International Rules Series 2010 discussion thread

goodes is a beast, great player though.

Doherty (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 15/10/2010 15:09:52    797310

The anit-Rules cranks are out again. Think they'd prefer if we left the international thing to the rugby & soccer boys. I think it's a great spectacle if played properly & will def be in Croker for the decider. It's the only real 32-county outlet we have as far as I'm concerned.

domoore (Laois) - Posts: 346 - 15/10/2010 16:04:30    797345

Bit dissapointed Cluxton was selected again. I can think of alot of goalies that are better and more suited to this game.

Quirke
McVeigh
Murphy

Are 3 obviously better keepers but obviously Tohill has his own idea's. He's probably more mobile that most.

SallinsMan (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 15/10/2010 16:57:55    797390

Apparently Galvin is huffing with Tohill for having the temerity to comment negatively on the formers antics against Cork. Read this in the Irish News. Also that Declan O'Sullivan made himself unavailable due to club commitments. Here ironically we have the two greatest wingers ( and also great footballers ) apparently unwilling to show us what they're really made of in the cauldron of white heat that is the Comp rules. Very disappointing. It has always been thus with guys whose bark is worse than their bite.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 15/10/2010 17:10:41    797403

gaelantrim i agree 100%,its easy to hit a fella when you know he aint going to hit you back.galvin likes to think of himself as a tough guy but he aint so tough when its noel oleary,some big aussie or even jason sherlock (2007) standing up to him.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 15/10/2010 20:47:11    797538

please god this time when our lads get a box they might actually hit the aussies back instead of running crying to the papers .

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 15/10/2010 20:51:37    797541

sallins man i wouldnt agree with ye that the 3 lads are better than cluxton but id say he picked him cause he is comfartable coming out the field with the ball as he sometimes plays half forward for parnells

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 15/10/2010 20:54:36    797545

Hope Leighton Glynn is given plenty of game time. He destroyed the Aussies in the first Test in Australia two years ago. Also Kildaremen is James Kavanagh not originally from Hollywood County Wicklow?????

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1145 - 15/10/2010 21:08:43    797553

That's what I mean Finglas, he's a better ball player than most even though Quirke can play a bit when needed. Quirke would also give more in terms of stature.

As for Jimmers,I don't know if he's originally from Hollywood but he's gonna be in the top top two or three forwards in the country in the nxt year or two.An absolutely classy footballer with real style and skill! I bet Micko wishes he has I Wicklow man!

SallinsMan (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 15/10/2010 21:31:14    797566

Why no John Galvin (Limerick) ? Many people inc me tipped him for an All Star and they didn't even pick him for this. Big strong lads like him are needed !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/10/2010 11:47:53    797655

what next 15 lacross player will hammer us at gaelic football- its a complete joke 15 lads that never kicked a gaelic ball in their lives after about 2 weeks are completely better than us at it- its a big embarassment to be honest, less of the crap folks its 99% gaelic football and we are useless at our national sport even though we are the only ones that play it- a complete joke we are an embarassment

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/10/2010 12:25:27    797684

Agree with you finglas and Tohill said yesterday that our players have to learn how to accept a good tackle on them, that was the main problem the last time, our players tried to start on the aussies everytime they pulled off a good tackle. The aussies love a tough game but they are not used to the antics that go in Gaelic football, if a player squares up to them or pushes them they view that as asking for a fight whereas we have become the kings of handbags, plenty of pushing, shoving and squaring up but the last thing we want is an actual fight.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 16/10/2010 12:33:14    797692

Eamonn Fennell has no club and is the third choice midfielder for Dublin yet he gets called up and MacAuley and McConnell dont?? Explain that one for me.

heebie_jeebies (Donegal) - Posts: 48 - 16/10/2010 13:18:14    797728

heebie -fennell would be our first choice midfielder only for an injury he carried all year that prevented him from playing 70min in the championship.i think he would be suited well to the game and one thing is for sure ,if an aussie hits him you can be sure eamo will give as good as he gets.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 16/10/2010 14:22:01    797764

domoore
County: Laois

The anit-Rules cranks are out again. Think they'd prefer if we left the international thing to the rugby & soccer boys. I think it's a great spectacle if played properly & will def be in Croker for the decider. It's the only real 32-county outlet we have as far as I'm concerned.

