Dublin robbed of replay

I think it was unfortunate on Ross McConnell as he has received a bit of a slating since about that incident and the free he conceded late on. Even some people were saying he should have received his marching orders then!

Its not a nice thing to see happening, O'Neill basically won the game on false fouls!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1473 - 24/08/2010 14:09:10    754801

Ban it was a clear penalty as the cork player was rugby tackled to the ground .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 24/08/2010 14:41:57    754868

It was a definite penalty as you can clearly see O'Neill attempt to sidestep McConnell and McConnell made no attempt to win the ball.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12408 - 24/08/2010 15:11:43    754948

Dellboypolecat & Breffni39

Try looking at it again (slow motion preferably) and get back to me...

Its a piece of brilliance from the Cork lad. O'Neill puts his right hand over McConnells left shoulder and brings McConnell to the ground with him.

This guy won two other fee's that he played for and were wrongly awarded. One leading to a point!

Its not nice to see but the Cork lads wont be giving out..

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1473 - 24/08/2010 15:52:36    755024

I agree he engineered a free later on but not the penalty. Sure I can just tell you to watch it again in slow motion??? At what stage does McConnell try to win the ball?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12408 - 24/08/2010 16:09:05    755052

McConnell stood with his arms out (in football terms - making yourself big). He did this in an attempt to block the players direct route to goal.

He actually didn't attempt to tackle O'Neill but when O'Neill brings him to ground it looks like he tried to tackle him!

Tell me O'Neill didn't at any stage have a hand over McConnells shoulder!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1473 - 24/08/2010 16:26:04    755088

Ban he rugby tackled the cork player to the ground and should have been sent off on a second yellow then.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 24/08/2010 16:29:48    755101

I'll bet you're a defender Ban! As a forward we'll have to agree to disagree!

If McConnell was pulled to the ground by a player with the ball under one arm and attempting to score a goal then maybe he needs to work on his strength and defensive technique!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12408 - 24/08/2010 16:39:05    755122

As I said before guys, look at the incident again - with an open mind!

Over and out...

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1473 - 24/08/2010 16:47:53    755139

Can't agree Ban. For me it was a definite penalty. However I would say if a forward runs at a defender at pace he is almost certain to be fouled. There is really no defined tackle in Gaelic Football you either stand in front of your man with your hands held high in the air just to prove to the Ref that you are not fouling or else go in with one hand trying to hassle the attacker or knock the ball from his grasp and its just up to the Ref how far he lets you go. If you stick out a straight arm across someones chest as he is running by you, you are going to foul him.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 24/08/2010 16:51:01    755147

it was a silly tackle by mcconnell because there were men back and it was not a certainty that the cork player wouldve scored a goal i wouldnt blame oneill for going to ground easily i would expect any dublin player to do the same in that position ,Dublin had a few chances to win it or get a draw e.g cullens easy miss, b brogans point instead of dropping it in for a goal chance or brogans failure to pass the ball to o gara who was in on goal look its over now and these things happen in sport all the time lets just hope that the team can build on this for next year and well done lads you did the county proud

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 24/08/2010 16:51:14    755149

Ban
County: Westmeath

755139 As I said before guys, look at the incident again - with an open mind!

Over and out...

Maybe your watching to much rugby clear clear penalty no arguments ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 24/08/2010 16:51:52    755151

Ban
County: Westmeath

755139 As I said before guys, look at the incident again - with an open mind!

Over and out...

I have an open mind, thank you.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12408 - 24/08/2010 16:55:57    755156

Probably one of the most clear cut penalty's that you are ever likely to see, and I don't think I'm exaggerating that one bit. More Surprising is that McConnell was not sent off as he was already on yellow. I certainly don't think it was the ref that lost the dubs the game anyway, they simply ran out of gas, after watching the game again Cork absolutely dominated the second half to such an extent that the dubs could not maintain their discipline and work rate in the final minutes hence ended up fouling often as the legs got tired

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 24/08/2010 17:05:35    755182

Was a penalty. But it was not a jaysus line ball!!!!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/08/2010 19:35:22    755415

lads cork wer playing for frees all throught the game cos it was the only way they could score bad bad way to be playing football very english way of doing things

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 24/08/2010 21:55:05    755561

I'd recommend that you look at the incident again and if possible and in slow-mo..

I don't think I've ever seem such a big decision fool so many!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1473 - 25/08/2010 08:57:41    755597

Ban, trouble is, real life isnt in slow motion. McConnell went through him. As blatant a penalty as you'll get.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 25/08/2010 09:02:23    755598

Cork won, Dublin lost. Get over it. Best of luck to Cork in the final.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 185 - 25/08/2010 09:23:52    755605

And for the last time - Look at the incident again!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1473 - 25/08/2010 10:47:04    755672