Dublin robbed of replay

Yes Tommy K the best team to watch in recent years was the great Galway team of 1998-2003. Two all Irelands and one let slip through injuries to Kerry in 2000. The displays in 1998, 2000 and 2001 were excellent at times.

Oggy (Galway) - Posts: 245 - 23/08/2010 10:08:49    753276

I think there should be a replay to sort this out. We shall call on the GAA and the Cork County Board to do the right thing

Duffster (Meath) - Posts: 279 - 23/08/2010 10:16:18    753289

I don't know about the point being wide but the sideline ball that led to the penalty ought to have been the other way. Having said that, the best team is the one that is in front on the scoreboard at the end and that was Cork. You would wonder all the same about 16 stone 6 foot 4 fellas rolling around after getting hit with shoulders! All part of the game I suppose :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/08/2010 10:20:42    753297

On a side note there...no barriers up yesterday and from what i saw no problems whatsover!!

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 23/08/2010 10:21:20    753300

Now you's know what it feels like to lose to a disputed point 95 still rags me and am sure the Louth supporters will remember 11th of july 2010 for some time to come.

Deathbynagging (UK) - Posts: 14 - 23/08/2010 10:36:21    753316

tommy k

753260 Dublin shot themselves in the foot with a lot of help form the ref as there were a number of frees given to Cork towards the end that were not frees. Cork are physically strong but the handpassing they go on with makes football very unattractive to watch as a spectacle. The football team that I would actually pay to watch was the great Galway team of the last 90's / early 00's who played the game the way it should be played.
-----------------------------------
You dont say Tommy, nice to see an unbiased comment on this board for a change, its so refreshing!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/08/2010 10:55:16    753339

chicago09

well if it wasn't illegal royal can u explain why both comantators said it was,confusing really i mean like
-----------------------------
I know Royal has already said he was referring to something else but I also thought he was disagreeing with the commentators assertion that the point was illegal.
I happen to believe they were wrong also.

The ball was struck with an open hand but was struck from underneath so the point was OK.
I believe these things all even themselves out anyway but in this case I believe the ref was correct and the commentators were wrong.

The point was not ok. Striking from underneath is required to make a legitimate handpass. To score a point it must be with a closed fist. Sean Cavanagh had a point disallowed in the Ulster final for the same thing and rightfully so. Please would people ensure that they know the rules before pontificating

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 23/08/2010 11:04:41    753348

Well done Cork and Dublin for making it a great match to watch! Well done cork for getting to the final too

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 23/08/2010 11:10:19    753363

I'm sorry for Dublin. But yesterday proved that they were a one trick pony. But what a trick. Bernard Brogan is a one man forward line, the best forward in the country by a mile and should be given the footballer of the year award. It's players like him that make us watch the game.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 23/08/2010 11:11:09    753364

Hmmm the word bottled springs to mind. . .

omahonys_man (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 23/08/2010 11:20:46    753382

Hard luck to Dublin they gave their all but in an All Ireland Semi Final you need more than one forward operating at a decent level and Dublin didn't have that yesterday. Bernard Brogan is a class act who is going to win a truck load of individual honours this year but he can not gaurantee victory on his own. The other forwards with the possible exception of Alan Brogan were dissapointing and I dont think O'Gara is what he is made out to be, too many mistakes and wides yesterday. Cork done well in the last ten minutes and showed a certain amount of testicular fortitude to win the game when they weren't playing near their best. Overall Dublin had their chances, just like Louth did, but could not shake off the opposition, harsh lessons such as that should stand to them in the future though.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 23/08/2010 11:43:03    753430

Inexperience and a bit of panic in the young Dublin lads when it looked like they had the game won, Bernard Brogan was magnificent yesterday and he has plenty of years left in him still, this team will be fighting for silverware over the next few years, fair play to Cork, they kept their heads and managed to win a game when they looked second best on the day.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 23/08/2010 11:50:51    753440

Tommy k, you're bang on there and i hope the more natural skilled gaelic footballing counties get a way to counter this rubbish, i cant believe there are people saying it was a good match yesterday. The way the game is going i reckon you could win an all-Ireland with two footballers and 13 well conditioned athletes that never played before, you could train an athlete to play gaelic football today in 12 months maybe less, the skill factor is getting out punched by, stamina, fitness, conditioning etc etc.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 23/08/2010 11:53:45    753444

Daith

I'm sorry for Dublin. But yesterday proved that they were a one trick pony. But what a trick. Bernard Brogan is a one man forward line, the best forward in the country by a mile and should be given the footballer of the year award. It's players like him that make us watch the game.

I remember a time when Peter the Great Canavan used to carry on is own Tyrone he nearly defeated Dublin in the All Ireland final of 95 Brogan for sure is a shoe in for an All Star but I think the Player of the year might go to one of the Kildare players if they reach the final,

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 23/08/2010 12:25:49    753499

Why didn't the whistler (fool) on the Hill blow for a free out ?

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1069 - 23/08/2010 14:18:43    753645

ye watchin the match live my initial reaction was it was wide but after the replays i was unsure but thought it must have been over as it wasnt mentioned again and the fact the umpires were so close to the goal...ridiculous decision how could they have missed that...however i agree that macauleys point in the first half was a foul so justice was done in the end...just highlights again the shockin standard of officiating in the gaa

lazyfootballer (Wexford) - Posts: 70 - 23/08/2010 14:46:53    753681

i was watching the game last night and looked at the match i seen the shot and paused it and it most certainly went over the bar so just stop complaining and get over the defeat

kildare4sam2010 (Kildare) - Posts: 506 - 23/08/2010 14:53:17    753688

Must say watching it livetime I thought Kelly kicked it wide. I was almost on my hands and knees with my head in my hand and couldn't believe it when I saw a point given. However looking at it on television replay today I'm not so sure also the lack of protest by Dublin players and supporters behind the goal leads me to believe it was a legitimate point. As previous posters pointed out one of Dublins points was illegal so one way or the other you can't say Dublin were robbed. My final word on the incident is, what was Goulding at. He had a reatively simple free for the point and decided to go short to Kelly, just as well the point was given.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 23/08/2010 16:00:46    753792

Whingers are out again maybe your fans should stop there booing disgace

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/08/2010 16:17:04    753824

hurlingguru

Bernard Brogans points (Dublins 6th) looked wide along with the M D McAuley one.

I also thought Brogan's point was wide. That said, I thought that overall the referee had a very good game. He was well in control at all times but was not overly fussy. The few calls that he got wrong balanced out and he was definitely not to blame for Dublin's defeat.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1035 - 23/08/2010 16:42:49    753867