WELL DONE DOWN very Unlucky Kildare on another day those uprights and goal posts might have went the other other way, Johnny Doyle you give it your all no shame in being in tears at the end of what was a very exciting game . Now Down you do the right thing and bring SAM along with Tyrone Minors TOM back to Nordie land williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 29/08/2010 19:35:29 759424 Link 0 |
refs and umpires in the gaa need to get their act together teams train very hard and then to see a disgraceful decision which cost them the game given clearly Coulter was in the square waiting for the ball disgraceful decision. thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 29/08/2010 19:35:45 759425 Link 0 |
Just home from Croker and trying hard to find some perspective. First off, Congratulations to Down: had the majority of the ball, worked hard for it and if you were trying to guess which team had been in the last eight for the last three years you wouldn't of thought it was Kildare as Down's use of that ball, decision making and execution was fantastic. Apart from that I'm just going to make a few points because I can't be bothered stringing together a coherent paragraph: doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 29/08/2010 20:13:49 759465 Link 0 |
Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 29/08/2010 20:52:41 759520 Link 0 |
Congrats to Down dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 29/08/2010 20:55:19 759526 Link 0 |
congrats lads played well today an hardluck kildare. must say yees are a good bunch of supporters sang your hearts out up on the hill even after the whistle an outside yees are a credit till your county !! dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 29/08/2010 21:03:27 759541 Link 0 |
I am scared of Cork after Downs performance today. Will Cork loose a third final in a row? Thats quite possible. Rebeldude (Cork) - Posts: 5 - 29/08/2010 21:05:34 759545 Link 0 |
Great to see a team full of talented footballers beat a team with just guts and determination. Nice to see skill win. Over the past few years it has been the teams with the greatest physicality and fitness who have won these games. Cork v Kildare would have been an AI final with no standout skillful footballers. Hard luck to Kildare, but a county who cant find a single forward to kick a free left-footed from in front of the goal doesnt deserve to be in the final. Rather than blaming the ref Kildare could look to the free Cavanagh missed in the first half and the point O'Flaherty missed from the 14 in the second as the key moments. Any one of the Down forwards would have slotted those chances. icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 29/08/2010 21:52:03 759614 Link 0 |
Congrats to Down. Hope ye finish the job now. Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 30/08/2010 08:57:18 759663 Link 0 |
Congratulations on your win lads, I was devastated at the final whistle but stayed on to applaude the lily whites off the field, Down played to the best of their ability and beyond to win the game,, best of luck in the final. bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 30/08/2010 09:11:31 759667 Link 0 |
Well done Down, hard luck Kildare! Some questionable decisions throughout the match, but it was an exciting and entertaining matcha and Down ran out deserving winners. Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12409 - 30/08/2010 09:54:25 759695 Link 0 |
Fair play to Down. Kicked wonderful points and played the best football over 70 minutes. Full credit to the Down supporters who stayed on to clap the Kildare team off the pitch. I'll cheer Down on for the final. This probably won't be the last time these two play at the business end of the championship. Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 30/08/2010 09:57:12 759700 Link 0 |
I honestly thought Kildare would win, but Down were superb. Hard working, great scores from play, brilliant to watch. It will be a great final. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 30/08/2010 11:09:29 759805 Link 0 |
Looking forward to meeting ya jambread (Cork) - Posts: 307 - 30/08/2010 11:25:29 759833 Link 0 |
all this talk about bad decisions and downs goal shudn have counted is utter crap, im not sayin that the goal shud ave counted but there was also kildares goal in which doyle took 9 steps the bbc championshitp team counted. poor decisions on both sides but im glad down won , buh very saddend for kildare they are a team that deserved to play in a final this year. hard luck lads and thanks for a brilliant day out! r123 (Down) - Posts: 35 - 30/08/2010 11:34:52 759850 Link 0 |
Yea Thurlesblues I agree. Its very very infuriating. Lets hope Tipp get a 10 or 12 point lead against that shower next Sunday!!! We know they are the best hurling team of all times, they have well made that statement but for neutrals we are sick of them. Up Tipp,. the game of hurling (let alone your county) need ye to win....Heres hopin.....ye've nothing to fear, lads.... Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 30/08/2010 11:36:26 759858 Link 0 |
Well done to Down. Took some wonderful scores at key stages in the game..Coulter and Clarke were top class. There was some very hard decisions against us but the one i am struggling with the most is Alan's Smith perfectly good point which everyone saw go over bar the umpires who waved it wide. That sickened me the most. How can you get that call wrong......its unforgiveable. People are talking about the square ball which was also a bad call but the point waved wide was ridiculous. Imagine we had lost that game by a single point. Something has to be done by the GAA about this and it's just going to get worse. Anyway, well done Down and desperate hard luck to our lads. Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 30/08/2010 11:42:38 759875 Link 0 |
Well done down.. played better football kildare never got out of 3rd gear i think if the goal hadn't gone in we would of had a different outcome of the match even if the same decisions went against us i still think we would of won if the goal didn't count.. you's got that bit of luck that wins all-irelands.. best of luck against cork!!! toprow2010 (Kildare) - Posts: 214 - 30/08/2010 11:43:21 759878 Link 0 |
Ye fair play down.... good supporters, good team. Now i just hope to god ya's beat cork!!! Have fun scrambling for them tickets!!! mozsyh (Kildare) - Posts: 172 - 30/08/2010 12:36:18 759980 Link 0 |
r123 SallinsMan (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 30/08/2010 13:13:39 760062 Link 0 |