International Rules Series 2010 discussion thread

saw the game in Beirut live on eurosport-was very disappointed to be honest. The Irish lads sacrificed their kicking ability with tackles in the first 2 quarters-the shooting selection was woeful with like 10 behinds-i know conditions were prob slippery and blustery 2 but how many times did the ball go over the sideline or did we spill possession? we were 2 keen to get the ball away-one eye on the tackle i suppose-if we r 2 win d series we need to let the ball in quick to our nifty forwards-we hav a better poaching and goal scoring instinct-so make it count lads-im back for the next game-cant wait :)

statman.dave (Tipperary) - Posts: 22 - 25/10/2010 14:02:17    803094

mayotyroneman

802948 mes amis...you completely miss the point with your petulant remark...this is a hybrid game, which does no justice to gaelic football or aussie rules....it has turned out to be a mixture of soccer, rugby and netball...the only reason why people watched in the past was the fights...now that that destructive element has gone, there will be no attraction anymore...gaelic football has 125 years of tradition behind it, and is a fast moving game...the rules in this game are by their nature a compromise...and as a compromise they have diluted the best elements of gaelic football and aussie rules...its about time to wind it up

We get it man........you don't like the game. However, a lot of people do. A big crowd in Limerick and there will be a big crowd in Croker next weekend.

Just because you don't like something dosen't mean it should be gotten rid of or discontinued. For example, I don't like rugby or golf as I find them boring but a lot of people do so I don't care. For the record I'm not a massive fan on the International Rules but I don't see why so many people seem to hate it.

Although I would agree with you about players playing for Ireland and then for their clubs the next day. Any player who still has club commitments should be ineligable for Ireland.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 25/10/2010 14:14:15    803101

The game is played less than twice a year - it's a bit of craic for the players, alot of players(and officials) are going around not knowing what's going on - naturally enough and it can be sometimes terrible or fun to watch. It will never replace gaelic football or afl so what harm is it?

With news that Tadhg Kennelly is considering staying in ireland and that irish afl recruits must now compete against aussie kids for places, the poaching argument is now a dead duck. So why the resistance to a harmless kickabout that now has over 40 years of history? is it that we were shown up for our kicking skills last game? Or is it just the "down with that sort of thing" brigade that object to anything new.

I believe it's the latter, who if we all listened to would have a goal still worth an infinite amount of points.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 25/10/2010 14:16:24    803105

well said floops. i think in the last 10 minutes we saw how this should be played!

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 25/10/2010 14:34:29    803122

I never saw an Irish team that had so much difficulty creating scoring chances v the Aussies. For three and a half quarters we were completely unable to breach their defence, despite enjoying plenty of possession at the back, and around midfield. It was only with the slow "mark making" approach up front, that we were able to create "stand-up" scoring chances. Even then, our free taking from the hand was fairly abysmal on the night.

Ireland looked clever and prepared in some aspects of this game, like the use of "soccer skills", and drawing fouls by committing Aussies into tackling the man without the ball. The cleverness didn't extend into our forward play though. There appears to be a shortage of pace up front. We seem to have picked a lot of big guys, but we're not cutting through the Aussies at speed. Running at a defence with pace is usually very effective, as Brogan's 6-pointer showed. I think we need some guys like Paul Kerrigan, fellas with real pace, to trouble the Aussie defence and open them up for goal chances.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4331 - 25/10/2010 15:03:33    803141

Just to set record straight regarding Mes Amis point. I don't like it but I don't think it should done away with if players like it. It is big opportunity for them, particularly players like Murphy, Glynn and the Roscommon lad who for whom it may well be their biggest days ever in terms of national recognition so you would have to be a reall kill joy to want to stop it!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/10/2010 16:07:06    803188

Spot on floops, this happens everytime there is a bad game in the series. I don't know why people are getting so annoyed over it, if you don't like it don't watch it but stop trying to ruin it for everybody who does like it and wants to see it continue. We all know it was a bad game last Saturday but that was just because we didn't perform, hopefully this week we can pick things up and make an entertaining game out of it.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 25/10/2010 17:08:02    803225

Just one point sprin to mind here concerning Kennelly and T Walsh. I actually thought both had very poor games. Having said that,
more so in the case of Tommy Walsh, a year ago he was playing GAA, has had the guts of year in Oz learning their game, then
is time transported back to Ireland playing a hybrid game, a recipe for mental confusion. The same to a lesser extent for Kennelly,
they worked hard and gave it their all. like all the other lads. But to be honest, did expect better performances from both.

bogger from meath (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 25/10/2010 17:27:05    803236

Wait until Benny gets at them on Saturday

Downgael15 (Down) - Posts: 199 - 25/10/2010 17:52:50    803251

The Irish were very very poor!the Aussies were in a different league 2 them..as for kennelly and walsh tried hard but u wouldant think over a year ago kennelly was playin 4 kerry his kickin was very poor.best team won and should of won by more.That year he kennelly won the all ireland with kerry, a disgrace 2 c him winning it.

greeniegold (Donegal) - Posts: 113 - 25/10/2010 18:08:01    803265

That year he kennelly won the all ireland with kerry, a disgrace 2 c him winning it.