I agree with you domoore. Every year you get people coming out of the wood work crying about the International Rules series. We all love gaelic football and think that it's the best game in the world. Why then shouldn't there be an international outlet for our players and which promotes gaelic football. It's not gaelic football they are playing, but it's pretty close to it and it allows our best players to show their immense skill to a world wide audience and thus promote the GAA. How is this a bad thing? I'm thinking of maybe going down to Limerick for the first test and I will definitely be there in Dublin for the second test. I think playing the games under lights is a great idea and will really add to the atmosphere.

PatrickArmagh (Down) - Posts: 42 - 16/10/2010 17:40:10    797838

Patrick Armagh, you talk of a wordwide audience...Is it being broadcast in India, no, is it being broadcast in USA, no, is it being broadcast in China, no...how does playing a game with a country that no one else in the world plays, promotes Gaelic wordwide?????? Half of everyone in OZ is Irish anyway so they are aware of Gaelic games!!!!!!

ryanafl1983 (Derry) - Posts: 19 - 16/10/2010 18:19:14    797856

They have these things called satellites and they are connected to televisions. And it's amazing because it allows you to watch sporting events from other parts of the world. For example, I watched the International Rules a couple of years ago when I went to college in America. And there were Americans watching it too, who loved it. This may be a bit complex for you I know, so I've tried to make it as simple as possible.

PatrickArmagh (Down) - Posts: 42 - 16/10/2010 20:43:00    797948

Of course people will see it in these countries but only ex-pats will watch it...Is this game being staged to target amercians in mind, no, is it being staged with india in mind, no,is it being staged with china in mind, no....this game is only targeted towards Irish and Australians, hardly opening up new fronteirs is it!!!!! ive tried to explain this as simple as possible, i look forward to your response!!!!!

ryanafl1983 (Derry) - Posts: 19 - 16/10/2010 21:31:10    797984

Ryanafl, why not read what you're replying to before you reply? That way, you won't say something entirely contradictory to the personal experience being relayed to you.

as for this.....

----------------------------------

16/10/2010 12:25:27
liathroidboy

what next 15 lacross player will hammer us at gaelic football- its a complete joke 15 lads that never kicked a gaelic ball in their lives after about 2 weeks are completely better than us at it- its a big embarassment to be honest, less of the crap folks its 99% gaelic football and we are useless at our national sport even though we are the only ones that play it- a complete joke we are an embarassment

----------------------------------

This is just ridiculous.

Who won last time? Which team had Leighton Glynn doing reverse 360 spins to palm the ball to Donaghy before Cavanagh's brilliant goal? I'm pretty sure it was Ireland.

We are far from en embarrassment. Every day the radio is full of this nonsense, bar-stool experts texting in to say that 'this country is a disgrace, joe.' Yesterday I heard someone saying that if those Chilean miners had been Irish we wouldn't have got them out - therefore we're an awful country. What a leap to make! It was the same when Anelka got a lengthy ban from the FFF. We were a disgrace then too, because Roy Keane didn't get a similar ban after Saipan. As if aping the French is the path to efficiency.

I'd rather have our Dermot Earleys, our Lar Corbetts and our Graham Cantys than someone who dishes out cowardly clotheslines like Chris Johnson. I'd rather have a public service that registers it's displeasure by writing letters to the Irish Times instead of going on strike and crippling the country a few times a year.

If you hate Ireland so much, it's not like it's expensive to leave. Off you go. We won't embarrass you anymore.

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 16/10/2010 21:51:27    798000

Can't wait to see how Murphy goes as he has big interest over here in Oz... If he plays bad then they'll be glad he chose to stay in Eire but if he plays really well, they might just push the boat out to get him... (as long as he doesn't kick someone up the backside - sorry Setanta, couldn't resist)

Mickey Collins (Donegal) - Posts: 48 - 17/10/2010 13:02:15    798060