after that, and if there was significant damage to his car, then maybe send you the bill. But you would honestly not believe the difference between North and South. Its like two different worlds. In the North, they see you coming. If they know there is Insurance involved, you can almost see their brain whirring as they start to scheme. In the south, they normally just want what there are due. Obviously there are exceptions to this theory, but in general it rings true.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2480 - 10/09/2010 16:00:07    770977

Indeed its often the case that the messing of an insurance company leads to a claim going in. Didnt happen myself but to another person who was rear ended. The car sustained some serious damage. The value of the car was 12,000 this person went to the Doctor afterwards had axiety about driving pains in chest etc but didnt make a claim. fast forward six months later no sign of any money from the insurance company first offered to write off the car and give the 12,000 then offered 8,000 extremely aggressive very pushy etc on the phone. This person was a woman and it was felt that this insurance company (Which is one in difficulties at the moment) were trying to pull a fast one. She got the Solicitor involved claim was made and the insurance company lost a hell of a lot more money then it would have.

Brolly i havent much sympathy maybe this little scare will put young drivers like yourself on the staright and narrow and alert on the road.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/09/2010 16:32:35    771016

Brolly,

Take your car to an insurance assessor and get him to have a look at it as he can have a big bearing on what happens by examining the damage. You should always report an accident as it prevents false claims like this from happening. Get your own insurance company's assessor and explain to him what happened !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/09/2010 20:43:00    771284

Brolly,

Just a few things I'd like to say;

Cops don't normally ring you to tell you someone is claiming off you for whiplash, a solicitors letter will normally be how this is done.

Accidents at/on roundabouts are not treated the same as accidents on other parts of the roads, it's normally 50/50 where roundabouts are concerned.

My advice to you would be to never ever admit you are wrong when involved in any type of collision.

Always call the Gardaí / Police if you are involved in an accident, remember to always do this regardless of whether you think you were at fault or how minor you may think it is. Often turns out that the driver of the other vehicle is wrong, drink or drugs may be involved or indeed something else that you may be totally unaware off.

Lastly your story about the cops calling you has all the hallmarks of one of your 'friends' playing a joke on you, as I said previously cops don't normally ring you to tell you someone is claiming off you for whiplash, usually they will only call/visit you when some traffic law has been broken or a crime has been committed ie leaving the scene of an accident where someone has been seriously or fatally injured etc etc.

BufordTJustice (USA) - Posts: 669 - 11/09/2010 09:13:02    771397

always swing digs first and ask questions second.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 11/09/2010 15:33:24    771628

This is what you should do nexttime brolly
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQ2pufgjQ4A

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 11/09/2010 18:34:54    771750