International Rules Series 2010 discussion thread

Ok so you want the series dropped coylerselbow.... it would just come back after a few years believe me. This game is a bar stool agrument come to life. It's not to be taken too seriously, it's a bit of fun - it's sport. Get over it.

ryanafl1983, the big expert! putting us all straight. So who said Gary Ablett was dropped? Nobody here.
BTW this is IR. Not AFL not GAA so what makes you the all knowing expert? Hearing people talk garbage at a match is not exclusive to Croker, nor is it to this board evidently.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 09/10/2010 18:17:31    793304

Utter nonsense from the Australian-wannabe AFL fan,if you don't like the GAA or Irish people then surely this isn't the place for you.~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 09/10/2010 18:18:35    793307

oh excuse me but what the guy from Kildare say Floops and others before him......People are saying Ablett is a big loss but he did make himself available - he just wasn't picked. Mick Malthouse knows what he's doing now......when he says malthouse name, then he means Malthouse didnt pick him....I just wanted to set the record straight cause I am sick and tired of coming on this thread and all these so called experts thinking there smart-arses, time they were put in their place!!!!!!!

ryanafl1983 (Derry) - Posts: 19 - 09/10/2010 18:45:19    793318

ryanafl1983 is about as Irish as a can of Fosters.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 09/10/2010 20:43:32    793395

ryanafl1983, I would know them. I follow Aussie Rules. They are superstars of their own game. You sound like one of those people who follows a sport that not many others do and gets annoyed when someone else has an opinion on it and knows a thing about it. Wise up you loser.

PatrickArmagh (Down) - Posts: 42 - 09/10/2010 20:57:21    793407

I see you have taken a quote directly from the commentary team at channel ten, "superstar of their own game". very original that Patrick......mate you have just proven with your opinion that you are not fully knowledgable, seriously how is The Sack a superstar...I bet you only jumped on Aussie Rules when Marty Clarke started playing....and for any Irish person, they only watch cause of the Irish players, pathetic.......say an Irish person became a 'superstar' in rounders 2moro, you's would all jump on it offering your pureile opinions even though you all have no understanding of it...so annoying!!!

ryanafl1983 (Derry) - Posts: 19 - 09/10/2010 22:00:05    793464

goodman ryanafl1983 you put them straight,dont let them take the hand outa you,come back with stronger material for them boyos

Moonmoose (Tyrone) - Posts: 194 - 10/10/2010 11:42:16    793507

ryanafl1983
County: Derry
Would you like a nice cuppa tea and a fist of gingernuts

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/10/2010 12:57:23    793532

last time it was in Croker 2006 my mate from Belfast had an aussie boy visiting, they met when he lived in Aus, he nd the boy ended up fighting after the game they got so wound up!!! it does bring the blood to the boil, btw gerdy smashed the aussie all over Temple Bar :D

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 10/10/2010 13:13:23    793547

ryanafl1983

Have to laugh at some of the comments here, as per usual the Irish thinking they know best and wanting to be that news-breaking extraordinar...First of all Gary Ablett withdrew himself from the job because he has stated that with his move to the Gold Coast, he needs to spend the time looking for a new house and is keen to start working with the young list that is at Gold Coast....funny how everyone on here thinks Malthouse left him out but thats just typical Irishness from everyone speaking before they know the truth....and whats this nonsnence that the team is full of superstars, are you having a laugh Patrick Armagh????
Betts, Goldsack, McVeigh, Varcoe are not superstars...would you even know who these people were if u seen them in the street....any real AFL fans on this board will know one of the main reasons why this squad has been picked and I cant think there be any but as to why some of the more recognisable players have not put there hand up.....none of this squad has been reported in the past season but as you are all such AFL experts I will expect you all know what REPORTED means in AFL terms and you can look behind the lines but I'm not gonna bother explaining that...before anyone starts I am Irish but will be going for the Aussies and cant wait to take my seat at Croke Park to see the Aussies play the Irish off the park and listen to the wonderfully knowledgeable Irish people beside me thinking they are smarter than the person beside them!!!!!!!!!!!
----------------------------------------------------------
Why don't you f off to aus. Someone like you would fit right in to their affront of a nation.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 10/10/2010 14:30:53    793593

