Mosque at Ground Zero - a sick joke??

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/douglasmurray/100040283/a-mosque-at-ground-zero-a-sick-joke/
Well lads (and ladies), what do ye think? America moving on or a step too far? IMO I think it is a sick joke. Dont know how they got/will get planning permission, and even if they do, surely there'll be thousands of protestors.

throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 16/08/2010 14:44:05    747136

yea,heard this last week. its not going to be at ground zero though is it? hard to trust that Obama buck

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/08/2010 14:52:20    747144

Yes imagine buildling a catholic church or an Irish centre near Manchester City centre or Warrington. Sure werent the IRA representing Catholic nationalist Ireland. Is that not a sick joke? i hope this thread is a sick joke to be honest.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 16/08/2010 15:03:14    747153

It appears that the Americans are far more sensible when it comes to holding a grudge than the Irish. Brilliant to see Obama speaking sensibly on the issue. Allowing this to be built would be a serious blow to the racism shown to Muslims since 9/11.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 16/08/2010 15:16:44    747168

is that a joke? Fair play to the American establishment for making this happen - its a wonderful and positive step.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 16/08/2010 15:20:41    747172

ogall.
could u not answer honestly .. instead putting spin on it and attacking the irish nation and the defenders of this island .
is this lizzies official line on things , or is it your own words ... probaly your own out gunning and trying to impress her highness as u would addresse her.
anyway getting back to this farce or p.c brigade more than likely thought this up ... people should come out in their thousands to protest against this , i mean they have some neck to think that they could build a mosque on the site of ground zero , innocent people were murdered , firemen , police department , emergency services , father michael judge the first confirmed dead that day at ground zero .. this should never be allowed to happen .. and it will not be allowed to happen god willing ... the twin towers should be built up again in defiance and a rememberance gardens should be put there in the grounds around the towers .. people should take their sick ideas and take them somewere else .. and leave new york alone to rebuild their lives with dignity .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 16/08/2010 15:21:11    747174

This is being built near the site of the 9/11 attacks not on the site of the 9/11 attacks also every person has the right to practice their religion, all Muslims should not be tarred with the same brush.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 16/08/2010 15:27:33    747185

I agree with Paddy. urgggghhh, i'm away to have a shower.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 16/08/2010 15:32:12    747193

Listen, I couldnt be arsed reading the bloody telegraph, but if the mosque is being built "near" ground zero there shouldnt be any real issue. Islam is one of the many religions of the world and has many millions of followers who had nothing to do with 9/11 and conceivably many muslims died in the attack of that day.
Building a mosque on the site would just be in poor taste and smack of pandering to just one element of what makes up a multicultural city. With the many great prospects that are presumably proposed for the site there would be no need to stir the hornets nest by building a mosque there.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 16/08/2010 15:49:24    747227

Fair play to the Yanks if they do let a Mosque be built on or around the site.

It shows their tolerance and how much better than the terrorists they are.

It wasn't Muslims that attacked New York it was teorrorist who use Islam to justify their sick actions.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 16/08/2010 15:55:21    747233

Islam which is one the main religious faiths on this planet are building a place of worship.
I don't see why this is newsworthy - Presume they have hundreds of thousands of these across the globe.
This one is in lower Manhattan which is one of the most densely populated and culturaly diverse places in the world so would expect there to be a mosque in that part of town
same as I would expect a synagogue, catholic, baptist,Protestant places of worship etc

Unless of course someone is going to try and blame the actions of a band of fundamentalists on the entire Islamic faith.
20 years ago barbaric acts were committed in the former Yugoslavia against Muslims by so called Christians, I would hate to think that all Christians are blamed for these actions.

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 16/08/2010 16:00:15    747238

prejudice and resentment have no place in any mentally healthy persons life.
Racism is one the forms of this problemand only really harms the resenter.
The US is leading the World when it comes to tolerance

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 16/08/2010 16:07:09    747247

Sure didn't i marry a Monaghan woman !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/08/2010 16:13:55    747257

Cavan_Slasher

747257 Sure didn't i marry a Monaghan woman !!

An unholy union if ever there was one!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 16/08/2010 16:19:46    747263

A truly despicable act. The USA should show some sensitivity to the relatives of those who were MURDERED by unrepentant terrorists, and refuse to give this project the go ahead. Three thousand of Barack Obama's countrymen and women died at the hands of people, who killed them in the name of Islam, and now he supports the building of an Islamic culture centre near Ground Zero. What is this building project for if not to spread the Islamic faith? Of course, America promotes religious freedom, and thats perfectly acceptable, but, there is plenty of room for this building, keep it away from Ground Zero.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 16/08/2010 16:26:02    747275

Cavan_Slasher

747257 Sure didn't i marry a Monaghan woman !!

it could be worse.you might have ended up with a meath one.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 16/08/2010 16:34:58    747288

16/08/2010 16:26:02
Scruffy2Donut

747275 A truly despicable act. The USA should show some sensitivity to the relatives of those who were MURDERED by unrepentant terrorists.

I don't get your point - Are the terrorists building the mosque ?
If so well you have a point
IF not well then what about all the genocide commited in the name of christianity (WW11, Bosnia)

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 16/08/2010 16:38:56    747292

omard.cavan.
will u for one second think about how the victims families are thinking about this proposal .
now tell me without going to p.c ... do u honestly think this right . u know goddam this is wrong .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 16/08/2010 16:46:55    747309

Omar.d

A truly despicable act. The USA should show some sensitivity to the relatives of those who were MURDERED by unrepentant terrorists.

I don't get your point - Are the terrorists building the mosque ?
If so well you have a point
IF not well then what about all the genocide commited in the name of christianity (WW11, Bosnia)

Well, we dont know if there are terrorists involved in this project. We also didnt know that Pakistans secret service contained Taliban sympathisers until recently. Pakistan of course, who claim to be an "ally" of the west. But even if terrorists are not building the mosque, my point is, if progress is to be made on race relations in the USA, I think American Muslims should show some common sense and realise they are going to cause controversy amongst some people i.e relatives of the dead, for what happened in the past, and move the Mosque/Culture centre elsewhere.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 16/08/2010 17:07:42    747332

16/08/2010 16:46:55
ta32

747309 omard.cavan.
will u for one second think about how the victims families are thinking about this proposal .
now tell me without going to p.c ... do u honestly think this right . u know goddam this is wrong .

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 16/08/2010 17:08:32    747334