Best ever hurling teams

Offaly Clare and Wexford won all irelands in the 90s cos Tipp and Cork and Kilkenny were all in transition from 1994 onwards until 1999!

You are really showing your lack of knowledge here now. The big 3 took some hammerings in that era to the 'smaller 3' of Clare, Offaly & Limerick.

Examples:
1995 Leinster Final Offaly 2-16 Kilkenny 2-5
1996 Munster Championship Limerick 3-18 Cork 1-8
1999 Munster Championship Clare 1-21 Tipp 1-10

You can't just explain these away as 'transition'.

The difference between the big 3 & others is despite having poor sides for certain periods they will always work towards building an all-Ireland winning side over time and more often than not they do it. The others fail to reproduce that consistency & ability to bring new teams to the fore.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 31/08/2010 17:02:16    761648

by the way Breffni Offaly were in transition from 1884 to 1985 when they won their first All Ireland and Clare from 1914 to 97 when they won their second now thats what I call transition. ha ha!

you just tried a high jump & kncked yourself out with a knee to the face!!!

Offaly first won the All-Ireland in 1981. Clare's second all-Ireland came in 1995. How can you not know such basic facts if you're a hurling fan?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 31/08/2010 17:07:39    761657

Offaly first won the All-Ireland in 1981. Clare's second all-Ireland came in 1995. How can you not know such basic facts if you're a hurling fan?
slayer , 31/08/2010 at 17:07

yes Slayer you are right
it was Clares 3rd all ireland in 1997 and yes Offalys was 1981 its still "97" years though!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 31/08/2010 17:11:24    761665

banner_boy:

Granted clare had a great team but there were skillful individuals on the team Jamsie, lynch (if he was born a few years earlier would have been some outfit only came on the scene around 97), daly, doyle macmahon but other teams had more skilful all round team.

Have you read loughnane's raising the banner he admits most of his focus was on physical and mental toughness.

Some things to back this up were his 10 rules of leadership.

Excert taken from the book
"loughnane and his mentors sought players who were like formula one cars - nothing fancy all business"

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 31/08/2010 18:16:44    761746

Can't forget Lohan the best of them all and Davy of course!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 31/08/2010 18:19:58    761748

well we can safely say one thing from this tread. thurlasblue knows feck all about hurling.

kk in transition in the mid 90's. DJ, power, brennan, delaney. come on they had some legend players.

also, how can you say to a lesser extent kk have players coming through. reached the minor and u21 final last year, losing both. won the u21 in 08. in the minor final this year. only team to have a better underage record in the past 10 or so years is galway and look where that got us.

if you knew anything about hurling you'd know that underage success means nothing when it comes to senor. limerick won three u21 AL in a row.

fatchops (None) - Posts: 127 - 31/08/2010 22:04:36    762072

also, how can you say to a lesser extent kk have players coming through. reached the minor and u21 final last year, losing both. won the u21 in 08. in the minor final this year. only team to have a better underage record in the past 10 or so years is galway and look where that got us.

if you knew anything about hurling you'd know that underage success means nothing when it comes to senor. limerick won three u21 AL in a row.
fatchops , 31/08/2010 at 22:04

who won the minor finals in 2006 and 2007 and contested the final in 2008 fatchops ?? who are in the u 21 final this tear? where is Kilkennys u 21 team this year they couldnt even beat Dublin how bad is that for underage talent? cop yourself on man!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 01/09/2010 08:50:14    762097

fatchops , 31/08/2010 at 22:04

the difference between Tipp and Limerick fatchops underage is that when we produce it at underage we do bring it through like when Tipp won 3 u 21s in a row in the early 80s Tipp won 2 senior all irelands after and won 7 out of ten minors in the 50s and won 4 out of 5 senbior all irelands after which was the greatest hurling team in living memory now two minors in 2006 and 2007 and we are in the u 21 as well also contested senior final last year and again this year and will win it this year also won u 16 all ireland last weekend hammering Galway by 19 points

now dont talk rubbish fatchops you are the one who knows nothing about hurling!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 01/09/2010 08:54:36    762101

31/08/2010 16:52:26
slayer
County: Limerick

Without googling them, there was Damien Martin, Padraig Horan, Johnny Flaherty, the Coughlans & the Corrigans.

Ah now my memory is like a sieve. I remember all those lads. I have even drank with Damien on more than a few occasions. :-( Too much porter.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 01/09/2010 09:38:28    762124

Wwho is the only player to receive an all star award without ever having played a senior hurling championship in the same year??

can ye answer it??

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 01/09/2010 09:47:56    762134

John Leahy. A great hurler. Born the worng side of Mullinahone.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 01/09/2010 09:50:34    762137

Who won minor in 06 ,07 and contested the final in 08 Thurlesblues?

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 01/09/2010 09:50:58    762138

was it John Leahy in 1994, scored all of Tipp's points in the league final V Galway?

didn't play in the 2-11 to 0-13 defeat to Clare.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 01/09/2010 09:51:06    762139

good man Slayer

you know your stuff!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 01/09/2010 09:53:29    762143

Pat Spillane has 8 of them and he never played a senior hurling championship match.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 01/09/2010 09:53:47    762145

Who won minor in 06 ,07 and contested the final in 08 Thurlesblues?
Barnowl94 , 01/09/2010 at 09:50

Tipperary did won 06 and 07 and Kilkenny stopped them doing 3 in a row. Noel McGrath was going for 3 all ireland minors like the great Jimmy Doyle

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 01/09/2010 09:56:46    762149

Breffni39

762145 Pat Spillane has 8 of them and he never played a senior hurling championship match
wrong Breffni Pat Spillane has 9 all stars not 8 and the code was football!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 01/09/2010 09:58:51    762151

True enough, he won 9, but you never specified the code! Specifics are vital in trivia questions!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 01/09/2010 10:10:03    762161

good man Slayer

you know your stuff!
thurlesblues , 01/09/2010 at 09:53

and you know Slayer Im living in Limerick for the last 7 years and would love to see ye wi an all ireland. I know Pat Hartigan well a man in my opinion one of the greatest full backs of all time!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 01/09/2010 10:13:19    762165

good one Breffni

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 01/09/2010 10:16:07    762169