Kilkenny V Tipperary All Ireland SHC Final 2010

i would defo agree that mikey cahill is our least solid back and can be a vulnerable part of our defence.

im genuinely confident tipp can win this if we stop kk geting a goal in the first half, when kilkenny get early goals, a second one usualluy follows a couple of minutes later.

while henry would be a major loss i think brian hogan could be a bigger one as i doubt james ryall will be able to cope with tipps roaming forwards in the same manner as hogan would.

if tipps half forward line win 50% of the ball then well definitely win as kelly, lar and johno are deadly in the full forward line.

tipp to push on in the last 10 mins and win by 4.

eireog (Tipperary) - Posts: 127 - 03/09/2010 10:50:03    764120

I agree eireog but fancy Tipp to win by 7 points

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 11:01:37    764131

Thurlesblues a tenor on Tipp (-5) at 8/1!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/09/2010 11:05:58    764137

The Cats will win with relative ease. Tipp hav'nt shown great form this year, KK hav'nt been rattled by anyone.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 03/09/2010 11:10:12    764142

fatchops

763011 lets look at this in reality.

LAST YEAR is Gone.

will people stop going on about how tipp should have won and ran them close last year etc.

tipp have under performed in every match this year. cork hammered them. they bet a poor galway side and a waterford side that would put up a big score if they were there on there own.

kilkenny have bet galway and cork with big scores and only played for about 20minutes in each game.

if tipp play like they have played so far THIS year, they will be beaten very easily.

kk are averaging something like 27 scores a game and conceding 17.

yes noel mcgrath had a great semi final but he was taken off against galway and didn turn up against cork.

team with the form going into the final are at the best advantage.

and please no come backs about how great tipp were last year and all that rubbish

Spot on Fatchops!

endofstory69 (Cork) - Posts: 97 - 03/09/2010 11:13:26    764145

The Cats will win with relative ease. Tipp hav'nt shown great form this year, KK hav'nt been rattled by anyone.
Scruffy2Donut , 03/09/2010 at 11:10

Cats have beaten nothing this year
1. They beat Dublin then "Antrim" beat Dublin so how good are Cats??
2. They beat Galway and Galway didnt turn up in the second half.
3 . They beat Cork a finished team since 2006.

Tipp have held back and will cut loose on Sunday.
1. Tipp didnt have any interest in Munster and didnt turn up against Cork everyone knows that now.
2. Tipp could have beaten Waterford 15 points if they wanted to.

Kilkenny havent come up against forwards or backs like Tipp this year.

Tipp will win by 7 points at their ease in fact i think it could be a lot more!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 11:17:35    764151

I think tipp are coming into form their is one big game in them! and i think its going to be sunday :) i expect the game to be low scoring enough their is rain predicted for sunday so it will be fair tight! hope we can do it! Up Tipp

PaRyan (Tipperary) - Posts: 68 - 03/09/2010 15:33:00    764479

Fatchops what are you talking about, kk were always going to be high profile they are going for 5 in a row, but Cody has distracted all talk of 5 in a row away instead it is talk about their 'injuries' of which come match day no-one will be injured!!

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 03/09/2010 15:58:35    764510

Fatchops what are you talking about, kk were always going to be high profile they are going for 5 in a row, but Cody has distracted all talk of 5 in a row away instead it is talk about their 'injuries' of which come match day no-one will be injured!!
tipptothetop , 03/09/2010 at 15:58

goodman tipptothetop that shouldnt surprise you its just traditional Kilkenny fear of the blue and gold jersey they normally do it in their pants!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 16:28:19    764529

I wonder did all the Kilkenny players bring a change of underwear for Sunday as they usually need one when they are up against Tipp

Tiobraid Arann abu aris!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 16:40:04    764538

what about another 1964

Tipp 5-13
Kilkenny 2-8
what a hammering by the greatest hurling team of all time . Scored 3-5 in the last 6 minutes.

Will it happen again Sunday??

