Kilkennys one code approach is disgraceful.

'But thankfully everyone in Tyrone are not as norrow minded as you.'

If narrow-minded means favouring Gaelic football over Hurling then a huge proportion of Gaels in Tyrone are narrow-minded

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 23/08/2010 19:40:43    754144

Is there really any difference between KK and the likes of Leitrim, Sligo, donegal, cavan monagahan and a few more who dont really care about hurling but have a few individuals who like hurling and are prepared to play the game in order to field a county team. Most hurlers from hurling counties have played football at some time in their careers but the same cant be said for footballers in many of these counties.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 710 - 23/08/2010 20:15:21    754187

I agree with the original post 100%. My respect for Kilkenny's success in hurling is always tempered by their abject failure to send out a competitive team in gaelic football. How difficult can it be to promote gaelic football effectively to allow you to develop a panel of 30 competent footballers to represent the county?

I will always have far more respect for Offaly GAA, a county with a similar population base as Kilkenny but who have won All-Ireland Finals in both codes over the last two decades. Does Offaly's insistence on promoting both codes limit their effectiveness in either? Might they have a couple of more All-Ireland's if they concentrated on just the one? Who knows, but surely the GAA is about so much more than a narrow focus on churning out All-Irelands every year. Should it not be more about the promotion of all Gaelic GAMES (with the emphasis on the plural)?

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 23/08/2010 20:25:23    754198

You keep mentioning our lack of football success but what relevance does this have to your argument? If we had a competitive Hurling team we'd be even less successful at football. Let people play whatever sport they wish, I don't see why this concept alarms you

Because your argument does not make sense. If we had virtually no hurling for 125 years and can only win 3 All Irelands in what is the 8th largest county population wise with 1200 players togging out for senior teams every week, 2400 if you count reserve teams then how in under of God is 30 or so of them who are good hurlers going to impact on the success or otherwise of our football team. Tyrone Gaels in general are narrow minded. The GAA is not just about football, yet you meet all these people who claim to be great GAA men, who couldn't tell you the Kilkenny captains name in hurling, speak a word of Irish etc, yet just because they go to a few football games and can get tickets for big games they are great GAA men. Sickening

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 23/08/2010 20:46:06    754229

Kilkenny should be congratulated for their total dedication to the one true Gaelic sport. The question should be about the 20-25 county boards who prioritise football beacause it's easy and doesn't take as much work, commitment or dedication.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 23/08/2010 21:04:29    754259

eviemonkey,football is promoted in KK,we might not put out competent teams,the reason is simple,our lads prefer hurling,there are good footballers in KK but they just want to play hurling,how many counties pay a lip service to hurling,will you say they have a narrow focus promoting football,you wont because they are not winning footbal AIs,you say the GAA is more than churning out AIs every year,should we tell our team tto take it easy,look lads ye wont play football so ye cant be upsetting a kildare and a Corkman,eviemonkey did you back the Cork hurlers in their strike?I dont have a problem if you did,but would you say the Cork hurlers had only 1 narrow focus,churning out AIs and beating KK,maybe the fact that at the moment they are not in KKs class is your problem.

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 543 - 23/08/2010 21:17:34    754274

The only way to solve a county favouring one code over the other is by forcing county boards to give equal expenses and budgets to each code. People playing minority codes usually do not get any expenses or as much holidays ect or that as the majority sport so if they was equal funds it would get people more interested in the minority sport.

winjustonce1 (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 23/08/2010 21:19:27    754279

as one kilkenny poster pointed out handball is also part of the Gaa I don't see many people giving out about counties not promoting that it's a bit hypocritical for people to have a go at kilkenny then.... They way kilkenny promote hurling and look after the game has to be admired.... the kilkenny team get everything they need.