Why may I ask?

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 25/10/2010 19:04:25    803287

Well if a complete stranger was shown the highlights of that game he would find it hard to know which team was not used to playing with the round ball !!The Australians were much better and more accurate with it and the kicking of our forwards was very poor. One of my favourite players Sean Canavan kicked 4 one pointers. If it was a Gaelic match he would have had 4 wides. He was not the only one either as some of them seemed afraid to bend and pick up the ball !! Huge improvement needed. Also the constant blowing of the whistle would drive you mad !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/10/2010 21:09:20    803386

I agree with hurlingdub, the international rules is recognition for those boys that work just as hard and put in as much time and effort as the colm coopers of the world. If some of ye begrudgers stopped to think that if it was your son, brother, friend etc getting the chance to represent their country you might actually lighten up a bit and stop complaining.

GoneGaaGaa (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 25/10/2010 21:14:45    803394

Have to agree cluxton had a fine game also and glad cavan slasher is agreeing with there scared to bend there backs .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/10/2010 21:31:13    803412

greeniegold

803265 The Irish were very very poor!the Aussies were in a different league 2 them..as for kennelly and walsh tried hard but u wouldant think over a year ago kennelly was playin 4 kerry his kickin was very poor.best team won and should of won by more.That year he kennelly won the all ireland with kerry, a disgrace 2 c him winning it.

Kennelly began playing with the Kerry team in the league and indeed his kicking skills were initially poor, even in the start of the championship there was still some woeful wides-as there was with numerous members of the Kerry team as they struggled against Cork in Munster and the qualifiers. Tadgh broke his finger and was off the team for another while; during this time, I often went up to Fitzgearld Stadium and consistently saw him stay behind after training, practicing and practicing his kicking skills. He came on against Dublin in the QF and there was a notable improvment in his accuracy and for forty minutes or so in AI final against Cork, not only did he score two points but he was a key player in stopping Cork's running game, Canty and Conor Counihans tactics. The man is a dedicated sportsperson who has the determination to improve consistently. He was no more off than numerous of the Irish squad last Saturday but he was to be found all over the field and didn't hide from the game. They will play better next Sat. As for it being a disgrace to see Tadgh winning a celtic cross-not in my books. The man worked hard for that medal.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 25/10/2010 21:49:18    803431

kenelly deserved that medal

there was little between the teams but out options were poor

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 25/10/2010 21:57:21    803441

RIP International Rules.

posh (Meath) - Posts: 633 - 26/10/2010 08:52:27    803454

I thought the tactics of not picking the ball of the ground or tapping it on instead of catching it were very clever and, at times, very well used. However I do think they over done it in the end, they need to realsie when to use it and when not to.

I thought McDonnel had a good game as well as glynn, however the ball into the forwards wasnt great. Saying that I think the forwrds have to take some of the stick for that too as they seemed to be hiding at times. Bernard Brogan was missing for most of the match, although he did take his goal brilliantly. Michael Murpy was very disappointing (what was he doing with that free he lined up with his right and then shot wide with his left) and expected more from Tommy Walsh.

What worries me is that i think the game was very similar to the one played in connaught a few years back (poor game which came to life for the alst 10 minutes) and we all know what happened in the second test that year. Australia will up the ante on Saturday and we need to match that if we have a hope of being in sight.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 26/10/2010 09:51:59    803475

Tohil Tohill Tohilll

I thought & still do think he was the best midfielder to grace the fields of Ulster.he then went on to be a pundit instead of a manager & i think he made the right choice..

As the International Rules game was the worst in 20 years,i never seen as bad.Infact Simon Cowell should send him a cheque cause the amount of men that got interested in the X factor over that rubbish was a shock..

where do ya get off soccer styling the ball for 80 mins (Bend your god damn back)god knows only for Leighton Gleyn (sori for spelling) i ve given my tickets away for next week.Even if its a fantastic game the goods gone out of it now...

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 26/10/2010 10:36:50    803494

I was just amazed how we couldn't kick the ball properly,it was embarrassing only kicking 8 'points' throughout the entire game.tactics should be having Brogan & Goulding in both corners,give them fast low balls,and they'll kick points for fun.instead of lumping stupid high balls into them where the Aussies will always come out on top.
Secondly,we played far too slow&when we get a mark,instead of just standing there,players should either run it,or have 2 lads running off him to lay it off.a mark is to be used as an advantage,but we take so long with them,it gives the Aussies a chance to get back in position.
Thirdly,put Canty at full back,in this game,you need a physical presence at full back,Hanleys a decent player,but he got bullied out there Saturday night.
Basically,if we play like we did in in the 1st test,we'll get blown off the pitch at Croker.Having Shields & Benny back is huge but can't help but feel that Kieran Donaghy would be the difference tween us winning and losing. ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 26/10/2010 10:56:55    803506