Kilkennys one code approach is disgraceful.

Pity this thread could not last two pages before descending into a lame tirade of regurgitating county rivalries and disputes rather than discussing the matter at hand - the dual promotion of all codes of gaelic games. For the record I never said I do not respect Kilkenny, I merely said I respect dual counties such as Offaly more. People really should read posts properly before launching into another bout of attacking where posters come from.

I used Offaly as a example because of their similar population base and location. I also have huge respect for Limerick, Wexford, Laois, Dublin, Antrim, Galway and the notable others who are committed to developing all codes at underage and adult level.

It is hugely encouraging for example to see the underage success in gaelic football in Tipperary in recent years. Another county who could quiet easily have left he game die and excuse themselves on the basis of "ah, we prefer hurling" but the powers that be have worked really hard to promote and develop both codes within the county. I look forward to seeing Tipperary footballers returning to Croke Park on many occasions again in the future.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 24/08/2010 11:14:46    754518

'30 or so of them who are good hurlers going to impact on the success or otherwise of our football team.'

There's already 30 Hurlers in Tyrone, more than that actually. If players stop playing Gaelic Football and instead turn to Hurling this will affect the numbers available to the football team and in turn affect the quality of the football team, how can you not see this

'The GAA is not just about football, yet you meet all these people who claim to be great GAA men, who couldn't tell you the Kilkenny captains name in hurling, speak a word of Irish etc, yet just because they go to a few football games and can get tickets for big games they are great GAA men. Sickening'

So you know all there is to know about camogie, handball, rounders, Scor etc.? Of course you don't, there isn't enough hours in the day to follow all the aspects of the GAA. So don't paint yourself as a bastion of the GAA, this false indignation is laughable rather than laudable

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 24/08/2010 11:54:13    754570

Anyone of the view of "let them at it", "they want to play hurling", "small population": thats fine and all well and good but I hope ye have the same outlook re: Hurling in Ulster or wherever.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 24/08/2010 11:55:32    754571

Surely it's a case of whether there is the appetite in the county for Football rather than what the county board supposedly do or don't do. Look at the Kerry Hurlers, they survive, and survive at a decent level, despite being in a county that is Football dominated. Its because there are people in the county who want to play Hurling. Therefore, it would be a more sensible question to the KK people as to whether there is the appetite in the county for Football rather than slagging them off for not having a competitive team.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 24/08/2010 12:02:10    754579

Anyone of the view of "let them at it", "they want to play hurling", "small population": thats fine and all well and good but I hope ye have the same outlook re: Hurling in Ulster or wherever.
Breffni39 , 24/08/2010 at 11:55

Breffni what do you think of the beating Tipp gave Antrim u 21s on Saturday and Tipp took half the team off at half time?

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 24/08/2010 12:03:32    754583

Thats disappointing for the Antrim hurlers. Not really relevant here though. But sure if you're to be believed, that tipp side would beat the team of the millenium.

My point is that if we are all to accept that KK play hurling and thats the way its always gonna be, then I don't want to hear anything about "football" counties not doing enough about hurling.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 24/08/2010 12:11:29    754600

fair play to KK they are the best at what they do, why would they suddenly change codes

God wouldn't it be great if the same critisism was levelled at us, Like KK in reverse we have practically no hurling bit unlike KK we aren't going for a 5 in a row

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/08/2010 12:34:59    754643

eviemonkey,you asked why I brought up the Cork hurlers strike,it was in response to your assertion that the Gaa is more than a narrow focus of promoting hurling and churning out AIs,I asked you if the aim of the stikers was exactly that,to churn out AIs,you didnt answer my question,I wasnt slagging off Cork or turning the debate into county rivalry,as I have already stated on other posts I have the greatest respect for Cork hurling,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 543 - 24/08/2010 12:37:15    754646

ochonlir

754643 fair play to KK they are the best at what they do, why would they suddenly change codes

God wouldn't it be great if the same critisism was levelled at us, Like KK in reverse we have practically no hurling bit unlike KK we aren't going for a 5 in a row

The same criticism is levelled at us.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 24/08/2010 12:47:04    754661

How many counties actually play in the Senior All Ireland Hurling Championship - not 34. If the powers that be had continued with the Gaelic Football Tommy Murphy Cup, then gaelic in Kilkenny may have had a chance to improve but there is no point in putting a KK senior team out against Kildare, Meath, Dublin, Laois, Wexford, Offaly, or Louth. We will get hammered. Just as if Kildare were forced to play in the Senior Hurling championship, the KK hurling team would annihilate them. And I mean destroy them a lot more than our footballers get destroyed.

all thise counties you mentioned, play hurling at the highest level they're allowed. can kilkenny say the same. in meath hurling isnt great, but where i come from hurling is promoted equally. look at our crest and then go have a look at kilkennys crest. wheres the football???

all the kilkenny posters excuses are pathetic. if london can field a team and be competitive in both codes at the highest level they're allowed play, kilkenny have NO excuse

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4211 - 24/08/2010 13:09:23    754696

No, everyone else is right Pudders, I say Rafa Nadal should be made play Rugby for Spain at the top level too!

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 24/08/2010 13:18:45    754714

PomeroyPlunkett

754570 '30 or so of them who are good hurlers going to impact on the success or otherwise of our football team.'

