Tipperary Showboating

pointless thread. some people just love to find fault with champions. was this thread started by a cork man...?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11735 - 07/09/2010 17:01:27    767919

I thought Tipperary were awesome. They needed to be in order to beat the greatest Hurling team of the modern age. They needed to have attitude, courage & sporting intelligence to overcome Kilkenny. Seeing this as 'showboating' is wrong, just like people talk about good teams having a 'swagger'. There's point having a 'swagger' if you lose your matches.

ajdoyle78 (Down) - Posts: 520 - 07/09/2010 17:10:27    767936

I say well done to them..

Yet you start a thread the day of the final having a go at them for supposeidly celebrating frees.... is that not in your view the same as The_Bulls point!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 07/09/2010 17:10:43    767938

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

All-Ireland in 9 years...

or 2 in 10 (the same amount as cork).

Welcome back and warmest congratulations, enjoy the day!!!!!!!!

Ignore my winding up of the school boy, I just can't help it!!!!!!!!!!

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 07/09/2010 17:14:25    767946

Can't believe this rubbish I'm reading, the way he lifted the cup????????? Every All Ireland winning captain has always done that, or haven't you noticed? And Kilkenny did not ever just shake hands and go home, nor should they have

Tipp fans, enjoy your win and ignore this nonsense

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 07/09/2010 17:15:36    767950

Yeah, the showboating was awful. Did you see the way he lifted the cup up the crowd? It was almost like he was trying to show it off after he'd won it. Kilkenny would have just shook hands with the president and went home.
doublehop , 07/09/2010 at 16:59

It will be a long time before Kilkenny shake hands with the president again! Theyl be going home early again though.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 07/09/2010 17:15:44    767951

lads ye can give out all ye want...but liam is in our hands.nothin ye say will change it

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 07/09/2010 17:15:47    767953

sort out your own mess before having a go at the tipp hurlers god forbid they celebrate an all ireland success

moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 07/09/2010 17:15:59    767954

Ah! hags and cheese you are back from Kilkenny, was there a big crowd in the marble city for the runners up and also ran medals?

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 07/09/2010 17:17:05    767958

HAG_AND_CHEESE

Hag Tipp are All-Ireland Champions again.

Don't let the begrudgers get you down!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 07/09/2010 17:18:55    767963

lads ye can give out all ye want...but liam is in our hands.nothin ye say will change it
lowerormond , 07/09/2010 at 17:15

Ah! lower ormond is back a man who disagreed with my prediction for the last 4 months! Now he is jumping on the bandwagon with Hags and Cheese. Fickle Tipp men are now premier supporters!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 07/09/2010 17:19:46    767969

doublehop , 07/09/2010 at 16:59

you call yourself doublehop well Lar only needed one hop 3 times to bury the cats!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 07/09/2010 17:21:39    767976

moddy91 & lowerormond:

Well said lads hope ye enjoyed the celebrations... did you go to thurles last night i'd say there was some atmostphere....gutted I had to work but the celebrations after the match and popped into the burlington too made up for it.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 07/09/2010 17:23:29    767981

MesAmis , 07/09/2010 at 17:18

another man who gave me a pain in my eyes!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 07/09/2010 17:23:43    767982

I love to see the players showing a bit of emotion myself. Not even sure I would call it showboating as such as I don't think it is strictly intended for the crowd but rather acts as a form of release of nervous energy for themselves or a means of communication to their team-mates.

Sometimes it can have the added effect of geeing up the supporters but even then it can only add to the atmosphere and as such I dont really see the harm in it.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 07/09/2010 17:32:22    768001

patrique:

Thanks for that Pat.... Interesting that a certain poster dosen't log on during the day anymore I wonder what could be the reason ;)

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 07/09/2010 17:36:09    768009

thurlesblues I hope you got on Tipp (-5) at 8/1 as I told you too! Made me a few quid anyway.

People mightn't like that touch of arrogance but at the end of the day you were spot on. Reading a different post...and you were right KK were weak down the middle and as predicted Tipp dominated all the crucial areas including midfield.

(Choose to ignore this thread!)

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/09/2010 17:47:32    768029

Actually maybe I will have a rant! If anyone was showboating it was the KK supporters....I was told by two in Dublin onSaturday night that they expected to kill off Tipp earlier after Tipp being such sore losers after last year ( and apparently KK didnt perform last year!). It was what they honestly believed....still though who comes out with a comment like that? And before the throw in a KK elderley man shouted out history beckons lads...Tipp havent a hope (after 10 mins the same man said I can't see us winning this!). He went home with 5 mins to go!

Don't get me wrong I don't think the KK players were arrogant or showboaters but to say Tipp were is laughable! And from Cork man! Did Setanta O'hailpin every manage to take flight after all that waving of his arms after scoring that goal described wonderfully by Cyril Farrell in the commentary?!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/09/2010 17:55:01    768039

Sigh

premierfan (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 07/09/2010 18:30:34    768079

thurlesblues

767982 MesAmis , 07/09/2010 at 17:18

another man who gave me a pain in my eyes!!

What?!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 07/09/2010 18:35:03    768087