Ideally I'd like to see every county promote all Gaa sports but can understand when counties don't and to be fair when counties have a smaller player base than others you can understand totally why they do this.... But in saying that the era of the dual player is comming to an end players train like professionals now it's not feasible to play both these players have jobs and families too.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 23/08/2010 21:38:09    754300

To be fair it's always going to be hard to promote football in a county which is so successful in hurling, and to a lesser extent handball. Kids in Kilkenny are brought up watching great team after team play hurling so it's obviously going to result in youngsters pick up that game as opposed to football. Even those kids that do play football must lose some sort of interest or desire when they see the minor team go out and get beaten so heavily by Meath in the Leinster Championship, if interest is generated it'd be very to sustain and improve on it due to factors like this.

Add into this Kilkenny City FC (well up until a few years ago anyways), and some high standard junior soccer clubs and there's more choices away from the GAA.

In many of the dual counties, more so in Cork, Galway and Offaly, there seems to be a divide between football and hurling parts of the county. East and west Cork stick to single codes, while in Offaly it appears to be a north and south thing, with the exception of Ballyboden in Dublin there's very few clubs I can think of off the top of my head as really successful dual clubs at senior level.

Finally to be fair on the county board and those involved in managing Kilkenny teams, the do what they do very very well. If they approached football, adapted the same structures as they have in hurling (development squads etc), then they'd probably be very competitive a few years down the line.

Kilkenny know hurling better than the rest of us, force them work on football instead and in the somewhat distant future they'd pass us all out at that too.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 23/08/2010 21:41:35    754307

wise_guy

754098 They already do Pomeroy Plunkett. But thankfully everyone in Tyrone are not as norrow minded as you

Agree 100%

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/08/2010 21:51:50    754328

Mooncat, I have no problem with Kilkenny people preferring hurling as a sport but there is something seriously wrong with the promotion of gaelic football if you are unable to find thirty male adults from a population of 80,000 to compete in the All-Ireland Championship.

I am not sure why you feel the need to highlight a recent hurlers strike in Cork which is completely irrelevant to the debate in hand.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 23/08/2010 21:52:01    754329

just another point for bloom and his digraceful post,the present KK hurlers are heros and ledgends playing the greatest game in the World,so you can come to all the conclusions you like,we will continue to promote our great game,our hurlers will continue to be role models for the younger generation,not just in KK but all over Ireland.

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 543 - 23/08/2010 21:57:40    754336

eviemonkey

I will always have far more respect for Offaly GAA, a county with a similar population base as Kilkenny but who have won All-Ireland Finals in both codes over the last two decades.

Of course you would! I have more respect for Offaly GAA than Cork.

Its like a Liverpool supporter respecting Man united. No one likes to admit their greatest rival is as good as they are and now that they have overtaken ye in the hurling all the Cork supporters on this thread are up in arms. Just admit it, then maybe I might respect ye more than Offaly.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 24/08/2010 08:42:45    754353

bloom

If all counties, either hurling or football, adopted Kilkennys approach and had only one code...in 10/15/20 years there would be many great teams like the current Kilkenny team.

If all the footballers in Kildare dropped their footballs and picked up hurleys in 1000 years they still wouldnt field a team as class as KK, and that with twice the population.

There are 1 billion people in India, they play virtually only 1 sport Cricket, and while very good they are not even the best in the world at it. Just because you concentrate on one sport its not a guaranteed road to success.

The fact that 90,000 people can master a sport that much larger counties cant isnt down to playing just one sport, its down to the heritage and the brilliance of the structures they have in place.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 24/08/2010 09:03:04    754365

Its so funny to see all the bitter Cork lads bar one or two on here complaining about Kilkenny.

Lets get some facts straight.

How many counties actually play in the Senior All Ireland Hurling Championship - not 34. If the powers that be had continued with the Gaelic Football Tommy Murphy Cup, then gaelic in Kilkenny may have had a chance to improve but there is no point in putting a KK senior team out against Kildare, Meath, Dublin, Laois, Wexford, Offaly, or Louth. We will get hammered. Just as if Kildare were forced to play in the Senior Hurling championship, the KK hurling team would annihilate them. And I mean destroy them a lot more than our footballers get destroyed.

