Ray Cosgrove and that great Armagh team

Who'd win between Donegal 2012 and Armagh 2002?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 21/05/2014 12:12:45    1591210

you would have to laugh at this media trotted lines being used on hoganstand of dublin being so far ahead of the rest
I guarntee you had tyrone of kicked that last ball in the match over the bar against us instead of just the other side of the post
the media would now be severly questioning dublins hunger and if they have what it takes to do back to back all irelands
some people are so easily lead by the media they cannot think for themselves

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/05/2014 12:13:27    1591212

hill16no1man

you would have to laugh at this media trotted lines being used on hoganstand of dublin being so far ahead of the rest
I guarntee you had tyrone of kicked that last ball in the match over the bar against us instead of just the other side of the post
the media would now be severly questioning dublins hunger and if they have what it takes to do back to back all irelands

Totally irrelevant post. If's and but's. Lets deal in FACTS. Fact, Dublin beat Tyrone. Fact they wiped the floor with their semi-final and final opponents. They have plenty of hunger.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 21/05/2014 12:17:54    1591218

the dublin 2002-2005 wouldnt land a blow on the present dublin team
you know full well that would be the case
as while we could attack pretty well in them days we had a full back and that was it for the defence

We will never know how that Dublin side or indeed the later one would fair against todays Dublin team - impossible to say so I am not going to preach that I know full well one way or the other as none of us do for sure.

I do see some similarities in your description of that Dublin team and todays though.

I think where Dublin are different today is at managerial and with that mentality level as getting the monkey off their back a few years ago makes them appear better able to cope with any hype.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 21/05/2014 12:28:10    1591230

Stop that :)

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 21/05/2014 12:28:32    1591231

My dad always winds me up by saying that post is still shaking after Cosgrave!
I stood out on the pitch after an all-Ireland club one year. Stood in the spot where he missed the free and thought how the f**k did he miss that!?
Still he did have a wonder year that year goals galore.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 21/05/2014 13:41:30    1591322

Ned_Stormcrow

Nice question!

I'd say Armagh. Francie to take care of Murphy early doors and that's that!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 21/05/2014 14:08:27    1591346

Ned_Stormcrow

hill16no1man

Totally irrelevant post. If's and but's. Lets deal in FACTS. Fact, Dublin beat Tyrone. Fact they wiped the floor with their semi-final and final opponents. They have plenty of hunger.

yes and at half time against cork and 5 mins into second half im sure many on here were getting the knifes ready
aswell as the media hacks probably had the first paragraphs ready to go for the next days papers
the point is people listen to the media too much
like I said my opinion wouldnt change either way had dublin have made league semi finals or finals
as they are two seperate comeptitions
but because dublin were afforded the chance to put out what will largely be their first 15 in the last 2 matches
most peoples opinions only formed then

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/05/2014 14:59:44    1591386

naysayer

if your pointing out defence as a problem for current side
I again would appeal to those who listen to the media to actualy go watch dublin play
as its not the full back line that does be to blame for conceeding
anybody who was in croke park v cork would identify the reason cork were getting scores
it was the fact that neither mdma or o mahony in that first half were tracking back thus
leading to runners running through and laying the ball off
which left the full back line between a rock and a hard place
go to the attacker or stay with your man
either way the opposite team will get the scoring chance if the midfielders dont work back aswell as forward

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/05/2014 15:03:28    1591392

21/05/2014 12:12:45
Ned_Stormcrow

Great match up draw 0-0 to 0-0 bus conductor called in to remove players from the pitch after 70 mins .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/05/2014 19:25:47    1591573

its amazing how many posters on here use the word "where" instead of "were" very strange.. I never seen it before

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 21/05/2014 21:58:01    1591685

MesAmis

Ned_Stormcrow

Nice question!

I'd say Armagh. Francie to take care of Murphy early doors and that's that!
________

I'd also go for Armagh 2002

They had the players in every position to beat Donegal

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 22/05/2014 08:58:27    1591703

I always felt as a Leitrim man Darcy was the man to take on that free that Ray hit the post with. He had scored countless crucial ones for Leitrim in the past and he was on the field when the free was given. Overall his contribution from play was going to be limited so I was sure when he came on it was for a moment like that. Felt bad for Cosgrove because he had some year. Great Armagh team all the same, if they could have matched Tyrone's cynicism then they would have had more All Irelands. They were the most manly team I can remember in Football, Meath in late 80s and early 90s had a dirtier streak so that is why I would admire Armagh more.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 22/05/2014 11:44:03    1591770

Cosgrove was always going to take that free, I mean, everything he touched before that turned to gold so why would they give it to Darcy, who rarely had a good game in a blue jersey, I think you Leitrim lads sucked all the life out of him :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 22/05/2014 11:51:07    1591777

Nah, can't remember Darcy playing a good game for us, Cosgrove had the golden touch that year and was always going to take that free.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 22/05/2014 12:04:42    1591792

Darcy was the stand out star player for Leitrim but he never played well for us which was very disappointing but who cares were destroying every team now it's great.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/05/2014 12:20:32    1591805

darcy was not agreat free taker in his dublin days
take a look at the 2001 all ireland quarter finals in thurles
darcy was reluctant to kick frees from anywhere other then the 14 yard line he went short throughout the entire game
the last free against armagh was about 30-35 yards out
darcy wouldnt have had th range for that kind of free

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/05/2014 13:27:36    1591842

Armagh 2002 would hav beat Donegal.. Not near as defensive as Donegal who came out of nowhere with a system to win an AI while that Armagh team were knocking around for a long time.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 22/05/2014 14:30:49    1591872

Darcy scored an unbelievable goal for Dublin against Kildare in the replay in 98. It's forgotten because ye were four points down and the whistle was blown before ye got another chance. Have to say at the time we all feared the worst down in the Canal End before the whistle went and we all went bananas.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 22/05/2014 14:51:28    1591891

doublehop

I remember that well but we needed a point against armagh he would not have been going for a goal from that distance
cosgrove was on fire that year and that day I think he had already kicked 1 goal and 6 points and one was a sideline ball
I think so you were hardly going to take him off that free at the end

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/05/2014 15:12:53    1591907