Ulster Football Supporters. A Question For You

Never considered Down to be true gaels so therefore i will be supporting the REBELS.

tyronetaffe (Tyrone) - Posts: 45 - 09/09/2010 10:51:29    769597

Floops

769579 it's one of the annoying things about ulster - blindly supporting any team from the one province.... some sort of complex i suppose....

It's nothing like that at all. It's not blindly suppporting any team from the one province for god sake. Its changing since the advent of the qualifiers but it was always supporting your own provinces representative. The closest comparison I think of (although it shouldn't be needed as its a fairly simple concept) is Irish soccer teams representing Ireland in European competition. They represent the league and most people would support them excluding begrudgers, which it appears every other province is full of. Anyway, its not that big a deal, its not liek we all denounce out own counties, take down flags and jerseys and kit ourselves out in another counites jerseys, its just simply preferring to see the best team in your province beat the best team in another? Still confused?

Some sort of complex??? haha...the irony

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 09/09/2010 10:52:53    769598

Also, we would meet Ulster teams more often and have the craic with their supporters and get to know them. Why would we want to see strangers winning instead of people we know and meet regularly ?? In the G.A.A. in Ulster there is rivalry but also healthy appreciation just as in any other Province i presume !! Down now have a chance of being the Ulster county with most A.I. wins and would pass out my own county but i would wish them well nonetheless !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 09/09/2010 11:12:55    769622

I get what you're saying Breffni39, maybe we should bring back the railway cup? Anyway it just seems to me it's more of an Ulster thing.... listening to some people ye'd swear someone has them convinced they're living in a different country! ;)

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 09/09/2010 11:16:35    769628

Floops - I agree with what Breffni39 says and to me it says more about those from other counties who don't support their own Provincial representative come an AI final. Though maybe when we look through the annals of time its not surprising as Ulster would have been more likely to stand together united against opposition than those other provinces who lay down and turned over than stand up and fight. Yet ironically we were the ones who were cast aside. Is that the English drum I can hear.... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/09/2010 11:25:16    769642

Offside_Rule

769642 Ulster would have been more likely to stand together united

Thats dead right my friend, ye're the most united bunch I ever met.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 09/09/2010 11:39:21    769653

In Munster theres Kerry vs Cork, leinster theres Meath vs Dublin. All of these counties are close neighbours, this means you work with, have relations or know alot of people from the opposing county. Whenever the other county wins the slagging and gloating can be unbearable and whenever you're winning you dish it out extra.All of these counties are successful football counties, hence the bitter rivalry and the reason we dont all stick together for provincial reasons. If Cork win in 2 weeks theres about 20 people whose calls will have to be dodged.

I think its different for you in Cavan, Cavan_Slasher. With the number of counties surrounding Cavan (Meath,monaghan,fermanagh,leitrim,longford) you must work with, have relations from, and know plenty of people from these counties, but seeing as meath are Just about the only neighbouring county with any success, its not surprising that you have no natural adversary. If perhaps ye had been neighbours with Down then maybe ye're historical success could have bred the rivalry. Thus ye might as well stick with the ulster teams while the times are lean.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 09/09/2010 11:53:42    769668

Yep, the Rebel county for me, needless to say thats not Down....

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 09/09/2010 12:01:07    769682

I'll be cheering for an Ulster clean sweep on All Ireland Sunday - Tyrone minors and Down Seniors.

Ulster Football is dead - Long live Ulster Football!

KennellyAirways (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 09/09/2010 12:15:50    769700

The Ancient provence of Ulster has arguably always been the most Celtic provence in Ireland - followed by leinster I would say. Reason for that of course is when you consider what happened at the Pale in Leinster - that would never have happened in any Ulster county. Perhaps this is why there is a more untied bond? Discuss

realgael10 (Armagh) - Posts: 3 - 09/09/2010 12:43:19    769723

Hard to say. I have a lot of respect for Cork and they have had a few dissapointing seasons by finishing second to Kerry. They have been very consistent but have been unable to finish off their seasons.

Down on the otherhand you cant help but admire, last year they were beaten by Wicklow the following year they are in an All Ireland final. I would say that they had a rather easy route through the qualifiers however you can only beat what is put in front of you. Just goes to show what believing in yourselves can do.

Would like to see Down win it for themselves and Ulster but Cork do deserve an All Ireland.

Armaghgeddon (Armagh) - Posts: 539 - 09/09/2010 13:17:41    769773

When we had a great run in the football championship in 2008 all the way to the semi, we beat Down and Armagh along the way before eventually exiting at the hands of Tyrone

I was at all 3 games and I have to say on that basis, Ulster football fans are great, Down & Armagh in particular took their defeat in good grace and were great craic all night in Quinns, Tyrone fans were friendly and complimentary on Wexford's run, so here's one culchie who hasn't a bad word against the fans of Ulster teams

Incidently, I spent a long weekend in Killarney recently and I didn't really see the rivalry down there at all, there were Kerry & Limerick flags EVERYWHERE and the impression I got from Kerry is that they don't mind if Kerry, Cork or Limerick do well as long as one of them does

Sport as it should be

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 09/09/2010 13:32:32    769787

There is more truth in this than many people realise. I was with a couple of Antrim & Tyrone Gaels the day after Down beat Kildare and they had been supporting Kildare, in fact they were cursing Down profusely. They said that Down had been at the forefront of removing Rules 21 & 42 and had 'betrayed' (their words) Ulster and Northern Gaels. They also said that Down were Britain's and the Northern Ireland Office's favourite GAA people because they had always done what they had been told by the Establishment. For what it's worth I will be supporting Down but there are probably as many in Antrim who are opposed to them. Furthermore Antrim clubs have strong links with a few Cork clubs and I know a few Antrim GAA people who are going to the final to support the Rebels.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 09/09/2010 14:44:55    769889

was gutted for Kildare, wanted them to win SAM outright , however has to be Down and Tyrone. The Northern Alliance of Afghanistan against the Peoples Republic of China.

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 09/09/2010 16:01:10    770009

dont mind who wins ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/09/2010 16:23:53    770055

Don't mind who wins the all-ireland, hope it is a good game and Plan B comes into operation at full time!

bhoy_in_blue (Dublin) - Posts: 25 - 09/09/2010 16:57:02    770132

hope down win even though they'll bypass us on All Irelands

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 09/09/2010 17:01:13    770137

Up Down, i'd support anyone but Tyrone!

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 09/09/2010 18:09:50    770257

Just you worry about getting a team out for next year Brolly

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 09/09/2010 18:37:29    770293

sure everyone in ulster is sick of looking at Tyrone and Armagh win the anglo celt, never mind the all ireland. Ulster needs new champs for the good of the game

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 10/09/2010 09:30:39    770563