Well done Down

Well done lads you were the better team and deserved it ! Best of luck in the final, hard luck Kildare.

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 29/08/2010 17:10:20    759187

yes well done down and hard luck to kildare!
see ye on the 19th!

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 29/08/2010 17:14:37    759188

Yeah well done to Down. Great character in that team.
Hard luck Kildare, a cuple of decisions went against ye but just didn't have enough overall.

Footballers beat athletes.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 29/08/2010 17:14:58    759189

Very Dramatic and enjoyable game, Kildare will feel aggrieved about the Goal and the point that wasn't given but they had a lot of time to turn it around but failed . Well DOWN! hardluck KILDARE.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 29/08/2010 17:17:42    759195

I really don't know what to say. Yes of course I congratulate Down they played some lovely football and kicked some great points. However what can you say to a team and a County that has not won an All Ireland since 1928 and who have been obviously robbed by awful decisions by 2 sets of umpires

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 29/08/2010 17:21:17    759204

I hold my hands up and admit that I'm totally dumfounded to see Down in the final, and I mean totally. Feel for Kildare today, I really do, I thought they were hard done by the big decisions and so nearly pulled off the unlikely win, in the end it wasnt to be. So its Cork v Down, still cant get my head around that one. Cork seniors and minors going for the double and an all Ulster line up stands in their way, intriguing stuff indeed but I believe that only one Ulster team will be triumphant that day and they will be wearing the Red Hand of Tyrone.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/08/2010 17:26:24    759213

Congratulations Down and Hard luck Kildare . Fantastic game

RenardRedHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 547 - 29/08/2010 17:27:36    759218

well done down - i hope ye win the final now.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11656 - 29/08/2010 17:34:18    759235

Lot of respect for you corkcelt but that is total mince. Fair enough it was a bad decision for the goal but there were 5/6 equally bad decisions that gave Kildare very very soft frees that resulted in 4/5 scores. If Down had converted some of their goalscoring opportunites the game would have been over long before the final whistle. Down were the far better side but yes it must be hard for Kildare to take.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 29/08/2010 17:39:14    759247

Strange game football. This is the same team that needed extra time to get past Donegal. Fair play.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 29/08/2010 17:44:06    759254

Well done Down great game to watch nail biting finish...Hard luck kildare.

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 29/08/2010 17:52:38    759276

Ulsterman "soft frees" at any stage are debatable. I most certainly did not agree with all the Refs decisions and I did think a couple went against Down but I never felt anything blatant was going on. However if you kick the ball between the uprights you should be credited with a point also Benny was so obviously inside the square before the ball came in it was almost comical (unless you come from Kildare). You know my posts for a long time I am one of the most Pro Ulster GAA posters on this forum, its not an anti Down or anti Ulster thing, its just I believe in fair play for everybody. I genuinely believe Kildare did not get fair play today.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 29/08/2010 18:05:31    759299

Ok Corkcelt, can you categorically say that the point in question was over the bar. No you cant because the TV cameras were at the wrong angles and the ball was too high to see it fall either side of the post. So please unless you have absolute proof that that was a point you have no argument. To me it looked 50/50, but its impossible for me to say either way.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 29/08/2010 18:11:47    759308

derryladd it was a point

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 29/08/2010 18:13:59    759313

I know that is not your form corkcelt and appreciate your points are genuine but if a goal/non goal is reviewed it opens up EVERY disputed decision in a game. Either we accept that the ref and umpires are human and make mistakes OR we bring in a video/panel that looks at EVERYTHING. It's a piece of string. Just as Louth were hard done by so Kildare will be UNTIL we fundamentally change the rules and role of officials. However many are forgetting that unlike Meath Down were the far better team who played some lovely cultured football at times and should have won by far more. However Corkcelt there does seem to be a large dose of anti-Ulster bitterness seeping through from others.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 29/08/2010 18:15:40    759318

http://www.hoganstand.com/Kerry/MessagePage.aspx?TopicID=54534&Latest=1#Latest

bitterness ulsterman..read this and come back to me

Ironic some like you coming out with that...hmmmmmm

Well done Down

5inrowCat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 49 - 29/08/2010 18:29:05    759336

Should be an interesting final. Congrats to Down.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 29/08/2010 18:45:09    759366

Two awful decisions by the umpires which obviously had an impact on the result. As well as Kildare hitting the post and bar it is very disappointing.

Well done to Down kicked some great points and played well.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13822 - 29/08/2010 19:09:10    759384

Absolutely delighted for Down well done to them.Theres nothing more confident in football than a Down side in Croke Park in August September. This team has improved game on game from the first round of Ulster and they have the bit between their teeth now playing with no fear. The build up to the final will suit them all the pressure on Cork to finally deliever on all their potential no All Ireland in 20 years for a county their size,every pundit will write Down off which makes them very dangerous opponents. Cork if they are going to win will have to stamp their authority on the game early on because if the game is in the melting pot in the last 10 minutes I know who my money would be on and it wouldnt be the Munster boys. Cork have it all to prove. They havent looked remotely like the team they were last summer and they will need a massive improvement on their form to date to see off a rapidly improving young confident Down side.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1898 - 29/08/2010 19:21:52    759408

I feel sorry for Kildare Down goal was a free out it was a bit like the robbery in the hurling final last year

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 29/08/2010 19:27:52    759415