He IS Australian.
No Irish person would use that many exclamation marks and capital letters.
I bet he's even wearing a vest.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 10/10/2010 15:18:30    793604

ryanafl1983

I see you have taken a quote directly from the commentary team at channel ten, "superstar of their own game". very original that Patrick......mate you have just proven with your opinion that you are not fully knowledgable, seriously how is The Sack a superstar...I bet you only jumped on Aussie Rules when Marty Clarke started playing....and for any Irish person, they only watch cause of the Irish players, pathetic.......say an Irish person became a 'superstar' in rounders 2moro, you's would all jump on it offering your pureile opinions even though you all have no understanding of it...so annoying!!!

So one day Gary Ablett goes on record to say he's playing in the IR series and the next he's going house hunting? So he probably was dropped. Fair play to Malthouse for saving his embarresment - it shows that a good AFL player doesn't necessarily make a good IR player... no shame in that, it's a big adjustment for the Aussie lads.

So if you're the big AFl expert why don't you run the rule over the squad for us? No point in saying people don't know what their talking about when you haven't proven any knowledge of the game yourself. Tell us who will most likely adjust to the quicker game etc etc... can't wait to be enlightened.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 10/10/2010 17:00:57    793659

09/10/2010 17:27:11
ryanafl1983

Have to laugh at some of the comments here, as per usual the Irish thinking they know best and wanting to be that news-breaking extraordinar...First of all Gary Ablett withdrew himself from the job because he has stated that with his move to the Gold Coast, he needs to spend the time looking for a new house and is keen to start working with the young list that is at Gold Coast....funny how everyone on here thinks Malthouse left him out but thats just typical Irishness from everyone speaking before they know the truth....and whats this nonsnence that the team is full of superstars, are you having a laugh Patrick Armagh????
Betts, Goldsack, McVeigh, Varcoe are not superstars...would you even know who these people were if u seen them in the street....any real AFL fans on this board will know one of the main reasons why this squad has been picked and I cant think there be any but as to why some of the more recognisable players have not put there hand up.....none of this squad has been reported in the past season but as you are all such AFL experts I will expect you all know what REPORTED means in AFL terms and you can look behind the lines but I'm not gonna bother explaining that...before anyone starts I am Irish but will be going for the Aussies and cant wait to take my seat at Croke Park to see the Aussies play the Irish off the park and listen to the wonderfully knowledgeable Irish people beside me thinking they are smarter than the person beside them!!!!!!!!!!!

-------------------------------------

So........people disagree with you and that's a poor reflection on the entire country? Anyone for tenuous?

You probably ARE Australian, like several people here have said, but ether way you're embarrassing yourself. I mean - if you're Irish then supporting another country against your own just because in your mind you know more about Aussie Rules than anyone else in the whole world is pretty treacherous. What's typical Irishness?? What does that even mean? Define Irishness for me, like a good man.

If you're an Aussie then lying about it and going to the trouble of constructing phoney internet personas makes you look like a man(?) who waaaay overvalues his own importance.

Also, your last sentence describes you perfectly.

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 11/10/2010 11:08:51    794011

This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

ryanafl1983
Derry
11/10/2010
15:06

Irish squad announcement

So when is this team being announced for the tests or are the management team doing their best Irish impression and leaving it to the last minute, less than two weeksbefore the start of the series and no squad announced, poor poor form!!!!!