As for the minor football championship, KK had a number of wins in the league format. But the Leinster Council in their wisdom decided against this format and put us in with the big boys. Again if KK played against the Kildare minors in hurling, we'd hammer them. No mention of a certain counties' minor hurlers who a few years ago were being hammered so much that they didn't even come out for the 2nd half.

As for the dual player nonsense, you do realise that DJ was a all ireland winning dual player. Hurling and handball are neglected in many counties but not KK.

So we neglect gaelic. In all honesty you can't force kids (or adults) to play a game that they don't like. I have 5 county football medals. I can honestly say I don't recollect winnign 4 of them, only one I remember was one under 14. My only reason that I know I have 5 is from my clubs' history with me listed. Most kids don't care about gaelic. My nephew scored a hat trick in gaelic and laughed how they had been hammered. Same thing happen in hurling and he'd be devastated.

Lets face facts; hurling is dying out in many places. Lip service is only being paid to it. KK should be applauded for keeping this game alive.

As for the comments about its the only sport we play....handball, rugby, soccer, athletics, basketball are all played in KK. Just because we don't play gaelic doesn't make us lesser Gaels.

The thread starter and his bitter Cork friends are typical Irish begrudgers.

Here is another person who would have been supporting Kildare as a fellow Leinster team but now I hope they get hammered. Up Down.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 24/08/2010 09:35:24    754384

We've heard this over and over again. Telling Kilkenny people they ought to concentrate less on what they do best - hurling - and more on what they obviously don't - football - is like telling young musicians in West Clare that they should give up playing the fiddle and pipes and concertina and take up gangster rap.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/08/2010 10:01:33    754424

If you ever go for a drive through the towns and villages of county Kilkenny you will be guaranteed to see young lads and girls with Hurleys in their hands, its a part of their lives and that is why they are so successful at the game. All this silly talk about Kilkenny playing football is just nonsense, if the people in the county prefer to play hurling then leave them to it. Coming from Kildare I never once held a hurley in my hands at school or with my club, we were brought up on football and we love the game here in the shortgrass county. Almost all the gaelic followers in my part of Kildare would support the cats in hurling and will continue to do so.
Best of luck to Kilkenny in the final and keep up the good work.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 24/08/2010 10:03:55    754426

OK i'm fickle. After the last nice comemnts from a Kildare man I'm back supporting the Lilywhites.

I actually reckon Bloom is from Cork as he only has two posts, both on here, and he keeps referencing Cork.

So bitter. Go back striking. That is all you lot are good at. Lets hope Kildare or Down hammer ye.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 24/08/2010 10:19:51    754443

Pudders, I have also though your posts are reasonable but your last post is ridiculous. Cork have a great hurling tradition and to say strikes is all they are good at is just stupid. I didn't agree with the strikes in any way and thought the players were totally wrong but cork hurling tradition is ever bit as strong as KK's. Remember they were top of the role of honour until the current KK supermen came along. We will never see the likes of the current KK team again (with at least 3 players who would walk on to team of the millennium). It won't be the case that KK will keep winning forever. It's one thing being bitter when your losing but it's a bit much being bitter when you are totally dominant. P.S. on this particulur thread, as I mentioned Kilkenny should be applauded for the dedication and promotion of hurling

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 24/08/2010 10:51:31    754482

in fairness dublin are cork are the only real dual counties. take galway for an example. there is no club in galway that has a senior hurling and football team. alan kearns was the last dual player we had and he played the clairnbridge in hurling and salthill in football. where i am from in galway there is no football team and even when i was young the only football we played was the junior c east champ and only played that when we were out of the hurling.

you could say the same about kerry. they only have about 4 or 5 hurling clubs. most of the northern teams have very little hurling teams. this is just more kk bias coming out.

fatchops (None) - Posts: 127 - 24/08/2010 11:01:28    754496