Maybe!!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 16:50:36    764553

this is a fantastic website lads it really keeps me going!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 16:52:13    764554

Says a lot when you need to go back to the 1960s to find a team to eulogise. Why can't you speak of the Tipp teams from an era people on here are likely to remember? I was born in the mid 70s myself and granted would not remember a whole lot about that particular decade. But since Joe Connolly gave THAT speech in Croker back in September 1980 we've had three decades of underachievement on a gargantuan scale from the so-called "home of hurling." I'll admit myself that the eighties and the nineties were hardly highpoints in the annals of Kk hurling yet even in our worst decades in living memory we STILL manage more AI's than Tipp and that's before I even mention that the Cork & Kk teams of the 70s won as many AIs (4 each) as the Tipp team of the 60s so surely both are at least on a par with what passes as your opinion of the greatest team of all time. And you still haven't explained to me how 4/10 AIs in one ten year period in a bygone era before man walked on the moon is somehow worthier than 7/10 in an era where match fitness,skill & superhuman endeavour has never been better epitomised.

naglfar95 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 24 - 03/09/2010 19:50:28    764701

Says a lot when you need to go back to the 1960s to find a team to eulogise. Why can't you speak of the Tipp teams from an era people on here are likely to remember? I was born in the mid 70s myself and granted would not remember a whole lot about that particular decade. But since Joe Connolly gave THAT speech in Croker back in September 1980 we've had three decades of underachievement on a gargantuan scale from the so-called "home of hurling." I'll admit myself that the eighties and the nineties were hardly highpoints in the annals of Kk hurling yet even in our worst decades in living memory we STILL manage more AI's than Tipp and that's before I even mention that the Cork & Kk teams of the 70s won as many AIs (4 each) as the Tipp team of the 60s so surely both are at least on a par with what passes as your opinion of the greatest team of all time. And you still haven't explained to me how 4/10 AIs in one ten year period in a bygone era before man walked on the moon is somehow worthier than 7/10 in an era where match fitness,skill & superhuman endeavour has never been better epitomised.
naglfar95 , 03/09/2010 at 19:50

You might have missed the beat hurling team of all time in the 1960s but you will see them again between 2010 and 2019 and that is the premier! sit back and enjoy the show!!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 20:00:07    764709

ya but ye never did to us in a senior final what we did to ye and thats beat ye 14 points in the all ireland final and score 3-5 in 5 minutes to humiliate ye! Keep watching you might see it again Sunday
premier abu! Ask yer manager I bet he remembers it!!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 20:13:10    764721

Amen to that naglfar95!

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 03/09/2010 20:15:30    764724

Wwe had a handy one against ye in 71 too and 91 ha ha!! and this year challenge match for tipp

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/09/2010 20:26:40    764730

I have two Hurling tickets and would swap for football tickets

Anduin (Down) - Posts: 2 - 03/09/2010 20:40:40    764742

Come on the premier really hope that yous can go one better than last year

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 03/09/2010 21:03:10    764769

71 & 91 were one-offs and well you know it. If we take the first mentioned year of 1971. This was Tipp's first AI final victory in six years and of course it would take another 18 for the feat to be achieved once again. That makes it one AI in a quarter of a century. The phrase "flash in the pan" springs to mind. And as regards the '91 Final victory. I read a number of weeks ago that Pat Foxe claimed they were "very lucky" to win that final. I can still recall sports journalists in the Indo castigating the Cork referee's performance in said final to this day-only two years after John Denton disgracefully robbed a wonderful set of Tribesmen of a wholly deserved three in a row. That's why I'd take any criticism of a certain Mr. D. Kirwan from last year with a very large dollop of salt indeed-and we won't even mention that heinous U21 shambles vs Clare a number of years ago where Tipp once again benefitted hugely from incompetent and cringeworthy ineptitude from officialdom. As we saw at the commencement of the 70s,90s and 00s an early Tipp victory in each of these ten year timeframes certainly didn't stand them in good stead for the rest of these decades. In my lifetime I have been privileged to witness Kk,Cork,Galway,Offaly & Clare all win more than one AI in a given decade. For a county where certain supporters would have us believe Tipp are God's gift to the hurling world you record in post lunar landing times leaves an awful lot to be desired. Handy victories? 2002 Kk 1-20 Tipp 1-16. 2003 Kk 3-18 Tipp 0-15 (the game where B. Cummins earned his All Star-lost count of the number of goals he saved). And of course the memorable 2-22 to 0-23 from last year. But of course '71 & '91 are of much greater relevance to the current set up right? LOL!!! By the way if the fact that Tipp are the better team because they have a better record vs Kk in AI Finals then Down are a better footballing county than Kerry. Is that what you're saying?

naglfar95 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 24 - 03/09/2010 21:05:14    764772