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 11/10/2010 15:09:50    794283

Anthony Tohill to announce his Ireland International Rules panel on Thursday. Stevie McDonnell expected to be captain

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 11/10/2010 16:28:20    794375

Paul Finley from Monoghan was at the training in Ashbourne last week as was James Kavanagh from Kildare and Kieran McKeever from Armagh.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 11/10/2010 17:25:30    794434

thanks for letting me know!!

ryanafl1983 (Derry) - Posts: 19 - 11/10/2010 18:24:16    794491

Ryan is that lad who went to Australia and then came back and spent the next 2 years telling everyone he wished he was still in Australia while wearing his Billabong hoody over his St Kilda jersey, which he wears to championship matches in July, at which he tells the poor gobshite who asks what it is and how he wished he was back in Australia. Christmas in Bondi na nanananananana
Looing forward to the games it must be said though

getonwithit (Carlow) - Posts: 527 - 11/10/2010 20:01:23    794589

I'm out in Oz here at the minute and I've followed AFL pretty avidly for the last few years so I thought I'd give a run down on their squad players to look out for etc.
Todd Banfield (Brisbane Lions) - Solid corner forward, skilful but can win his own ball, future star.
Eddie Betts (Carlton) - Very skillful Serious pace don't really know who'll mark him.
Matthew Boyd (Western Bulldogs) - Ball winner, massive engine so expect him to dominate in the 4th quarter.
Daniel Cross (Western Bulldogs) - Tough as wont lose possession but wont have a big impact because he's NO skills (serious AFL players though)
Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide Crows) - Future superstar the boy's got it all, pace, skill. My tip to win player of the series watch him!
Paul Duffield (Fremantle) - Classly half back, should have no problem with the round ball, lovely kick of the ball.
Dustin Fletcher (Essendon) - Goalkeeper has been for the past few series. Oldest player in the AFL so tons of experience.
James Frawley (Melbourne) - 6'3 All-Star full back but can play anywhere. Expect him to dominate the full back line
Bryce Gibbs (Carlton) - On the verge of stardom. Beautiful kick but jury out on his IR potential.
Sam Gilbert (St Kilda) - Ex rugby league player. Massive turn of pace and engine. Expect him to get LOTS of the ball but doesn't kick great
Tyson Goldsack (Collingwood) - Known for his long kick but change of ball may hinder his influence
Adam Goodes (Sydney Swans) - Twice player of the year. Genuine superstar. Will not get the ball off him he's just a beast. Very like Sean Cavanagh
Brad Green (Melbourne) - Trialed with Man Utd - so should kick the ball well. Probably play half forward and should kick a few scores.
Garrick Ibbotson (Fremantle) - Interesting selection a bit of an unknown really. Serious pace
Kieran Jack (Sydney Swans) - Just off his best season to date. Paul Galvin esque in that he's not that big but is a mighty man to tackle. Just gets the job done.
Jarrad McVeigh (Sydney Swans) - Played before didn't do much then so don't expect much.
Leigh Montagna (St Kilda) - Pace to burn and engine to match. Not sure who'll mark him because he really is a great athlete.
Jack Riewoldt (Richmond) - Top goal kicker last season. Reads the play exceptionally but I'm not sure he'll be able to transfer that to IR. Look out for him to take a few screamers over boys heads.
Kade Simpson (Carlton) - Austrlian Player of the series last time. Has a lot of positives with a big left foot expect him to set up of a lot.
Dane Swan (Collingwood) - Should have won player of the year. Will seriously get 45 touches and I think his pace and power will ask big questions of our defence.
Travis Varcoe (Geelong Cats) - Won player of the series at u17 level. Lightening quick and tough. Will play wing forward but I tink we'll have the players to keep him relatively quiet (unlike Swan and Goodes)
David Wojcinski (Geelong Cats) - Good solid player who never loses possession. Watch his run from half back.

gael_in_exile (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 12/10/2010 10:54:52    794826

great post gael_in_exile, thanks for that. An ex rugby league player and Man Utd trialist in the squad - interesting indeed!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 12/10/2010 13:14:41    794972