There are none so blind as those who won't see. There are more than enough footballers in Tyrone and always will be. To suggest that if some decided to play hurling as well that it would impact the quality of the Tyrone team is senseless. The opportunity should be given to play hurling and the county board are derelict in their duties by not providing sufficient support and structures for this. 2400 players each week playing football, 3% or so playing county football, what of the other 97%.

I do not know all there is to know, but I have played handball rounders, hurling and football and watch hurling, football and handball. Rounders is generally only played at school and community games. Tried to play camogie but for some reason they wouldn't let me. I take part in the Scor and attend Irish language classes, so I would suggest that I play a full part in all matters GAA. I'm no bastion nor is the indignation false. As I say, I'm a member of the Gaelic Athletic Association in Tyrone not the Gaelic Football Association.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 24/08/2010 13:25:30    754725

i meant can kilkenny say the same about football

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4211 - 24/08/2010 13:29:37    754732

It is an advantage to concentrate solely on hurling & put all your money & resources into it. That is Kilkenny's choice though.

But in saying that there would be much more adulation for a county to win 5 in a row in football than hurling.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1156 - 24/08/2010 13:56:54    754772

mooncat
County: Kilkenny
-----

I am quiet sure everyone has voiced their entrenched view on the merits of the Cork hurlers strike already at this stage. By the implication of your post you seem to be suggesting that it was in some way related to a 'narrow focus on promoting hurling and churning out AIs'. I would disagree with this view and would contend that the reason the players received the groundswell of support they did throughout the county was because of the lack of transparency and goodwill in appointing management teams. Among the positive outcomes of the players strike has been a re-structuring in the promotion of underage coaching in gaelic football and hurling with the appointment of full-time coaching and development squads and the potential for greater representation for junior clubs at County Board level in the future. And for the record I have no further inclination to re-visit the hurlers strike on this thread.

At the risk of repeating myself again I have never said I do not respect Kilkenny but simply that I respect dual counties more because I can appreciate how difficult it is to try and promote both gaelic football and hurling in tandem when the natural inclination is to demonstrate a bias towards one at the exclusion of the other. Therefore I have huge respect for those counties who at least try to be competitive in both. I accept that Kilkenny is not alone in demonstrating a bias towards one code but they alone have demonstrated a flagrant disrespect for the lesser code to such an extent that they were unable to field a competitive team to represent the county at inter-county level.

Traditional hurling counties such as Wexford, Laois, Offaly and Tipperary have made great strides in recent times in promoting gaelic football within the county. They have not shirked in their responsibility to promote gaelic GAMES and I wish them well in their endeavours.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 24/08/2010 14:18:11    754819

eviemonkey, the one who keeps bringing up the disgraceful hurling strike is you. No ones remotely interested in it anymore.

Also to say you respect Offaly more than KK is the same as suggesting you respect Ireland more than the All Blacks because they only play one sport.
Its an insult to KK by implication. "I respect a lesser team, therefore I have little respect for you"

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 24/08/2010 15:47:12    755013

Breffni what do you think of the beating Tipp gave Antrim u 21s on Saturday and Tipp took half the team off at half time?

You saw it on telly as you couldn't be bothered going to support the team... which your own club man captained!!!

Don't mind him lads wonce again his arguement has nothing to do with the thread!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/08/2010 16:01:56    755039

hag, were you at the u21 matches and what's your opinion on the final. This was the 1st time I've seen the Tipp u21 team live this year and it was impossible to judge them. We all know what the senior stars are like but what about the rest of the team. Tipperary will be massive favoutites for the final as the galway team is very young and doesn't have as many big names as previous years but I was impressed by the team approach and have some degree of optimism about the final. Thurlesblues, I don't care what you opinion is.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 24/08/2010 16:19:41    755077

Corrxxx

eviemonkey, the one who keeps bringing up the disgraceful hurling strike is you. No ones remotely interested in it anymore.
Also to say you respect Offaly more than KK is the same as suggesting you respect Ireland more than the All Blacks because they only play one sport.
Its an insult to KK by implication. "I respect a lesser team, therefore I have little respect for you"
------

Corrxxx, I never brought up the players strike, Mooncat did. It is on page 2 if you care to read the thread again. I didn't reply re. the strike as I felt it was off-topic, Mooncat mentioned it a second time, I responded. It is all there in plain old English if you care to take the time to read the thread properly.

For the record I do respect Ireland more than New Zealand for the precise reasons you mention, for the diversity in the sports (indigenous and international) we play in this country despite a small population. Having lived in New Zealand for a spell, I think is is unhealthy to concentrate your focus and energies on one sport to the exclusion of others. But I guess you will accuse me of being anti-Anti Blacks now :-)

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 24/08/2010 17:33:38    755234

Kilkenny plays other sport....the Kilkenny City Harriers are one of teh most successful athletic clubs. Kilkenny plays rugby. We even gave them our very own Brian Dowling. Kilkenny plays handball, more all irelands than most. Kilkenny play soccer, Evergreen, EMFA, Kilkenny City. Kilkenny is home to some of the finest jockeys and horse trainers in the world. I could go on.

So go shove your gaelic football up your langer arse.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 24/08/2010 17:39:21    755242